$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
58 reviews
great stay

very good experience here at this hotel. good location, good service. See full review

  • Matthew V.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Great time fun

Sweet location. Good for sleeping, getting ready and hitting up the town. Now really luxury. See full review

  • J.119
  • Jan 15, 2015
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheray3
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ridgeville sc
Dec 14, 2010

queen

breakfast to expensive friends had free breakfast at their hotel I paid 18.60 for 2

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 29, 2010

Clarion Downtown

Although the Hotel was clean, it wasn't at the usual high standards of the Clarion family- however the Hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable and was very accomodating- they bent over backwards to help us with any and all our needs. They were friendly,polite and helpful. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They serve a late night brunch from 10 pm to 2 am, that great food and great service and great variety. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dk
Business
Augusta, GA
Nov 3, 2010

average

The place looked dingy from the outside, it could use a little improvement (i.e. cleaning, new paint job) and bathroom definitely needs some work done...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Jillian's is about 2-3 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

It was ok

The room served it's purpose, price was ok, and the staff was very nice. If you are just passing through it is fine - but don't put it on any "luxury" lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2010

Convenient for USC Student visit

We arrived past midnight due to flight delay and the front desk was very understanding and awaiting our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient to USC for early morning tours for prospective students

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floppy McBluff
Business
SC
May 28, 2010

Really good value

Stayed for one night on business and felt it was a great value compared to other hotels in the area. It was clean, comfortable and had a good breakfast. The staff were friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants 8 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hmusgrove
Business
Athens, GA
May 10, 2010

Clarion Hotel Downtown

We attended a graduation ceremony at USC so this hotel was very convenient. It was within walking distance to restaurants, shops, campus, etc. The staff were very nice and attentive. The food was EXCELLENT. I highly recommend their restaurant. We stayed in a suite, and the room was decent but the carpet was really dirty. It turned the bottom of our feet black! The beds were really hard, but the shower was huge and had a jacuzzi tub, which kind of made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Taylor
Business
Johnson City, Tn.
Apr 11, 2010

Nice room an clean for the price

I would stay again, the room was clean an the price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top