$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

3 stars
View map of 8300 Two Notch Road, Columbia, SC 29223

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
102 reviews
Excellent Stay

I needed to stay but one night for the weekend, and the room exceeded my expectations. Everything... See full review

  • Phil
  • Feb 11, 2015
Family trip

GreAt breakast.. Rooms were really clean... Friendly front desk... I will definetly pick this hotel... See full review

  • Dartanian G.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Budget-friendly Fort Jackson, Columbia hotel with free Wi-Fi, breakfast

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson is located near the intersection of I-77 and I-20 in Columbia, South Carolina. Guests in town visiting the University of South Carolina and Fort Jackson -- the US Army's largest and most active initial-entry training center -- enjoy easy access to both. Budget-friendly conveniences at this three-star hotel include free hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet access. This Wingate hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool and indoor whirlpool. Business guests take advantage of the 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Free expanded hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool
  • Complimentary access to fitness room
Rooms

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson guest rooms are comfortable, spacious and offer a choice of one king or two double beds. All 83 accommodations are equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, work desks and safes. Prepare and store in-room meals and snacks with microwaves and refrigerators. Coffee-makers, Private baths offer Moen Revolution showerheads, hair-dryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Local calls and weekday USA Today newspapers are complimentary.

Features

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson offers business-friendly features with a 24-hour business center with free copies, printing, and faxes and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep up their fitness routines on cardio machines in the fitness center. Unwind in the bubbling indoor whirlpool, or swim in the outdoor pool.

Dining

Start the morning with a complimentary expanded hot breakfast. Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson features a savory spread of sausages, pastries, coffee, tea, juice and more. Several restaurants are within walking and driving distance.

Transportation
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Atttractions
  • Columbia Place (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Sesquicentennial State Park (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Challenger Learning Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Fort Jackson (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Columbia Museum of Art (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • University of South Carolina (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Congaree National Park (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
Business
  • Free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour business center with free computer use, faxes, copies and printing
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Catering available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Security
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Jackson: 7.3 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 8.3 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 8.4 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 8.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boycott
Business
Philadelaphia, PA
Apr 7, 2010

Completely Rude

The staff was completely rude. [...] They had an opportunity to correct the mistake and didn't care too. I would NEVER go back to the Wingate hotel again. I understand mistakes happen but to refuse to help make it right really shows a lack of class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ethnomusicsa
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Graduation

Very dated, out of date and old, and dirty. Bathrooms were small, TV old and small and dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fort Jackson. Get in line hours before events.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Red Oak, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Terrible visit!!!

My wife and I drove to Ft. Jackson to see our daughter graduate basic training. We reserved a jacuzzi room for 3 nights. The 1st night, we were moved to another room due to water leakage during a storm at 1:30 in the morning. The 2nd night, we returned to our room to find our room had not been cleaned. When attempting to get clean linens from the desk clerk, we were given pool towels because no room towels were available. The 3rd night was fine. I left a comment card for the hotel manager at checkout. They have not bothered to respond to their service issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several restaurants nearby with a Texas Roadhouse in an adjacent parking lot.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VanFam
Business
Salinas, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Close to Fort Jackson - NO Housekeeping Second Day!

Overall the hotel was close to Fort Jackson, and was comfortable. However: There was NO housekeeping on BOTH of my rooms the second day we were there! No beds made, trash emptied, bathroom cleaned, dirty towels removed, fresh towels left, etc. When brought to the managers attention (via email as she wasn't there in the mornings or evenings), all I received was a letter under my door, with a corporate answer and one night for one room reduced by $20.00 (we were there for 3 nights) for my inconvenience. There was NO attempt to contact me personally! That's why I gave them one star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Riverbanks Zoo and Garden

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Army parents
Business
Oregon City,Or
May 19, 2010

Disaapointed

Our trip to the area was to see our son graduate from Ft. Jasckson, the hotel is very conveniently located nesar the base, however I was dissapointed to find that our room door had not been closed after the maids cleaned our room, the door was left wide open, for how long I'm not sure, the security of our personal belongings was open to anyone who would walk thru our door. Another note, the main water line had busted and the hotel was without water for most of an afternoon and evening, this didn't sit well as there was no water for showers or bathroom use. I would not reccomend this hotel, I was under the assumption that there was a hot breakfast, and yes there was, but it would have been nice to have a change up daily. A sausage sandwhich that's warmed up in the micro does'nt constitute a HOT breakfast, & waffles averyday gets tiring. My brother is coming in October to see his son graduate as well, & I told him to not even consider this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next to to the hotel was excellent & highly reccomend it, but be ready for a wait if you go at peak hours on the weekend as every Friday there is graduation from the local military base and the hotels get filled and the restaurant is close and is tasty

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Proud Mom of Son Who Serves in the Army
Business
Columbia, SC for Hotel.
Feb 6, 2010

Wingate by Wyndham

I was there for y son's graduation from bootcamp. The first night our toliet broke, they did fix it but the mess was not cleaned up. Second day they did not replace the cups we used. Our final night we were moved to another room due to a water leak. I understand that the hotel was booked due to graduation. But the room we was moved to had a king size bed and queen sofa. Which was not very cleaned. No linens for the sofa or enough towels. Which was provided. But I also feel that I should have had a discount provided to me. Original we had two double size beds. They need to work on security more by keeping guests quiet when other people are trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Texas Road House right next door was excatle.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, TN
Jan 17, 2011

Good price but bad experience

Experience wasn't great because of security/safety but is being addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, SC
Dec 5, 2010

Not Recommended

When we arrived at the hotel, the hostess wasn't very friendly. She barely spoke two words to us. The hotel appeared nice, but on closer inspection, it was rather shabby. We got upstairs to find our door open for some reason. Inside the room, there were hardly any luxuries. There was an older style t.v. The heat didn't work well so we were cold all night. The toilet didn't work well either. It continually ran after flushed. The complimentary breakfast left much to be desired, and the complimentary USA Today was no where to be found. If you're looking for a nice experience, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Army parents
Business
Oregon City,Or
May 19, 2010

Disaapointed

Our trip to the area was to see our son graduate from Ft. Jasckson, the hotel is very conveniently located nesar the base, however I was dissapointed to find that our room door had not been closed after the maids cleaned our room, the door was left wide open, for how long I'm not sure, the security of our personal belongings was open to anyone who would walk thru our door. Another note, the main water line had busted and the hotel was without water for most of an afternoon and evening, this didn't sit well as there was no water for showers or bathroom use. I would not reccomend this hotel, I was under the assumption that there was a hot breakfast, and yes there was, but it would have been nice to have a change up daily. A sausage sandwhich that's warmed up in the micro does'nt constitute a HOT breakfast, & waffles averyday gets tiring. My brother is coming in October to see his son graduate as well, & I told him to not even consider this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next to to the hotel was excellent & highly reccomend it, but be ready for a wait if you go at peak hours on the weekend as every Friday there is graduation from the local military base and the hotels get filled and the restaurant is close and is tasty

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
everything was taken
Business
atlanta
Feb 10, 2014

good basic hotel

Room was big and comfortable, unfortunately the staff that I encountered was cold and rude the entire time I stayed there. Art one point one of the maids walked straight into me while getting off the elevator and didn't even acknowledge me. That being said it was a great location right off of 77, and the rooms were clean so I would stay again if visiting Columbus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top