$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Columbia Marriott

3 stars
View map of 1200 Hampton Street, 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
12 reviews
Business

Great place to stay. Centrally located. Staff was excellent. Easy stay. See full review

  • VDOG
  • Apr 27, 2015
Hub parents

Great location for our visit with child who resides at the Hub. See full review

  • Hub Mom
  • Oct 13, 2014
Spacious accommodations and friendly Southern charm await you here at the Columbia Marriott. Superbly located in the city's downtown district, near the University of South Carolina and the State House, our hotel provides a sophisticated "home base" for business travelers and vacationing families. All of our hotel rooms and suites feature deluxe bedding, free Wi-Fi access, a comfortable work desk, and a flat-screen TV - as well as marble bathrooms with premium products. Savor delicious fare inspired by our South Carolina roots at the hotel's on-site restaurant, Midlands Modern Southern Food Arts, or squeeze in a workout at our modern fitness center, followed by a swim in the heated indoor pool. With 27,000 square feet of versatile meeting and event space, our hotel provides a wonderful setting for conferences and social gatherings. And our downtown location places you near the Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo and Colonial Life Arena. Plan your South Carolina getaway today at the Columbia Marriott!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Columbia Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12.4 mi

Dining

Midlands’ Modern Southern Food Arts
Sample New Southern cuisine and fresh, farm-to-table dining here at Midlands’ Modern Southern Food Arts, our signature restaurant. Start your day here in downtown Columbia with a tasty breakfast, or enjoy the award-winning shrimp and grits for dinner!
Cafe at Midlands'
What better way to begin your morning in Columbia than with Starbucks® gourmet coffee drinks, tea, and freshly baked pastries? Fuel up at one of our communal tables, which offer power for all of your devices, before your busy work day.
Rocks at Midlands' Lounge
After an eventful afternoon in downtown Columbia, you'll look forward to relaxing with a cocktail or craft beer and flavorful Southern cuisine here at our casual restaurant and lounge. Sink into one of our plush sofas or chairs with friends or colleagues.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Columbia Marriott

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim D.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

Family, USC, fun

Beautiful tree-lined Main Street. Right downtown. .........................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VDOG
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Business

Great place to stay. Centrally located. Staff was excellent. Easy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexie R.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 24, 2014

College Visit

This hotel was perfect for a weekend visit to USC. The hotel is connected to the Hub where my sister lives, making it easy to run back and forth. The hotel is a bit further away from campus (~15 minute walk) but there are a couple of restaurants/bars in the area. The hotel restaurant also has a very good restaurant that is reasonably priced. Only cons to our stay was that the room was a little on the smaller side, didn't have a mini fridge and there wasn't a hair dryer in the bathroom. Other than that we had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hub Mom
Business
Bluffton, SC
Oct 13, 2014

Hub parents

Great location for our visit with child who resides at the Hub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moande
Business
Elgin, SC
Jan 6, 2014

Undergoing renovation

We were not aware that the hotel was undergoing renovation at the time we booked the hotel. The renovations made it sort of dusty and not what you would expect from a Marriott. The staff however was friendly and it should be nice when they fix everything up and get it going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave Moore
Business
Kingsport, TN
Aug 11, 2013

Renovation

Hotel is being renovated so not fair to judge until complete. However 3 of us went to the Hampton St. address and all 3 of us got lost because the entrance is no longer on Hampton St. and there was no sign saying the entrance has moved to Main St. Not good for a Marriott not to give instructions on where to go to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Nightcrawler
Business
Orangeburg, SC
Jul 18, 2013

very pleased....

overall, things were great. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located downtown... Near everything! I head to Columbia a few times a month to bar-hop and socialize a bit. The only drawback is that the lobby is currently under construction, but I'm sure it it will improve the overall aesthetic and make future visits that much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything you'd want to do in the evening is a short walk... And parking is FREE on the weekends!

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seneca South Carolina
Apr 18, 2010

Great stay

Stayed at Marriott to attend Dietitian conference. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. We are always satisfied when we stay Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Mar 28, 2010

OK Hotel but not for us.

Came to Columbia to see our grandson graduate from boot camp at Ft. Jackson. Columbia Marriott was ok but the maids were terrible. We had a 3 day stay and I had to call 2 of those days to get linens. No wash clothes, 1 hand towel. I asked if they had a shortage on linens!! One evening the restaurant just decided to close. No warning. This place was not for us. We will not stay here again. The only thing going for this is that they have a great location. We went to the Museum of Art across the street..great. Places to grab a bite right across the street. The front desk people and valet service were very friendly but don't expect much for your room. They put us right where the elevator opened and listened to that all night. There was some convention with a million teenagers all yelling in the lobby all the time. I don't think we will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Columbia Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenniemae's mom
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 4, 2009

Lived Up to "Southern Hospitality"

From the moment when the hotel van picked me up Thursday - till it dropped me off on Sunday, the staff was spectacular in their care. Polite, knowledgeable folks - the Marriott should be proud of this staff. the room was a lovely size, well-maintained. The restaurants were well-staffed, food was fine; room service was also fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top