$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Florence

2 stars
2038 W Lucas Street, Florence, SC 29501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
19 reviews
Ideal weekend getaway

I especially loved the Southern hospitality. Easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. Just off... See full review

  • Best Soccer Mom
  • Oct 28, 2014
Positive Position

Management was curteous from beginning to end. Cindy, I believe. Went beyond the call of desk... See full review

  • Big Rah
  • Jun 9, 2014
Spend your next family vacation at this Howard Johnson Inn Florence conveniently located off Interstate 95 near Florence Symphony Orchestra, Florence Civic Center, the War Between the States Museum, and fresh produce at Pee Dee State Farmers Market. Get your adrenaline pumping with NASCAR at Darlington Raceway, or play sports at the Freedom Florence Recreational Complex just minutes away. Dine onsite at King Buffet, or at many local restaurants. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax at the sunny outdoor pool, or stay productive in the meeting space, board room, and business center with fax and copy service. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and TV. Suites, smoke-free, handicapped-accessible and executive rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southerntravler
Business
Baltimore,MD
May 29, 2010

Nice hotel

Staff was friendly and room service was accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Rah
Business
Bklyn,N.Y.
Jun 9, 2014

Positive Position

Management was curteous from beginning to end. Cindy, I believe. Went beyond the call of desk duties to retrieve an iron for me. Room was comfortable and the bed just how I like it. A/C perfect. Room verrrry roomie. Hot and cold water,no problems. Comfortable stay. Eateries all around or not very far. Pool very clean. Enough parking for everyone. So come on down and givr them a howdy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Endwell NY
Jun 19, 2010

Great Value.

Perfect spot for our dog and the staff was very friendly . They were very helpful, but the pillows were terrible. The Hotel operator needs to step up to the plate and get real Hotel Quality Pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Soccer Mom
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 28, 2014

Ideal weekend getaway

I especially loved the Southern hospitality. Easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. Just off the highway. Also everything we needed in the room: blowdryer, ironing board, iron, microwave, small fridge, air conditioning. Free continental breakfast included. Fantastic deal. Beds were extremely comfy and I really enjoyed my stay there. I will definitely come back to this hotel for my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beacher person
Business
Somewhere
Aug 15, 2012

Staff

The staff needs to be knowledgeable. we called about our dog staying in a room. A lady said you can let the clerk know on arrival. When we got there the clerk told us that when a pet stays that had to be told when you reserve the room. So he had to adjust our rooms away instead of together like we had asked (we had actually booked two rooms on the same floor). We stayed in different sections of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money saver

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HHLAB
Business
Fairlawn, NJ
Aug 24, 2013

Nice quick getaway

It was a nice hotel. If I had one complaint it would be the shower tub. The surface of the floor was old and cracked. I had to lay down a towel in the tub to take a shower. Other than that I thought the hotel room was exactly as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right in the heart of Florence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacey H.
Business
Lowcountry, SC
Mar 31, 2014

Nice stay along 95

The staff was very nice and attentive! The hotel itself shows its age but was very clean. We chose to forgo the continental breakfast so no help there. My only real complaint is the bottom sheet of the king bed was not big enough to tuck in so it didn't stay put.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eden ga
May 10, 2010

good deal

the staff was very helpful when we had questions. it was located near the racetrack only ten minutes. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ShipDriver
Business
OH
Nov 12, 2012

good for the price

Hotel staff were surprised at the rate from the consolidator and said they'd recently raised rates. (Good thing they weren't "passed on", or I'd have stayed elsewhere.) It's a well-used, but well-maintained facility, with upgrades in progress. Made the 'continental breakfast' a bit shaky, but otherwise good value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TMPick
Business
Columbia
May 7, 2013

Not what I was expecting

The picture does not show that this is a motel not a hotel in which I prefer hotels and did not find that out until I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top