$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Clarion Hotel Downtown

3 stars
1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
52 reviews
nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a... See full review

  • wfhrace
  • Dec 19, 2013
sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st... See full review

  • sheray3
  • Aug 9, 2011
Pet-friendly hotel near USC with free shuttle service and a pool

The Clarion Hotel Downtown in Columbia, SC is located just a short walk from the University of South Carolina and Columbia Museum of Art, and minutes from the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Guests staying at the Clarion Hotel Downtown enjoy loads of freebies including happy hour snacks, high-speed wireless Internet, and convenient local and airport shuttle service. This pet-friendly hotel also offers a fitness center, sauna, sundeck and seasonal outdoor pool.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle totes guests to the airport, Historic Vista District and Five Points District
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Free happy hour snacks (Monday to Thursday)
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, sundeck, sauna
Rooms

Clarion Hotel Downtown rooms and suites are modern, and decorated in green and champagne shades. Accommodations offer one king, two queen or two double beds. Amenities include coffee-makers, free weekday newspapers, works desks and cable TV. Suites offer sofa beds, wet bars and microwaves, and some have Jacuzzi tubs. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet.

Features

Clarion Hotel Downtown guests have work out options with an air-conditioned fitness center and outdoor swimming pool.

 

While attractions like USC, shops, cafes and museums are within walking distance, guests who want to take it easy can board the free area shuttle. Getting to and from Columbia Metropolitan Airport is a cinch with the free airport shuttle. Clarion Hotel Downtown offers complimentary parking.

Dining

Carolina's Restaurant at the Clarion Hotel Downtown crafts Southern cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch and Sunday brunch buffets are especially popular where guests enjoy omelets, waffles, salads, seafood and desserts. Room service is available.

 

Freshly baked cookies await travelers upon check-in. Carolina's Lounge serves free happy hour snacks from Monday to Thursday, and patrons can enjoy drink specials and microbrews while watching the game.

Transportation
  • Greyhound depot (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Free airport and area shuttle
Attractions
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • South Carolina State Museum (1.3 mi/3.1 km)
  • Capitol Shopping Center (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Fort Jackson (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Business
  • 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 500 guests
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audiovisual equipment and catering services available
  • Guest lobby computers available
Policies and fees

Pets allowed, $60 USD per stay. Maximum 1 pet per room, 25 pounds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

34.0036 -81.0264
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro. Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, 1 blk USC/CAPITL

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolina Coliseum: 0.8 mi
  • Colonial Life Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Williams-Brice Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Fort Jackson: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

5
sheray3
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2011

sheray3

I traveled with my daughter she is attending her freshman year at Benedict College for the 1st year. We really didn't tour the city that much because we had to shop for the dorm, but would like to have some information due to her being new to the city. We did go to the Comedy House for comedian show, and it was awesome. This hotel was very convient because the College was basically two street over. I enjoyed the hotel food service awesome, hospitality of the workers very helpful, cleanliness of rooms, and most of all I got a chance to swim and use the fitness center. I'll be back soon. I really wanted to go to gifts shops, but time was limited with her, and didn't want to do it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was just a short walk away, restaurant and even shopping.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

4
wfhrace
allenyown pa
Dec 19, 2013

nice stay

The hotel is showing some age, outside of that it was a veryy nice place to stay to attended a Hooding at USC. Also your house keepers who served my room, 108, were Very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
Gamecock31
Charleston
Oct 28, 2013

great location

The hotel is located in a great spot for Columbia. The TV and cable provided was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 points for the younger crowd and the vista for a older crowd provides for great bar experiences.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
AppalachianWoman
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2013

Maybe older facility but rooms are large

I stayed in a garden room. The drapes and carpeting were tired but it was a huge room and a huge bathroom. The one really aggravating thing was that the list of TV channels in the room were totally different than what was actually on the TV - so you had to hunt for your shows. The location is excellent if you have business on the USC campus (which I did and which is why I was staying there).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
Sandy4
Charlotte
Sep 20, 2013

Good value for the price.

The location was ideal as it was close to USC. The hotel was nice enough, but the carpets looked tired and stained. A good value for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant selection in the Vista area, just at the other end of the street.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
Tee Thymes Two
Business
Bluffton, South Carolina
Jun 6, 2013

Business Trip

Overall the accommodations were average. I was disappointed that the room was on the outside perimeter. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always been accommodated within the main hotel. The rooms were tired and depressing, dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ruth Chris was very close by!

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
CycloneDrew
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 24, 2013

Just OK

The main hotel building is nice but unfortunately my room was in the separate "motel" building which wasn't as nice. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled within the past 5-10 year and was clean but the rest of the room needed some updating. There may also be a bug problem as I found a couple of dead cockroaches in my room the last morning I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

3
shelbyandfords
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 18, 2013

Good Value & Location

Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and pesonable. Wirelss is pretty fast and reliable throughout the hotel. Room service is just passable, the breakfast buffet is just OK, and the eggs are powdered! Rooms need more elctrical outlets, there is maybe 2 in the room, no accomidation for a phone and computer charger, without unpluggng a light. Lights are a bit dim in the rooms. Overall a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hunters & Gatherers. Great Micorbrewery and food.

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Non Partier Guest
Augusta, GA
Jan 1, 2013

Do yourself a favor, and stay someplace else

We had to stay in Columbia, but I wish I had driven home. There were parties to 3:30 am. Running in the hallways, screaming, slamming doors and basic drunken rudeness. When I called the front desk I was told if I couldn't tell where the noise was coming from he couldn't help me. Worst experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

2
LampCord
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 21, 2012

Dark & Dreary

On the upside, the staff was attentive and friendly. And the price was inexpensive relative to other Clarion properties I have stayed in. If my wife had been with me, I doubt we would have stayed more than one night. My room was in the back side of the main hotel in the U-block of rooms behind a parking lot. While the room was spacious, room lighting was depressingly ineffective, and given the open walkways, window curtains had to be kept closed for privacy. A small writing table served as a desk for my small laptop. The wireless internet access was good. On the down-side, the couch on the west wall had no side-tables or lamps. So i moved the coffee table to three feet in front of the old fashioned cathode-ray TV which was was tucked into a massive cabinet placed on the north wall, sat in one of the chairs to watch TV because it was awkward to watch TV from the couch...and it was impossible to watch TV from the bed. The small remote was functional but the Closed Caption option wasn't functional which may be a deal breaker for those who take advantage of the captioning. A Channel guide would have been nice. In-wall Under window by the TV an in-wall window Heat/AC unit was incredibly noisy on the lowest cool setting..for which captioning would have been helpful. Both straight-back chairs were stained. I am sure this was a much nicer property twenty years ago. In 2012, it is clearly dated and lacking. If you are considering this hotel I suggest you Inspect your room before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Gameday Travelers
Columbia, SC
Sep 11, 2012

Room was a Disaster

Blood Stains on the Sheets. Drain was clogged in the bathroom so taking a shower turned into a bathtub full of water that wouldn't drain for the next person to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top