$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
84 reviews
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st... See full review

  • sheray3
  • Aug 9, 2011
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy loads of freebies including happy hour snacks, high-speed wireless Internet, and convenient local and airport shuttle service. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle totes guests to the airport, Historic Vista District and Five Points District
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Free happy hour snacks (Monday to Thursday)
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, sundeck, sauna
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms and suites are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Clarion Hotel Downtown guests have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center and outdoor swimming pool.

 

While attractions like USC, shops, cafes and museums are within walking distance, guests who want to take it easy can board the free area shuttle. Getting to and from Columbia Metropolitan Airport is a cinch with the free airport shuttle. Clarion Hotel Downtown offers complimentary parking.

Dining

Carolina's Restaurant at the Clarion Hotel Downtown crafts Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and Sunday brunch buffets are especially popular where guests enjoy omelets, waffles, salads, seafood and desserts. Room service is available.

 

Freshly baked cookies await travelers upon check-in. Carolina's Lounge serves free happy hour snacks from Monday to Thursday, and patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hollandsmom
Bethlehem, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great location and hotel!

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the University of South Carolina. It was a very beautiful and immaculate hotel with much southern charm. The staff and food were fantastic and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hollandsmom
Bethlehem, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great location and hotel!

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the University of South Carolina. It was a very beautiful and immaculate hotel with much southern charm. The staff and food were fantastic and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsRoofer
Business
Fayetteville, NC
May 14, 2009

Seminar trip - Columbia

Enjoyed the room. It was spacious and clean. Nothing was missing. Top 10 of my list. I would stay here again if going back to Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great breakfast.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheray3
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Clarion Hotel Town House Downtown

Very nice hotel conveniently located to USC and the Vista. Very good staff. I would return and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Clarion Hotel Town House Downtown

Very nice hotel conveniently located to USC and the Vista. Very good staff. I would return and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrsRoofer
Business
Fayetteville, NC
May 14, 2009

Seminar trip - Columbia

Enjoyed the room. It was spacious and clean. Nothing was missing. Top 10 of my list. I would stay here again if going back to Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great breakfast.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairport, N.Y.
Dec 16, 2009

Hotel Clarion Downtown Columbia

I was there for the graduation of my son from U. South Carolina. The location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top