$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

3 stars
220 East Exchange Boulevard, Columbia, SC 29209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
39 reviews
Great hotel for BCT graduation

Great location for Fort Jackson BCT graduation. Just 5 minutes to main gate. Clean rooms and... See full review

  • Proud Dad of BCT grad.
  • Jun 7, 2014
Nice Hotel

I stayed there during a friend's wedding and it was conveniently located to the wedding venue and... See full review

  • Catiebeth
  • Sep 30, 2014
Country Inn & Suites, Columbia features spacious guest rooms and suites with all the comforts of home. We are sure to please you with our amenities for the business and leisure traveler alike. Our Guestrooms Feature: -Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access -In-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee -Hair dryer, iron, and ironing board -Microwave/refrigerator -In-room safe -Cable TV including HBO -Accessible Rooms available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 5 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 5.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 9 mi

Dining

Applebee's
-2 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Breakfast Room
-Breakfast room
Captain D's
-Within walking distance
McDonald's
-1 mile -1 minute from hotel
Quincy's
-1.5 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Ruby Tuesday's
-2 miles -3 minutes from hotel
Shoney's
-1 block -1 minute from hotel
Waffle House
-1 block -1 minute from hotel -Within walking distance
T.G.I. Fridays
Located 4 miles from hotel.
Fire Mountain
Located 2 miles from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Nov 16, 2010

A Weekend of Relaxation

My weekend was awesome at Country Inn Suites the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The bathroom was also very clean. The hotel was near many places so I was very entertained. It was the best weekend I ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gator mom and dad
Business
Florida
Nov 5, 2010

Good location & price

Comfortable spacious room, new tv. Enjoyed the breakfast and pool area. Staff was courteous and helpful. Exercise room was the only disappointment- machine I wanted to use didnt work. Great location, on and off the highway-many restaurants in the area.& places to shop in the area. We would stop here again--as we travel to WV from FL once or twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
treddyj
Business
Washington DC
Oct 4, 2010

great stay

A great stay with my kids who loved the pool and was within walking distance of many restaurants. Will be staying again before the year is out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury, Conn.
Sep 19, 2010

Columbia trip

Just one exit away from Fort Jackson made this particular hotel perfect for us. The rooms are clean, staff were fantastic and the breakfast was very good. I would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nestled in the center of Columbia, SC is the University of South Carolina. Neat stores, restaurants and beautiful buildings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2010

Clean and comfortable, needs maintenance

Stayed here to attend Fort Jackson Basic Training Graduation. This is a great location halfway between the airport and the Army base. Hairdryer in room did not work and had bare electric wires exposed. In room safe was locked by previous guest and took over 24 hours to get it open. Daughter in law had stranger enter her room because front desk booked two different people in same room. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch carefully for the road off main road. It is easy to miss.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travels with kids
Business
upper penninsula, michigan
Jul 24, 2010

great hotel, great price

Our family came to South Carolina for my brother's graduation at Ft. Jackson (10 min from hotel) Got a great price, great breakfast, great room! Would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisacb12
Business
Hanahan, SC
Jun 11, 2010

Third time I have stayed at same hotel

I've stayed three times at this particular hotel because it is clean, quiet and convenient to the University. The service is always friendly.I do wish the hotel had a vending machine so one could grab a snack without having to leave the hotel, but I will plan better next time I stay here - and I will, again. Free breakfast is ok. Nothing to write home about, but it puts food in your stomach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new mexico
Jun 7, 2010

great stay!!!

we went to pick up my daughter who was graduating from ait national guard. we stayed at same hotel when she graduated from basic . the desk clerk was very helpful in giving us directions to get to hotel she stayed on phone with me till our arrival.she was also very courteous in suggesting places for dinner and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

great places for a couple to eat drink and entertinment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waldorf, MD
May 24, 2010

Great Hotel

This hotel was nice, quiet, and the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lizards Thicket on Garners Ferry Rd and Sonic on Garners Ferry Rd both had immaculate dinning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Apr 11, 2010

Great price, but had downfalls

We were there 3 days to attend basic graduation at Fort Jackson. We expected 2 King suites with a sofa bed, but ended up with King Suites with Whirlpool. We requested a roll-away bed for one child, but was told they didnt have any and could not switch us rooms due to being sold out. We ended up having to go to Walmart to buy a blowup bed and pump. The other inconvenience was the pool. It was very clean, but had only two dumpy plastic tables and a total of 6 chairs. That was ok if you were the only ones there, but if there were more people there, you had to stand the whole time and had no place to put your belongings. I asked the staff for more seating, but they didn't have any. The other downside was they were undergoing room improvements and were bringing in furniture the whole time. The hallways were crowed and the parking lot was compromised with a huge shipping cargo container and semi which prevented guests from decent parking and/or entering the facilities front door. (did not see any back foor to the motel). And it was noisy during those times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This location was great for Fort Jackson graduation. Close to I-77 and close to dining places and shopping, yet far enough away from the base to give a soldier that freedom feeling once again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top