$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Good overall

Staff are friendly. Ample parking spaces which is hard to find in Columbia. See full review

  • KD6658
  • Nov 16, 2014
All good

The stay was pleasant and the rooms were very clean. See full review

  • Botime
  • Oct 13, 2014
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet and newspaper. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center and meeting rooms that can host up to 500 people.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for up to 500 people
  • Fitness center 
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Guest at Clarion Hotel Downtown have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center. The property also holds corporate and social gathering at the event space on site. Complimentary parking is likewise available for added convenience.

Dining

Diners at Clarion Hotel Downtown start the day with delicious breakfast served in the lobby. Patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game at the Carolina's Lounge.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheray3
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KD6658
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 16, 2014

Good overall

Staff are friendly. Ample parking spaces which is hard to find in Columbia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Botime
Business
CLT
Oct 13, 2014

All good

The stay was pleasant and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
madelk
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Aug 3, 2014

Going thru changes

I have stayed here twice before and have has good stays both times,but this time things have changed. The desk help was nice but my room either was barely cleaned or not cleaned until talking to the staff. The restaurant is closed for remodeling, thats understandable but the bar is still open. The bartender opened late both nights I tried to go and was more interested in her Iphone than serving the guests. I hope after all the changes at the hotel it gets back to its former good choice in Colunbia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanna and Jeff
Business
Summerville, South Carolina
Jun 15, 2014

Door would not lock

Shortly after checking in we had to leave for dinner and our door would not lock. Hotel was booked so they could not switch our room. The maintaince man had left for the day and could not be back for 1 hour. We had to take all of our stuff with us to dinner. The door was fixed when we got back. Staff did apologize. The hotel could use some updating also. Would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wfhrace
Business
allenyown pa
Dec 19, 2013

nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a Hooding at USC. Also your house keepers who served my room, 108, were Very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gamecock31
Business
Charleston
Oct 28, 2013

great location

The hotel is located in a great spot for Columbia. The TV and cable provided was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 points for the younger crowd and the vista for a older crowd provides for great bar experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AppalachianWoman
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2013

Maybe older facility but rooms are large

I stayed in a garden room. The drapes and carpeting were tired but it was a huge room and a huge bathroom. The one really aggravating thing was that the list of TV channels in the room were totally different than what was actually on the TV - so you had to hunt for your shows. The location is excellent if you have business on the USC campus (which I did and which is why I was staying there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy4
Business
Charlotte
Sep 20, 2013

Good value for the price.

The location was ideal as it was close to USC. The hotel was nice enough, but the carpets looked tired and stained. A good value for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant selection in the Vista area, just at the other end of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top