$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBestT
Family
Buford, GA
Jan 9, 2012

Great trip to Columbia

Hotel was nice. Perfect location for us. The only issue I had was a cold shower on Sunday Morning. I mentioned it to the front desk when I checked out and was told possibly everyone was showering at the same time and the hot water heater was 'over compensating'. Restaurant had great food and drinks !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The C's
Family
Denver, CO
May 20, 2011

Nathan's Army Basic Training

Missed not having free contenital breakfast and free drink hour. I though I read it in the hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Family
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 21, 2011

Satisfactory

Travelers who want to take the hotel's complimentary shuttle from the airport should be aware that no pick-ups are available after 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndreaB
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 24, 2011

Southern Comfort

The location and design of the hotel was magnificant and fit very well in the culture of the community. It's not too far from bars, restaurants and sites of interest. I wish I had more time to visit and explore the features of the hotel (which were sufficient) and the downtown area. There was a small issue with a bug but I believe it's synonymous with the South. However, rooms and hotel (inside/out) were clean. Great mix of young and old, business and pleasure visitors in the area which made dining/entertaining fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wear flat shoes--there is plenty of enjoyable walking.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ridgeville sc
Dec 14, 2010

queen

breakfast to expensive friends had free breakfast at their hotel I paid 18.60 for 2

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 29, 2010

Clarion Downtown

Although the Hotel was clean, it wasn't at the usual high standards of the Clarion family- however the Hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable and was very accomodating- they bent over backwards to help us with any and all our needs. They were friendly,polite and helpful. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

They serve a late night brunch from 10 pm to 2 am, that great food and great service and great variety. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

It was ok

The room served it's purpose, price was ok, and the staff was very nice. If you are just passing through it is fine - but don't put it on any "luxury" lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2010

Convenient for USC Student visit

We arrived past midnight due to flight delay and the front desk was very understanding and awaiting our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient to USC for early morning tours for prospective students

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Family
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top