$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

3 stars
220 East Exchange Boulevard, Columbia, SC 29209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Great hotel for BCT graduation

Great location for Fort Jackson BCT graduation. Just 5 minutes to main gate. Clean rooms and... See full review

  • Proud Dad of BCT grad.
  • Jun 7, 2014
Nice Hotel

I stayed there during a friend's wedding and it was conveniently located to the wedding venue and... See full review

  • Catiebeth
  • Sep 30, 2014
Country Inn & Suites, Columbia features spacious guest rooms and suites with all the comforts of home. We are sure to please you with our amenities for the business and leisure traveler alike. Our Guestrooms Feature: -Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access -In-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee -Hair dryer, iron, and ironing board -Microwave/refrigerator -In-room safe -Cable TV including HBO -Accessible Rooms available

Hotel Map

33.9667 -80.9526
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
COLUMBIA METRO ARPT, (CAE), 13.60, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 5 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 9 mi

Dining

Applebee's
-2 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Breakfast Room
-Breakfast room
Captain D's
-Within walking distance
McDonald's
-1 mile -1 minute from hotel
Quincy's
-1.5 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Ruby Tuesday's
-2 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Shoney's
-1 block -1 minute from hotel
Waffle House
-1 block -1 minute from hotel -Within walking distance
T.G.I. Fridays
Located 4 miles from hotel.
Fire Mountain
Located 2 miles from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

Go Somewhere else

My room was with frayed bedspread and holes in it. The curtains had holes in them and the toilet was not bolted to the floor which was not fun. The breakfast buffet was probably good if you got there way early. The best thing I can say is that the pillows were comfy. The drink machines were out of order and the ice machine did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spartan Ange
Business
Delaware
Oct 27, 2014

Just OK

When I checked in, the lady at the front desk was not helpful and was not friendly at all. When we entered the room, the bed sheets were very wrinkled, which made us question if the sheets were even washed or just re-used from prior guests. The shower was not cleaned, and I had to clean it myself. The refrigerator in the room was barely cold. We had items in there overnight, and they were not cold the next day. There was no temperature control on the refrigerator. Also, the screen outside our window (we were on the first floor) was all torn up, so I hope it wasn't due to someone trying to get into the hotel room prior. The breakfast offered was ok (scrambled eggs, potatoes, greasy sausage), but the fruit was not fresh. It was canned fruit. There were fresh oranges and fresh apples. The hotel definitely requires much updating when compared to the nicer hotels around it for the same price. I would have stayed elsewhere, but they were all booked in surrounding area. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DJGraham
Business
Columbia South Carolina
Mar 2, 2014

Trip to USC

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Columbia, SC for the first time. Everything was fine except for the pullout couch. My son slept on it and he complained that it was uncomfortable beacuse he could feel the springs on it, other than that it was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ButterflyQueen
Business
Aiken
Mar 6, 2014

Quiet Time

I wish the Hotel had a traffic light entering and leaving EXCHANGE PL. It is the only hazard I encountered. The second shift staff were friendly, but the first shift front desk staff were like no smiles or greetings, I HATE MY JOB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2010

Clean and comfortable, needs maintenance

Stayed here to attend Fort Jackson Basic Training Graduation. This is a great location halfway between the airport and the Army base. Hairdryer in room did not work and had bare electric wires exposed. In room safe was locked by previous guest and took over 24 hours to get it open. Daughter in law had stranger enter her room because front desk booked two different people in same room. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch carefully for the road off main road. It is easy to miss.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Onthe Road Traveler
Business
South Carolina
Apr 9, 2013

Ok, for short stay

The room was fairly clean - they could have done a little vacuuming. But all in all ok stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
straussy816
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Aug 19, 2013

Okay

This hotel was located in a great place for us (visiting Ft. Jackson for graduation). The staff were helpful, let us check in a bit early which was much appreciated. I would stay here again, though I did notice several things that were not what I expected from a Country Inn/Suites. 1) There was a strange smell in the room...not sure what could be done about it, and it wasn't terrible...just noticeable when you entered. 2) Fitness room has a total of 3 pieces of equipment and two of them were not working...it was also very hot in there, and didn't seem to be a way to turn on air, or even a fan in there. Also, the vending on the second floor is not really vending - no machines in there, just an ice maker. I went to the 3rd floor, and it was the same. Finally found a vending machine on the bottom floor, and when I put my quarters in, it told me it wasn't working :-( So...ended up going to the front desk to get my bottle of water...not a major deal, but not what you expect. I would stay here again if the price was right, but it was a bit disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 11, 2010

Great price, but had downfalls

We were there 3 days to attend basic graduation at Fort Jackson. We expected 2 King suites with a sofa bed, but ended up with King Suites with Whirlpool. We requested a roll-away bed for one child, but was told they didnt have any and could not switch us rooms due to being sold out. We ended up having to go to Walmart to buy a blowup bed and pump. The other inconvenience was the pool. It was very clean, but had only two dumpy plastic tables and a total of 6 chairs. That was ok if you were the only ones there, but if there were more people there, you had to stand the whole time and had no place to put your belongings. I asked the staff for more seating, but they didn't have any. The other downside was they were undergoing room improvements and were bringing in furniture the whole time. The hallways were crowed and the parking lot was compromised with a huge shipping cargo container and semi which prevented guests from decent parking and/or entering the facilities front door. (did not see any back foor to the motel). And it was noisy during those times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This location was great for Fort Jackson graduation. Close to I-77 and close to dining places and shopping, yet far enough away from the base to give a soldier that freedom feeling once again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 25, 2009

Very short visit.

I arrived very late, and left early, but, all seemed fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca
Apr 22, 2009

Nice, but Upgrade the BEDS!

The place was clean and nice. The only complaint is that they really need to UPGRADE thier BEDS!! The bed and tiny pillows were really uncomfortable! Really bad. The place was really clean and cute, and good for one night, any more, you will suffer the next morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top