$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
84 reviews
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st... See full review

  • sheray3
  • Aug 9, 2011
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy loads of freebies including happy hour snacks, high-speed wireless Internet, and convenient local and airport shuttle service. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle totes guests to the airport, Historic Vista District and Five Points District
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Free happy hour snacks (Monday to Thursday)
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, sundeck, sauna
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms and suites are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Clarion Hotel Downtown guests have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center and outdoor swimming pool.

 

While attractions like USC, shops, cafes and museums are within walking distance, guests who want to take it easy can board the free area shuttle. Getting to and from Columbia Metropolitan Airport is a cinch with the free airport shuttle. Clarion Hotel Downtown offers complimentary parking.

Dining

Carolina's Restaurant at the Clarion Hotel Downtown crafts Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and Sunday brunch buffets are especially popular where guests enjoy omelets, waffles, salads, seafood and desserts. Room service is available.

 

Freshly baked cookies await travelers upon check-in. Carolina's Lounge serves free happy hour snacks from Monday to Thursday, and patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gameday Travelers
Columbia, SC
Sep 11, 2012

Room was a Disaster

Blood Stains on the Sheets. Drain was clogged in the bathroom so taking a shower turned into a bathtub full of water that wouldn't drain for the next person to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Non Partier Guest
Augusta, GA
Jan 1, 2013

Do yourself a favor, and stay someplace else

We had to stay in Columbia, but I wish I had driven home. There were parties to 3:30 am. Running in the hallways, screaming, slamming doors and basic drunken rudeness. When I called the front desk I was told if I couldn't tell where the noise was coming from he couldn't help me. Worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dk
Augusta, GA
Nov 3, 2010

average

The place looked dingy from the outside, it could use a little improvement (i.e. cleaning, new paint job) and bathroom definitely needs some work done...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Jillian's is about 2-3 miles away.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pawleys Island
Jun 30, 2008

Noise

We checked in on Sunday afternoon. My husband is 87 and has mobility problems. The handicapped entrance was closed off with someone painting the ceiling. He did not move and grudgingly agreed to let me pull in and then back out. Checkin was fine. All afternoon we heard a constant jackhammer. They were tearing up floors to put in new pipes, we were told. They said it would continue until 7PM, but it stopped a little after 5PM. The next morning there was a meager continental breakfast with no fruit juice, and we were charged $5.95 each for a muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanna and Jeff
Summerville, South Carolina
Jun 15, 2014

Door would not lock

Shortly after checking in we had to leave for dinner and our door would not lock. Hotel was booked so they could not switch our room. The maintaince man had left for the day and could not be back for 1 hour. We had to take all of our stuff with us to dinner. The door was fixed when we got back. Staff did apologize. The hotel could use some updating also. Would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
High Point, NC
Jun 27, 2011

Room not so clean

We had a great orientation visit to USC. The hotel location was great, but our room was in the motor lodge portion of the hotel and the rooms need to be remodeled and cleaned. They were quite dirty. I have stayed in the main part of the hotel and been perfectly happy, but they were booked so they could not move me to that part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pawleys Island
Jun 30, 2008

Noise

We checked in on Sunday afternoon. My husband is 87 and has mobility problems. The handicapped entrance was closed off with someone painting the ceiling. He did not move and grudgingly agreed to let me pull in and then back out. Checkin was fine. All afternoon we heard a constant jackhammer. They were tearing up floors to put in new pipes, we were told. They said it would continue until 7PM, but it stopped a little after 5PM. The next morning there was a meager continental breakfast with no fruit juice, and we were charged $5.95 each for a muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
High Point, NC
Jun 27, 2011

Room not so clean

We had a great orientation visit to USC. The hotel location was great, but our room was in the motor lodge portion of the hotel and the rooms need to be remodeled and cleaned. They were quite dirty. I have stayed in the main part of the hotel and been perfectly happy, but they were booked so they could not move me to that part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top