$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Preston5280
Business
Colorado
Jul 27, 2012

Nothing Special

I've stayed at worse places, and I've stayed at better. If you're looking for a basic roof over your head while you're in town, this place has you covered, so to speak. If you're looking for a resort style hotel with great amenities and you don't plan on leaving the hotel grounds often, it's probably not your best choice. Overall, the price is more expensive than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheBestT
Business
Buford, GA
Jan 9, 2012

Great trip to Columbia

Hotel was nice. Perfect location for us. The only issue I had was a cold shower on Sunday Morning. I mentioned it to the front desk when I checked out and was told possibly everyone was showering at the same time and the hot water heater was 'over compensating'. Restaurant had great food and drinks !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eodus
Business
Indiana
Nov 20, 2011

Cozy and ...

Well.. This hotel was cozy and convenient. It was good except the internet speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FRIZZO
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Oct 21, 2011

Nice Place & Friendly People

Casual restaurant, lounge, entertainment, pool. Don't have to leave , but they do offer shuttles to other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mdjef
Business
India
Oct 19, 2011

Demand for better rooms

1) Allocated outside rooms near parking, though I do not know their basis of descrimination even though the rooms were available inside the hotel. 2) Charged 25$ higher even though i have booked a week before. My colleague was charged 25$ LESS for on the spot check-in In a nut shell charged higher and provided outside rooms. Just thinking, this treatment because i booked through orbitz ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sorin
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Oct 10, 2011

a good place

Room was very clean, staff was friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point, NC
Jun 27, 2011

Room not so clean

We had a great orientation visit to USC. The hotel location was great, but our room was in the motor lodge portion of the hotel and the rooms need to be remodeled and cleaned. They were quite dirty. I have stayed in the main part of the hotel and been perfectly happy, but they were booked so they could not move me to that part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The C's
Business
Denver, CO
May 20, 2011

Nathan's Army Basic Training

Missed not having free contenital breakfast and free drink hour. I though I read it in the hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Constant Business Traveler
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
May 5, 2011

Average

Room fairly clean, front desk clerk helpful and polite. Room had a dying roach on the carpet near the desk - I put a garbage can over it. This location near the State House and The University of South Carolina will always draw guests. This would be the main positive of the facility. Exterior corridors are never safe. Consider this before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants, bars, entertainment venues and university buildings are nearby. However, under no circumstances would I feel safe walking after dark in this area of Columbia. Plan for driving, a taxi, or for being robbed if you walk.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 21, 2011

Satisfactory

Travelers who want to take the hotel's complimentary shuttle from the airport should be aware that no pick-ups are available after 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top