$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

3 stars
1913 Huger Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
29 reviews
Loved it!

Everything about this hotel is great. Don't waste your money anywhere else! See full review

  • Bagagagaaa
  • Mar 2, 2014
Graduation at Fort Jackson

Location from airport and base were easy to get to. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and... See full review

  • Grateful Dad
  • Dec 19, 2013
Vista District hotel boasts free breakfast and evening receptions

The newly constructed, extended-stay Staybridge Suites Columbia is located in the historic Vista District of Columbia, South Carolina. Guests here enjoy complimentary dining with daily breakfast buffets and evening dinner receptions Tuesdays through Thursdays. Staybridge Suites Columbia is walkable to restaurants, shops and nightlife, and the University of South Carolina main campus is just a mile away. Guests swim in the indoor pool, surf the web for free, and borrow movies from the hotel video library. Families enjoy added value too: kids stay free.

Highlights
  • Central location in the Vista District, near upscale restaurants, art galleries and shopping
  • Free daily breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary evening receptions (Tuesdays through Thursdays)
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • Children 12 and under stay free
Rooms

The all-suite Staybridge Suites Columbia offers studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom/two-bathroom suite options. Extended-stay accommodations offer fully-equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances (including refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher), stove tops and utensils. High-tech amenities include 42-inch HDTVs, free wired/wireless Internet access and convenient cordless speaker phones with voicemail. Families and business guests enjoy extra space with sleeper sofa beds and spacious living and work areas. Bathrooms feature glass showers, hair-dryers and complimentary toiletries.

Features

Guests work out around-the-clock at the 24-hour fitness center, which features universal gym equipment. Staybridge Suites Columbia also offers a heated indoor swimming pool. A complimentary evening reception during the week features fare from local restaurants, beer and wine. Business guests take advantage of the 24-hour business center. An on-site convenience mart sells snacks and sundries.

 

Staybridge Suites Columbia offers free on-site laundry facilities and a movie lending library. Parking is free. This hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply).

Dining

Staybridge Suites Columbia guests enjoy a free hot, daily breakfast buffet in the mornings and free manager's receptions with assorted samples from local restaurants.  An outdoor grilling area and on-site pantry are available.

Transportation
  • Columbia Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Attractions
  • South Carolina State Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • EdVenture Children's Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • South Carolina State House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Williams-Brice Stadium (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (16.8 mi/27. km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with free Internet access
  • Remote printing, faxing and copying available

Hotel Map

34.0065 -81.0489
Nearby airports
Columbia Metropolitan Airport, (CAE), 9.00, MI, N; Charlotte International Airport, (CLT), 94.00, MI, N; Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 110.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Colonial Life Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 1.3 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 13.2 mi

Dining

Liberty Tap Room
American Cuisine. Bar and Grill. Located in the heart of the Vista and the Historic district downtown.
Carolina Ale House
Award winning American style food and the Vista's only rooftop bar!
Blue Marlin
Casual dining in historic Seaboard Railroad Station
Carolina Wings & Ribhouse
Salad and Wing bar; family restaurant, sport friendly with 14 HDTVs!
Mellow Mushroom
Pizzas, Calzones, Hoagies and salads with 25 beers on tap, served in an historic setting.
Blue Martini
Live Jazz Wednesday through Saturday, intimate room, Mature crowd, more than 50 fun martinis and great food
Flying Saucer
Beer emporium with more than 80 beers on tap, 141 in bottles!
Jillian's
Sports viewing with game room, billiard area and party rooms
Wet Willie's
Frozen drinks & plenty of fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. BAJ
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Jun 24, 2013

Getaway

The stovetop didn't work properly yet when I complained the staff didn't accommodate well at all considering the kitchen was important in my hotel choice. I do however believe if I would have been given another room my stay would have been pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south carolina
Sep 22, 2009

Mud Run

Hotel is recently opened -- some staff is snippy and a bit rude; housekeepers kept carts directly blocking the exit doors for most of the day. Rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. Pet fee is high -- $75.00, which is not listed in their profile so be sure to add $75 to your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent flier
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Oct 5, 2011

double charged!

I booked this hotel through Orbitz...I have stayed here before and usually enjoy my stay but this time my room did not smell fresh...there were hairs all over our comforter...but the biggest issue was the fact that the hotel charged my credit card...even after they knew I paid for the room in full through Orbitz...careless mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cry5tal
Business
Columbia, SC
Jan 20, 2014

Staybridge Suites on Hager

We stayed at Staybridge Suites last night and it was an overall good experience. I got there at 2:45 and check-in was at 3pm and only being a few minutes early, my room was not yet ready. I went ahead and checked in and the lady at the front desk said she would call me when the room was ready. Around 4:30 in the evening, I took the liberty of calling them myself because I never did receive a phone call. My room was ready at this time and we returned to check in. Our room was nice, comfortably spaced and had a full kitchen and separate bedroom with the King bed. The cabinets looked a lil out of date but no big deal. The bathroom was small to get in and out of but there was a separate vanity area which makes up for it. The shower had great water pressure but there wasn't a tub. The towels were a bit rough, not very soft to the touch. The bed was fairly comfortable, not the best, but better than some others I've stayed at. The WiFi was fast and easily accessible. We went for a dip in the pool before bedtime. The pool area was kinda small, not a lot of chairs set out and the pool was salt water which was good but it only went down to four feet deep. It was heated which is a bonus but there wasn't a hot tub on site. We overslept and didn't get to try the breakfast buffet in the morning but it looked like there would've been a large variety by looking at the setup. The seating area was large and had plenty of seats for many guests. I liked that the weekend breakfast buffet served til 1030. Overall the experience was satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right in the heart of the Vista district with lots of restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cej9
Business
Greensboro, NC, USA
Apr 30, 2012

great comfort

clean rooms, comfortable and just overall nice experience. close to activities and entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmelo B
Business
Chicago
Sep 21, 2013

Well maintained, helpful staff

Clean room, helpful staff. A bit far from downtown (5-10 minutes drive). Entrance to parking lot is also a little confusing from Huger Street. Only complaint about the room is that the curtains did not close in mine. Otherwise, though, a great option for an affordable place to stay in Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 15, 2010

mediocre accomodations

nightmare started with hotel not having correct date for arrival so not only did we not have rooms next to each other - they were on separate floors. we were there 5 nights and the sheets in one of our rooms were only changed once. At least we were able to get clean towels every day. IF YOU weren't getting off the freeway, it was a nightmare to get in to the appropriate lane to turn into the hotel driveway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NIXA,MO
Jan 6, 2011

STAYBRIDGE IN COLUMBIA,SC

ALL GOOD , DESK HELP WAS SUPER, FOOD GREAT, GYM GREAT, BUSINESS CENTER WELCOMING VERY HAPPY EXPERIENCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

AFFORDABLE AIRPORT LIMO SERVICE, GRANT OWNS THIS AND IS THE MOST PLEASING AND DEPENDABLE SERVICE I HAVE SEEN FOR LONG TIME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Oct 16, 2009

Clean, new, pet-friendly place to stay!

Traveling across the country with our small dog. We found this hotel very friendly and clean! They were very friendly to our dog, too! Drinks and appetizers were complimentary from 5-7pm, and breakfast from 6:30-9:30am. Easy to get to, right off the freeway. The only negatives: - we could hear everything in the corridors - pet fee was $75 --- even just for 1 night!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites COLUMBIA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2011

A welcome surprise!

The Staybridge Suites Hotel in Columbia, SC was very affordable. The staff was friendly. It's King Suite was very nice and spacious. Its location was close to town and sightseeing with easy access on and off of the highways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top