$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

3 stars
822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
13 reviews
Nice place

Very nice hotel located within a quick walk to many restaurants. Rooms were very nice, super... See full review

  • Skeetertom
  • Feb 8, 2014
Convention Stay

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn everytime I'm in Columbia for a meeting or convention. It is very... See full review

  • Sisterfergie
  • Nov 4, 2013
step back into old southern charm...welcome to the Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District. Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. services & amenities Even if you're in Columbia to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. That's why we offer a full range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay with us exceptional. Are you planning a meeting? Wedding? Family reunion? Little League game? Let us help you with our easy booking and rooming list management tools.* Meetings & Events * Local Restaurant Guid

Hotel Map

33.999 -81.0388
Nearby airports
Columbia Metropolitan Airport, (CAE), 10.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.5 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville SC
Jan 2, 2011

GREAT Stay!

Overnight trip for daughter's wedding at chapel on USC campus. Hotel is in heart of downtown--walking distance to many attractions and close to USC campus. Room was great --comfortable, clean and quiet. Check in/check out simple and fast(prepaid thru [...]). Great 'continental' breakfast--lots of choices and could even make your own waffles! Can't think of anything to improve--one of best stays anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSchuess
in SC
Aug 13, 2014

Family getaway

Like Goldilocks said, this was "juu-u-u-u-uu-st right." The room was quiet and nicely furnished. The staff was welcoming and totally professional. The pool was sparkling clean and the location - downtown in Columbia's Vista neighborhood - was perfect for quick meals, drinks with friends, even the City Art gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1PawPaw
SC Coast
Jul 13, 2014

Columbia Vista

Very pleasant experience. Front desk staff very attentive. Custodian staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Marlin...one of the best in the Vista

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina T
Washington, DC
Jun 30, 2014

Friends' Wedding

The hotel was nice, although we didn't spend a lot of time there. It was very close to the wedding and reception, and the continental breakfast was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neza
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jun 27, 2014

Far Away Training Trip

Nice Comp. Breakfast, Coffee 24 Hrs Staff Needs to smile a bit more but overall, good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimH6160
Business
Alexandria, VA
Apr 17, 2014

Overall good

Overall the hotel was nice and comfortable and convenient to my client's office. Starbucks across the street and a few good restaurants within a short block. The one thing I wish was clearer was where to park for check-in. You have to use your room key to enter the lot so that means using the "Press this button for Assistance" button and getting buzzed into the lot to park for check-in. Would be nice to add a sign that specifically says that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skeetertom
Lyme, CT
Feb 8, 2014

Nice place

Very nice hotel located within a quick walk to many restaurants. Rooms were very nice, super comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abber
Lincolnton, NC
Jan 20, 2014

Annua,l friends get together and night out in Columbia

This is the second year to have stayed at this hotel in the downtown district of Columbia. The best part of this hotel is location. It is within 1 to 4 blocks from numerous bars, restaurants, convention center. It is a short walk to many of the more popular places. Great location. Never any complaints about hotel either. we have stayed here before, and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food, drink, it's all just a short walk from this hotel.

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sisterfergie
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 4, 2013

Convention Stay

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn everytime I'm in Columbia for a meeting or convention. It is very close to downtown and the place I normally do business. There are restaurants within walking distance and they have on site parking. There is a fee for it, but it's worth it because it is secure. The only way you can get into the lot is with your room key. The last time we stayed here, the air conditioning unit crackled and popped. But I found this to be an exception to the other times we stayed here. Breakfast is sufficient and there are several coffee options which is really what is important to me. I will always try to book here first before looking elsewhere. It is very consistent in its friendly staff, cleanliness and top notch location for what I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mommiof3
anderson, sc
Feb 20, 2011

AWESOME LOCATION

We didn't stay in the room much, but the times we were there was relaxing. No loud and obnoxious guest. The bed was unbelievably soft! The tub was a jacuzzi one!!!!! Clean and convenient hotel. Will revisit in the summer b/c of a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to columbiana mall.

Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville SC
Jan 2, 2011

GREAT Stay!

Overnight trip for daughter's wedding at chapel on USC campus. Hotel is in heart of downtown--walking distance to many attractions and close to USC campus. Room was great --comfortable, clean and quiet. Check in/check out simple and fast(prepaid thru [...]). Great 'continental' breakfast--lots of choices and could even make your own waffles! Can't think of anything to improve--one of best stays anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search