$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndreaB
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 24, 2011

Southern Comfort

The location and design of the hotel was magnificant and fit very well in the culture of the community. It's not too far from bars, restaurants and sites of interest. I wish I had more time to visit and explore the features of the hotel (which were sufficient) and the downtown area. There was a small issue with a bug but I believe it's synonymous with the South. However, rooms and hotel (inside/out) were clean. Great mix of young and old, business and pleasure visitors in the area which made dining/entertaining fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wear flat shoes--there is plenty of enjoyable walking.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ridgeville sc
Dec 14, 2010

queen

breakfast to expensive friends had free breakfast at their hotel I paid 18.60 for 2

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 29, 2010

Clarion Downtown

Although the Hotel was clean, it wasn't at the usual high standards of the Clarion family- however the Hotel staff made our stay extremely comfortable and was very accomodating- they bent over backwards to help us with any and all our needs. They were friendly,polite and helpful. I would stay there again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They serve a late night brunch from 10 pm to 2 am, that great food and great service and great variety. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Oct 11, 2010

It was ok

The room served it's purpose, price was ok, and the staff was very nice. If you are just passing through it is fine - but don't put it on any "luxury" lists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 16, 2010

Convenient for USC Student visit

We arrived past midnight due to flight delay and the front desk was very understanding and awaiting our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient to USC for early morning tours for prospective students

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, sc
Jun 16, 2010

broken AC at 2am!

we woke up around 2am to find the place 87 degrees i booked on [...] and left my inferno. once we got there we were upgraded to better room. cant beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dead Tired Tim
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Never Again

Slaming doors until 2:30 am and loud drunks untill 4:am. Unable to sleep packed my bags and left at 5:30 am. What a waste of money and life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floppy McBluff
Business
SC
May 28, 2010

Really good value

Stayed for one night on business and felt it was a great value compared to other hotels in the area. It was clean, comfortable and had a good breakfast. The staff were friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants 8 blocks

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hmusgrove
Business
Athens, GA
May 10, 2010

Clarion Hotel Downtown

We attended a graduation ceremony at USC so this hotel was very convenient. It was within walking distance to restaurants, shops, campus, etc. The staff were very nice and attentive. The food was EXCELLENT. I highly recommend their restaurant. We stayed in a suite, and the room was decent but the carpet was really dirty. It turned the bottom of our feet black! The beds were really hard, but the shower was huge and had a jacuzzi tub, which kind of made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Taylor
Business
Johnson City, Tn.
Apr 11, 2010

Nice room an clean for the price

I would stay again, the room was clean an the price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top