$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

2 stars
View map of 7504 Garners Ferry Rd., Columbia, SC 29209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GSU05
Business
Georgia
Jul 11, 2013

I will not be staying there again

My friend and I booked this hotel after reading pretty decent reviews on it. Granted, my friend and I did not realize how small the rooms would be (I guess we ignored the "micro" in the hotel name). So, be aware that the rooms are VERY small. There was barely room for the queen bed in our room. The hotel has different nasty odors throughout our stay. At one point it was body odor, then cigarette smoke, then just general must. The atmosphere in the rooms left us feeling sticky after sleeping, which may have been due to poor air circulation. The hotel manager was also extremely intrusive. I was visiting to find an apartment to move into, and he repeatedly pried about where I was going to be living, why I wanted to live by myself, and made insulting comments about how I "must live on Daddy's money." Despite my repeated efforts to silence him on the matter, he continued to ask and say uncomfortable things. The side doors on the hotel also were NEVER locked, although the guy at the front desk said they just need to be pulled to all the way (which did not help). They also wanted to try to charge us $15 to check in an hour early (which I have never encountered). This certainly didn't make sense since my friend and I were literally the only guests at the hotel when we checked in. All I can say is I can see why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otterbaby
Business
utah
Mar 26, 2013

Ft Jackson graduation

This place had the perfect location to attend Basic graduation. It was very nice, but the best part was how the staff made you feel like they really cared about your time spent with them and it was like a home instead of a hotel because of that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sexxyk007
Business
Maryland
Oct 6, 2012

Exceeded expectations

I got the one bedroom suite and I was very pleased. The room was spacious and the bar was a plus. The staff was very friendly. The location was very good for me. It was slightly off the main street but walking distance to the waffle house and shopping center. I plan to stay there again very soon and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MHAPPA
Business
CALIF.
Sep 27, 2012

CLEAN, QUIET HOTEL

This was perfect spot to stay during sons graduation from Ft. Jackson. It was very clean, the staff, especially RAJ was very helpful, freindly and great attitude. It's set back a little from the main street, so it's quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Tuesdays, good food, close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine09
Business
Charleston, SC
Mar 5, 2012

Good clean stay

I stay here about once a month and wouldn't stay anywhere else near Ft. Jackson. It's comfy, convenient and new. The staff know me by name, and make everything as comfortable as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reggie M
Business
Virginia, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Not bad at all

First off the motel is located on a back road but at the same time close to shopping centers. The rooms themselves were pretty small but had a fridge/microwave and an iron w/ ironing board and the bed was comfortable. Very clean hotel both inside and out. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
foster42
Business
orange county california
May 28, 2011

not pleased

they had me in a room with a handicapped bathroom and im not handicapped there was water all over the floor and i was very careful not to get water on the floor and i still slipped!!!!! no face wash clothes until the second night i guess they figured i needed one when the medium sized wash towel was used.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the base at fort jackson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Far Rockaway NY
Apr 4, 2011

Army Strong Graduation

I attended a great Army Strong Graduation for my daughter. It was short and sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I had a great mani/pedi. Shopped and got great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy loves to travel
Business
Johnson City TN
Mar 19, 2011

Best sleep I have ever had in a Motel.

Great, front desk personal wonderful, friendly and helpful. Plenty of hot water for showers, and the best bed I have ever slept in away from home. I will use Microtel from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Mar 14, 2011

The good and The Bad!

The Hotel was very clean, had everything that you needed inside, and a very good price, but the walls are very thin, you can here everything that is going on in the rooms around you and all the conversation that are taking place outside, we had a horrible stay, because the fire alarm went off between 4 and 5am that morning scaring me and my kids to death, we had to hurry up and get dress and head down stairs to get out, only to met by other guess, down stairs to tell us that it was a false alarm, something to do with the waffle maker.very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top