Beachwalk Hotel

3 stars
40 Waterside Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
37 reviews
very well kept,classy

free breakfast was great.staff very helpful good value,close to everything. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 26, 2008
Very great place to stay

This was our first time in Hilton Head,S.C. The Hotel was very comfortable and near the ocean and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 11, 2008
Pet-friendly Hilton Head hotel close to beach, shopping and golf

Hilton Head's Beachwalk Hotel is a AAA Three Diamond rated property located near Coligny Beach and Sea Pines Plantation. This pet-friendly hotel is convenient to all the outdoor fun this South Carolina island has to offer. Relax on a white sand beach or head out for an adventurous kayaking, parasailing or fishing trip. Enjoy world-class golf and tennis. Catch spectacular photo opportunities on a dolphin-watch cruise or hunt for upscale bargains at the Tanger Outlet Mall.

Highlights
  • Walking distance from beach, shopping and attractions
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Discounted access to a nearby fitness center
Rooms

All rooms at the Beachwalk Hotel were recently remodeled with new mattresses, carpets and bedding in relaxing neutral tones. Standard rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Connecting rooms, accessible rooms, and kitchenettes are available.

Features

At the Beachwalk Hotel, a leisurely afternoon on the beach is just a short walk away. Or take a dip in the on-site pool and relax on the sun deck under a blue umbrella. Rent a bike or take a short trip to Sea Pines Plantation. This breathtaking oceanfront community is a gateway to Hilton Head fun from water sports to horseback riding, tennis, golf and shopping. Savannah, Georgia, and Charleston, South Carolina are close enough for a day trip filled with history, culture and fine dining.

 

Washers and dryers are available on-site. Parking is free. Beachwalk Hotel offers guests discounted access to a nearby fitness center.

 

Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (45.9 mi/74 km)

Attractions
  • Coligny Beach (3 blocks)
  • Shipyard Golf Course - (0.5 mile/0.6 km)
  • Shelter Cove Marina & Shops (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Sea Pines Plantation (2 mi/3 km)
  • Harbour Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Coastal Discovery Museum (7 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Hotel is pet-friendly with a $40 USD non-refundable pet fee per stay (100 lb. weight limit).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.1476 -80.7551
Area served
Hilton Head, Bluffton, Beaufort, Savannah
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport.
Area description
Conveniently located three blocks from Coligny Beach and within walking distance to several area attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beachwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beachwalk Hotel Rooms

King
This room offers one king bed with cable TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board.
Double
This room offers two double beds with cable TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel guests can enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast bar including a waffle station, bagels, assorted cereals and pastries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Beachwalk Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 37
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SC local
Charleston, SC
Jun 15, 2010

Buckled under full house

At near full occupancy, the hotel ran out of towels, housekeeping, and front desk patience. The location isn't on the beach nor in a quiet location. Price was the only thing going for it, but in this case inexpensive and cheap were one in the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maresjack
High Point, NC
Apr 10, 2010

This place was terrible!

Our first clue should have been when we tried to check in a little early (@1:00) since most hotels usually have their rooms ready by then. I was told no rooms were ready, check-in was at 4:00 and I should come back. Fair enough...I'm forgiving about that since we were early. However, when we returned at 4:00, the rooms were still not ready. We waited on a couch in front of the front desk while guest after guest arrived for check-in and were told there were no rooms ready - some with quite irrate reactions. The phone rang constantly; people were in and out constantly, with wild-acting kids, dogs, and questions about why their key cards wouldn't work, and why the ATM was out of order. The head of housekeeping walked by over and over again, seemingly with no urgency to get anything done. It was like a carnival. The one desk attendant was kind enough and very apologetic, handling the chaos quite well all on her own. However, at some point, I started to doubt that there was actually going to be a room for me at the end of all this. Finally at 4:40, (after 40 minutes of sitting and waiting) our room was ready. It was neat enough, and I guess clean enough, but cheap-looking and not comfortable at all. The first night @ 10:45 p.m,after figuring out how to block the noise from guests in rooms above and beside us coming through the paper-thin walls by turning on the air conditioner full force -- and finally falling asleep --a fire alarm went off, blaring for at least 20 minutes-- pulled by someone as a prank. Wow! I have stayed in hotels for much less money than this one and had better accomodations, more professional and organized hotel staffs, and more mature-acting guests than this place. Needless to say, we spent the two days and nights that we were in Hilton Head doing everything we could to AVOID our hotel room. I have never stayed in a hotel that I didn't want to come back to, but this one is definitely one that I will NEVER go back to and would NEVER recommend to anyone. In all fairness, to offer a positive side to my comments: the beach is a relatively short and enjoyable walking distance away. And the hotel location is near shopping, dining and bike rental options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Paying the $5 visitor fee to get into Sea Pines Plantation is more than worth it. Harbour Town is a great atmosphere, with great shopping, beautiful views and fun nighttime entertainment. And at South Beach (also in Sea Pines), eating at the Salty Dog Cafe was a fun experience, as well as exploring the harborside shops.

Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 24, 2009

great!

It's the second time I've been there and again it was a great experience. The staff is very friendly and hotel is conveniently located to nice restaurants and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
36
clay city ,ky
Aug 8, 2009

Beachwalk

Vacation Trip. Great trip. No negative comments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna the traveling g'mom
Augusta GA
Aug 2, 2009

rooms small for 2 adults toddler & teen

I booked this hotel because I was able to take my dog; but after booking the hotel: I found out that you can't leave the dog alone in the room; your dog can't go to the pool area with you& pets are only aloud on beaches at a certain time;and traveling with a 3yr; I decided to leave dog with my daughter & I'm glad I did;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 2, 2009

good hotel, good price

Great hotel, close to very nice restaurants, and convenient to the beach...super friendly staff and wonderful breakfast...will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
batavia, il
Aug 2, 2009

not the best

We had not planned to stay at this particular hotel and ended up there for a day by accident. There isn't much to say about it. It's a very tired hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Jul 28, 2009

hotel stay

I found the hotel hard to locate and not overly impressed with the hotel as a whole. The bathroom was extremely small. The purpose of the trip was so my grandson could go to the beach and that part was fine. We did some shopping which they have pretty good shopping stores. I probably would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GMH
Alabama
Jul 24, 2009

No frills, but clean and convenient

The hotel is plain, but clean. The free breakfast is okay, but nothing special. Hotel allows dogs, but they can't stay in the room without you. Short (5-10 minute) walk to the beach and close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The main reason we stayed here is because we were traveling with a dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beachwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Covington, GA
Jul 23, 2009

We Will Definitely Return

Highly Recommend and I did a lot of research before booking this hotel for our trip to Hilton Head. For this price you already expect the rooms are not going to be anything fancy and they aren't. But they are sufficient and clean and I am a bit of a diva so if I can make the itty bitty bathroom work, anyone can. You have a vanity area to work with too so you will be fine. The greatest part about this hotel is the customer service, on spot at all hours no matter who was on shift!! We needed extra washclothes, we had them within minutes, towels for the pool no problem, more coffee (by the way don't waste your money buying it, the hotel's free coffee is fabulous) they'd brew more right away... well I think you get the drift. And always with a genuine smile on their face, always willing to help, how nice & refreshing is that nowadays? The free breakfast is great and again, excellent coffee! Location is spectacular, parking for the beach and restaraunts and shops all within a minute drive from you (or walk if you prefer)! We have not one complaint and can't wait to return to the Beachwalk!! Promise you can't beat this deal on this hotel, you will not be dissapointed, we certainly weren't!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lunch have sandwiches at Java Joes, Don't Miss Lunch or Dinner at Market Street Cafe!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search