$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Florence

2 stars
2038 W Lucas Street, Florence, SC 29501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
22 reviews
Positive Position

Management was curteous from beginning to end. Cindy, I believe. Went beyond the call of desk... See full review

  • Big Rah
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice hotel

Staff was friendly and room service was accurate. See full review

  • southerntravler
  • May 29, 2010
Spend your next family vacation at this Howard Johnson Inn Florence conveniently located off Interstate 95 near Florence Symphony Orchestra, Florence Civic Center, the War Between the States Museum, and fresh produce at Pee Dee State Farmers Market. Get your adrenaline pumping with NASCAR at Darlington Raceway, or play sports at the Freedom Florence Recreational Complex just minutes away. Dine onsite at King Buffet, or at many local restaurants. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax at the sunny outdoor pool, or stay productive in the meeting space, board room, and business center with fax and copy service. Refresh in your comfortable guest room with microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and TV. Suites, smoke-free, handicapped-accessible and executive rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.23 -79.8
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melissa teacher
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 6, 2014

Ok for a stopover

The A/C in my room barely worked, no elevator, door to my room was difficult to open. Good price through online service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Rah
Bklyn,N.Y.
Jun 9, 2014

Positive Position

Management was curteous from beginning to end. Cindy, I believe. Went beyond the call of desk duties to retrieve an iron for me. Room was comfortable and the bed just how I like it. A/C perfect. Room verrrry roomie. Hot and cold water,no problems. Comfortable stay. Eateries all around or not very far. Pool very clean. Enough parking for everyone. So come on down and givr them a howdy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacey H.
Lowcountry, SC
Mar 31, 2014

Nice stay along 95

The staff was very nice and attentive! The hotel itself shows its age but was very clean. We chose to forgo the continental breakfast so no help there. My only real complaint is the bottom sheet of the king bed was not big enough to tuck in so it didn't stay put.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BARBARA178
BROOKLYN
Sep 5, 2013

NEVER AGAIN

I DID NOT ENJOY THIS STAY, THE ROOM GIVEN TO ME WAS INFESTED WITH FRUIT FLIES, STARTING DAY 1 . I INFORMED THE STAFF AND MANAGER WITH NO SATISFACTION. I WAS ACCUSED OF HAVING FOOD IN THE ROOM WHICH THEY SAY CAUSED THE PROBLEM. THERE WERE STAINS FROM A LEAK ALL OVER THE CEILING. RUST IN THE TUB, FIXTURES COMING OFF THE WALL. I WOULD NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HHLAB
Fairlawn, NJ
Aug 24, 2013

Nice quick getaway

It was a nice hotel. If I had one complaint it would be the shower tub. The surface of the floor was old and cracked. I had to lay down a towel in the tub to take a shower. Other than that I thought the hotel room was exactly as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right in the heart of Florence.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TMPick
Columbia
May 7, 2013

Not what I was expecting

The picture does not show that this is a motel not a hotel in which I prefer hotels and did not find that out until I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ShipDriver
Business
OH
Nov 12, 2012

good for the price

Hotel staff were surprised at the rate from the consolidator and said they'd recently raised rates. (Good thing they weren't "passed on", or I'd have stayed elsewhere.) It's a well-used, but well-maintained facility, with upgrades in progress. Made the 'continental breakfast' a bit shaky, but otherwise good value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beacher person
Somewhere
Aug 15, 2012

Staff

The staff needs to be knowledgeable. we called about our dog staying in a room. A lady said you can let the clerk know on arrival. When we got there the clerk told us that when a pet stays that had to be told when you reserve the room. So he had to adjust our rooms away instead of together like we had asked (we had actually booked two rooms on the same floor). We stayed in different sections of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money saver

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Traveling Technologist
Baltimore, MD
Mar 20, 2012

Horrible Room Conditions

Rug in room was filthy and there was dust accumulated in the corners. As soon as I got in the bed, the sheets came off. The ceiling plaster was coming down in a spot near the bathroom. There was no slip proof material in the tub. This was the most disgusting room I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Florence

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deee11
Richmond, VA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Terrible hotel

When checking into the hotel the free breakfast wasn't offered but for one day of stay. We was put into the back of the hotel, told it wasn't any king size beds left. It was hardly any one else there staying, the ones that was there stayed there as permanant resident of the hotel. The door would not open, and maintance had to be called. After talking w/ another person at the hotel they stated the same thing happened to their door. Once I entered into the room, there was numerous things broken. The bath faucet was dripping, and was poorly fixed and didn't look clean etc. Not to include the run down furniture, torn up blankets, stained chairs, or no socket covers and holes in the whole. But the worse thing was a mouse was in the room. This was the worse hotel I have seen, granted it's not high dollar but at least it could be kept up w/ and you could at least be rodent free and have doors that operate correctly and sucure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not stay here!!!

Back to menu Return to top