$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

3 stars
View map of 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
22 reviews
Meeting Kassi

This was a trip to introduce my wife to my college best friend. It went well. See full review

  • Michael W.
  • Aug 18, 2015
Great value and location

During my recent business visit to Columbia, the Hampton Inn-Downtown provided easy access to a... See full review

  • David S.
  • Jul 11, 2015
step back into old southern charm...welcome to the Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District. Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. services & amenities Even if you're in Columbia to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional. Are you planning a meeting? Wedding? Family reunion? Little League game? Let us help you with our easy booking and rooming list management tools.* Meetings & Events * Local Restaurant Guid

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.2 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$89
4.0 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$89
4.1 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$94
4.4 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 15 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.5 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IQ Roady
Couples
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 28, 2014

Poor Parents

Good location and adequate facilities but a horrible value. Granted it was Parents Weekend so not surprised they jacked up the price, but $400/night was excessive! To be charged for parking on top put salt in the wound. Oh and the construction workers outside our window got to work at 7am sharp on Saturday morning so that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1PawPaw
Couples
SC Coast
Jul 13, 2014

Columbia Vista

Very pleasant experience. Front desk staff very attentive. Custodian staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Marlin...one of the best in the Vista

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abber
Friends
Lincolnton, NC
Jan 20, 2014

Annua,l friends get together and night out in Columbia

This is the second year to have stayed at this hotel in the downtown district of Columbia. The best part of this hotel is location. It is within 1 to 4 blocks from numerous bars, restaurants, convention center. It is a short walk to many of the more popular places. Great location. Never any complaints about hotel either. we have stayed here before, and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food, drink, it's all just a short walk from this hotel.

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimH6160
Business
Alexandria, VA
Apr 17, 2014

Overall good

Overall the hotel was nice and comfortable and convenient to my client's office. Starbucks across the street and a few good restaurants within a short block. The one thing I wish was clearer was where to park for check-in. You have to use your room key to enter the lot so that means using the "Press this button for Assistance" button and getting buzzed into the lot to park for check-in. Would be nice to add a sign that specifically says that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim6160
Business
Alexandria VA
Oct 30, 2009

Good stay

The Hampton Inn in Downtown Columbia was great. I picked it for price and walking distance from my client's office but the cabble said it was a good choice when I told him my destination. Clean, quiet and in the middle of the Vista, a former warehouse district with lots of restaurants and art galleries. My only complaints are not with the hotel but the city of Colombia - not very walkable, doesn't always feel safe (and I'm NOT the squeamish type).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Motor Supply Cafe and Liberty Tavern were great. Motor Supply for a nice quiet meal and Liberty Tavern for good bar food and beers.

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Northern Utah
Aug 9, 2010

Downtown Columbia

Great staff. One of the better complimentary breakfasts I've had at a hotel. Good location, many amenities; dining, business, USC campus, Metropolitan Convention Center and many good restaurants all within walking distance. There is also ample reserved parking for hotel guests. Did hear a bit of traffic noise but nothing that would keep me from staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neza
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jun 27, 2014

Far Away Training Trip

Nice Comp. Breakfast, Coffee 24 Hrs Staff Needs to smile a bit more but overall, good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina T
Friends
Washington, DC
Jun 30, 2014

Friends' Wedding

The hotel was nice, although we didn't spend a lot of time there. It was very close to the wedding and reception, and the continental breakfast was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSchuess
Family
in SC
Aug 13, 2014

Family getaway

Like Goldilocks said, this was "juu-u-u-u-uu-st right." The room was quiet and nicely furnished. The staff was welcoming and totally professional. The pool was sparkling clean and the location - downtown in Columbia's Vista neighborhood - was perfect for quick meals, drinks with friends, even the City Art gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dwinma
Business
Boston ma
Aug 29, 2014

Great location

Convient location with good access to multiple restaurants and quality beer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top