$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
55 reviews
All good

The stay was pleasant and the rooms were very clean. See full review

  • Botime
  • Oct 13, 2014
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheray3
Business
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsRoofer
Business
Fayetteville, NC
May 14, 2009

Seminar trip - Columbia

Enjoyed the room. It was spacious and clean. Nothing was missing. Top 10 of my list. I would stay here again if going back to Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Clarion Hotel Town House Downtown

Very nice hotel conveniently located to USC and the Vista. Very good staff. I would return and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hollandsmom
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great location and hotel!

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the University of South Carolina. It was a very beautiful and immaculate hotel with much southern charm. The staff and food were fantastic and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rominick
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2007

Very close to food< banks and schools

Clarion was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendy's is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 7, 2011

Compact, downtown hotel

We checked in late -10pm but everything was ready in our room, including my 8 month old baby's cradle. The staff is kind and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The University of South Carolina is close by and there are nice and cheap eateries around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sorin
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Oct 10, 2011

a good place

Room was very clean, staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRIZZO
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Oct 21, 2011

Nice Place & Friendly People

Casual restaurant, lounge, entertainment, pool. Don't have to leave , but they do offer shuttles to other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBestT
Business
Buford, GA
Jan 9, 2012

Great trip to Columbia

Hotel was nice. Perfect location for us. The only issue I had was a cold shower on Sunday Morning. I mentioned it to the front desk when I checked out and was told possibly everyone was showering at the same time and the hot water heater was 'over compensating'. Restaurant had great food and drinks !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top