$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Quiet

The hotel is quiant. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is Summer the town was very quiet as... See full review

  • Walter P.
  • Jun 21, 2015
great stay

very good experience here at this hotel. good location, good service. See full review

  • Matthew V.
  • Feb 11, 2015

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Property features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Nearby attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Policies

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gameday Travelers
Business
Columbia, SC
Sep 11, 2012

Room was a Disaster

Blood Stains on the Sheets. Drain was clogged in the bathroom so taking a shower turned into a bathtub full of water that wouldn't drain for the next person to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Non Partier Guest
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 1, 2013

Do yourself a favor, and stay someplace else

We had to stay in Columbia, but I wish I had driven home. There were parties to 3:30 am. Running in the hallways, screaming, slamming doors and basic drunken rudeness. When I called the front desk I was told if I couldn't tell where the noise was coming from he couldn't help me. Worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shelbyandfords
Business
Medford
Mar 1, 2015

Tired Hotel

. Stayed here for 3 months on and off due to work. Only economical game in town. Roaches in the tub and room. Rooms are tired and old. AC/heater is motel type and some barely worked. Staff was nice enough. Even the electronics key didn't work and I was locked out for half the nice. Oh, got a coupon for a free breakfast. If you have a car, stay downtown. If on a limited budget, dont say you werent warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melford C.
Business
Austin
Jul 23, 2015

University Orientation trip

Really not a pleasant place to stay. Service was poor and unorganized. Generally dirty through out. Only door in and out had people sitting on the steps smoking all evening when trying to check in. A bad hotel. Bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LampCord
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 21, 2012

Dark & Dreary

On the upside, the staff was attentive and friendly. And the price was inexpensive relative to other Clarion properties I have stayed in. If my wife had been with me, I doubt we would have stayed more than one night. My room was in the back side of the main hotel in the U-block of rooms behind a parking lot. While the room was spacious, room lighting was depressingly ineffective, and given the open walkways, window curtains had to be kept closed for privacy. A small writing table served as a desk for my small laptop. The wireless internet access was good. On the down-side, the couch on the west wall had no side-tables or lamps. So i moved the coffee table to three feet in front of the old fashioned cathode-ray TV which was was tucked into a massive cabinet placed on the north wall, sat in one of the chairs to watch TV because it was awkward to watch TV from the couch...and it was impossible to watch TV from the bed. The small remote was functional but the Closed Caption option wasn't functional which may be a deal breaker for those who take advantage of the captioning. A Channel guide would have been nice. In-wall Under window by the TV an in-wall window Heat/AC unit was incredibly noisy on the lowest cool setting..for which captioning would have been helpful. Both straight-back chairs were stained. I am sure this was a much nicer property twenty years ago. In 2012, it is clearly dated and lacking. If you are considering this hotel I suggest you Inspect your room before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point, NC
Jun 27, 2011

Room not so clean

We had a great orientation visit to USC. The hotel location was great, but our room was in the motor lodge portion of the hotel and the rooms need to be remodeled and cleaned. They were quite dirty. I have stayed in the main part of the hotel and been perfectly happy, but they were booked so they could not move me to that part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island
Jun 30, 2008

Noise

We checked in on Sunday afternoon. My husband is 87 and has mobility problems. The handicapped entrance was closed off with someone painting the ceiling. He did not move and grudgingly agreed to let me pull in and then back out. Checkin was fine. All afternoon we heard a constant jackhammer. They were tearing up floors to put in new pipes, we were told. They said it would continue until 7PM, but it stopped a little after 5PM. The next morning there was a meager continental breakfast with no fruit juice, and we were charged $5.95 each for a muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanna and Jeff
Business
Summerville, South Carolina
Jun 15, 2014

Door would not lock

Shortly after checking in we had to leave for dinner and our door would not lock. Hotel was booked so they could not switch our room. The maintaince man had left for the day and could not be back for 1 hour. We had to take all of our stuff with us to dinner. The door was fixed when we got back. Staff did apologize. The hotel could use some updating also. Would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
madelk
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Aug 3, 2014

Going thru changes

I have stayed here twice before and have has good stays both times,but this time things have changed. The desk help was nice but my room either was barely cleaned or not cleaned until talking to the staff. The restaurant is closed for remodeling, thats understandable but the bar is still open. The bartender opened late both nights I tried to go and was more interested in her Iphone than serving the guests. I hope after all the changes at the hotel it gets back to its former good choice in Colunbia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top