$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

3 stars
8300 Two Notch Road, Columbia, SC 29223
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
111 reviews
Great stay

Wonderful hotel and very clean facility. Staff was a bit rude, but other than that it was a great... See full review

  • Teachercoach
  • Jul 5, 2014
Best Hotel Staff Ever

The best part of this hotel experience was the staff. Michael Joye, Ron, Karlie, Tiffany, and... See full review

  • Drum Corps Mom
  • Nov 30, 2013
Budget-friendly Fort Jackson, Columbia hotel with free Wi-Fi, breakfast

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson is located near the intersection of I-77 and I-20 in Columbia, South Carolina. Guests in town visiting the University of South Carolina and Fort Jackson -- the US Army's largest and most active initial-entry training center -- enjoy easy access to both. Budget-friendly conveniences at this three-star hotel include free hot breakfast and free high-speed Internet access. This Wingate hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool and indoor whirlpool. Business guests take advantage of the 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Free expanded hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool
  • Complimentary access to fitness room
Rooms

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson guest rooms are comfortable, spacious and offer a choice of one king or two double beds. All 83 accommodations are equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, work desks and safes. Prepare and store in-room meals and snacks with microwaves and refrigerators. Coffee-makers, Private baths offer Moen Revolution showerheads, hair-dryers and Neutrogena bath amenities. Local calls and weekday USA Today newspapers are complimentary.

Features

Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson offers business-friendly features with a 24-hour business center with free copies, printing, and faxes and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep up their fitness routines on cardio machines in the fitness center. Unwind in the bubbling indoor whirlpool, or swim in the outdoor pool.

Dining

Start the morning with a complimentary expanded hot breakfast. Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Ft. Jackson features a savory spread of sausages, pastries, coffee, tea, juice and more. Several restaurants are within walking and driving distance.

Transportation
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Atttractions
  • Columbia Place (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Sesquicentennial State Park (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Challenger Learning Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Fort Jackson (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Columbia Museum of Art (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • University of South Carolina (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
  • Congaree National Park (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
Business
  • Free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour business center with free computer use, faxes, copies and printing
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Catering available

Hotel Map

34.0834 -80.9377
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Jackson: 7.3 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 8.3 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 8.4 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 8.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J IMR
Melbourne, Florida
Oct 26, 2011

Fast Comfort

Complete cleanliness and comfort for us who were in a hurry to complete or trip to Florida. Quick breakfast saves us time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britthewelder
Madera, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great Safe Place for Single Travelers

I stayed here for my first trip by myself, the hotel felt very safe and secure. The room was beautiful and spacious. I felt very "at home" Staff was very polite and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oliven
Hormigueros, Puerto Rico
Oct 8, 2011

My son's Basic Training Grad

Four min. ride to Gate 4 Fort Jackson. It was great. The only thing missing in breakfast was bacon and eggs. I would recommend it to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores and food close by and in both directions.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oliven
Hormigueros, Puerto Rico
Oct 8, 2011

My son's Basic Training Grad

Four min. ride to Gate 4 Fort Jackson. It was great. The only thing missing in breakfast was bacon and eggs. I would recommend it to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores and food close by and in both directions.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dartanian
Lincoln, NE, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Nice clean and comfortable hotel

Pleasant and comfortable. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dartanian
Lincoln, NE, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Nice clean and comfortable hotel

Pleasant and comfortable. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kshum101
N Attleboro, MA
Oct 1, 2011

Nothing Special

I don't know if I would stay here again. The reason I chose this hotel over others was b/c it included a "hot breakfast" in the price. The breakfast was nothing more than a continental breakfast in my opinion, we only ate there one day as it wasn't even very good. I would rather save the extra money, stay somewhere that doesn't offer bkfst & go out to eat where they serve a real bkfst. The beds were comfortable. Wish the pool were either heated or faced the south side of the hotel as by 2P there was no sun at the pool & the water was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of restaurants on the same road as the hotel so plenty to choose from.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kshum101
N Attleboro, MA
Oct 1, 2011

Nothing Special

I don't know if I would stay here again. The reason I chose this hotel over others was b/c it included a "hot breakfast" in the price. The breakfast was nothing more than a continental breakfast in my opinion, we only ate there one day as it wasn't even very good. I would rather save the extra money, stay somewhere that doesn't offer bkfst & go out to eat where they serve a real bkfst. The beds were comfortable. Wish the pool were either heated or faced the south side of the hotel as by 2P there was no sun at the pool & the water was cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of restaurants on the same road as the hotel so plenty to choose from.

Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's Grammy
Gaffney, SC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Very pleased.

Everything was great from the staff to the room. The only thing I think you maybe should work on is the breakfast. I did not have a problem but my husband did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Ft. Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake's Grammy
Gaffney, SC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Very pleased.

Everything was great from the staff to the room. The only thing I think you maybe should work on is the breakfast. I did not have a problem but my husband did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top