$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Good overall

Staff are friendly. Ample parking spaces which is hard to find in Columbia. See full review

  • KD6658
  • Nov 16, 2014
All good

The stay was pleasant and the rooms were very clean. See full review

  • Botime
  • Oct 13, 2014
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanna and Jeff
Business
Summerville, South Carolina
Jun 15, 2014

Door would not lock

Shortly after checking in we had to leave for dinner and our door would not lock. Hotel was booked so they could not switch our room. The maintaince man had left for the day and could not be back for 1 hour. We had to take all of our stuff with us to dinner. The door was fixed when we got back. Staff did apologize. The hotel could use some updating also. Would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gamecock31
Business
Charleston
Oct 28, 2013

great location

The hotel is located in a great spot for Columbia. The TV and cable provided was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 points for the younger crowd and the vista for a older crowd provides for great bar experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Non Partier Guest
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 1, 2013

Do yourself a favor, and stay someplace else

We had to stay in Columbia, but I wish I had driven home. There were parties to 3:30 am. Running in the hallways, screaming, slamming doors and basic drunken rudeness. When I called the front desk I was told if I couldn't tell where the noise was coming from he couldn't help me. Worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 6, 2009

No complaints.

I stayed here for one night while I went to visit the University of South Carolina. I really just needed a clean hotel that was located near USC and that wasnt too expensive. This hotel was everything that I needed. The staff was very friendly and hospitable and the rooms were clean. It was in the perfect location to visit USC as well. The only reason I gave this a 4 and not a 5 is becuase there is some room for improvement in the overall condition of the hotel. It was very clean but you can tell that the building and rooms are old and little things are falling apart here and there. Also, the walls are thin and you can hear people in their rooms. But, overall, we had a nice stay there and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kathferr
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 4, 2009

Terrific value for downtown hotel

reasonable hotel in downtown Columbia, outstanding staff (from front desk down to cleaning and maintenance staff). Terrific price for what you get. Has the feel of an upscale, downtown hotel for a suburban motel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pawleys Island
Jun 30, 2008

Noise

We checked in on Sunday afternoon. My husband is 87 and has mobility problems. The handicapped entrance was closed off with someone painting the ceiling. He did not move and grudgingly agreed to let me pull in and then back out. Checkin was fine. All afternoon we heard a constant jackhammer. They were tearing up floors to put in new pipes, we were told. They said it would continue until 7PM, but it stopped a little after 5PM. The next morning there was a meager continental breakfast with no fruit juice, and we were charged $5.95 each for a muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top