$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
58 reviews
great stay

very good experience here at this hotel. good location, good service. See full review

  • Matthew V.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Great time fun

Sweet location. Good for sleeping, getting ready and hitting up the town. Now really luxury. See full review

  • J.119
  • Jan 15, 2015
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KD6658
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 16, 2014

Good overall

Staff are friendly. Ample parking spaces which is hard to find in Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wfhrace
Business
allenyown pa
Dec 19, 2013

nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a Hooding at USC. Also your house keepers who served my room, 108, were Very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBestT
Business
Buford, GA
Jan 9, 2012

Great trip to Columbia

Hotel was nice. Perfect location for us. The only issue I had was a cold shower on Sunday Morning. I mentioned it to the front desk when I checked out and was told possibly everyone was showering at the same time and the hot water heater was 'over compensating'. Restaurant had great food and drinks !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheray3
Business
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 7, 2011

Compact, downtown hotel

We checked in late -10pm but everything was ready in our room, including my 8 month old baby's cradle. The staff is kind and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The University of South Carolina is close by and there are nice and cheap eateries around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point, NC
Jun 27, 2011

Room not so clean

We had a great orientation visit to USC. The hotel location was great, but our room was in the motor lodge portion of the hotel and the rooms need to be remodeled and cleaned. They were quite dirty. I have stayed in the main part of the hotel and been perfectly happy, but they were booked so they could not move me to that part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The C's
Business
Denver, CO
May 20, 2011

Nathan's Army Basic Training

Missed not having free contenital breakfast and free drink hour. I though I read it in the hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 29, 2010

Clarion Downtown

Although the Hotel was clean, it wasn't at the usual high standards of the Clarion family- however the Hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable and was very accomodating- they bent over backwards to help us with any and all our needs. They were friendly,polite and helpful. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They serve a late night brunch from 10 pm to 2 am, that great food and great service and great variety. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top