$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Restoration on King

4 stars
75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.9
out of 5
9 reviews
Customer service still exists

Great hotel with beautiful rooms and more than anything great staff. See full review

  • Twelve
  • Jul 31, 2014
Best place to stay in Charleston !

The time we spent at Restoration on King was great from beginning to end . The staff were polite... See full review

  • Johnny c
  • May 21, 2014
Exclusive and restored hotel with quintessential Charleston atmosphere
The Restoration on King impresses visitors with beautifully restored hotel facilities in an ideal location in downtown Charleston, where guests easily walk to many of the popular attractions such as shops, sights and restaurants. The Restoration on King provides guests with an impressive array of services, including a number of inclusive extras, such as wine and cheese evenings, wireless Internet, in-room continental breakfast, and access to a nearby athletic club.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Ideal location overlooking King Street shops in historic downtown Charleston, South Carolina
  • Superior service with complimentary extras, such as wireless Internet and athletic club access
  • Luxury apartment accommodation with all the advantages and service of a top class of hotel
The Restoration on King Rooms
The spacious suites at the Restoration on King offer beautifully restored luxury with original wooden flooring in the heart of historic Charleston, offering accommodations that are full of character and complemented by excellent service. Guests in the fully equipped hotel suites also enjoy a range of complimentary services, with a gourmet continental breakfast delivered by room service, free wireless Internet access, a free morning newspaper, and a personal grocery delivery and restocking service. Characteristics such as exposed brick architecture blend seamlessly in a top-notch location that offers views over the shopping area of historic King Street. The dramatic living spaces at the Restoration on King give the feel of exclusive apartments combined with the convenience and amenities of a deluxe hotel. Add to this the highest quality of service, and guests at the Restoration on King enjoy the finest of residential experiences available to visitors to Charleston.
Things To Do:
  • Charleston Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charleston City Market (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Marion Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Restoration on King also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Restoration on King Rooms

Luxury Two Bedroom Suite with Pa
Luxury Two Bedroom Suite with Patio
Luxury One Bedroom Suite
Luxury One Bedroom Suite
Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Pa
Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Patio
Luxury Two Bedroom Suite
Luxury Two Bedroom Suite

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.5 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.6 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.4 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.5 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.6 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.7 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.8 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.8 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.6 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.3 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.5 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.3 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Restoration on King

Overall score

4.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twelve
Business
Alexandria va
Jul 31, 2014

Customer service still exists

Great hotel with beautiful rooms and more than anything great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny c
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
May 21, 2014

Best place to stay in Charleston !

The time we spent at Restoration on King was great from beginning to end . The staff were polite and very attentive . The Hotel is a cool boutique hotel . There are currently only 16 rooms . The suite was very large ,more like a one bedroom apartment unlike many suites it had a full kitchen with all full size appliances including an oven ,the bed was very comfortable with upscale linens .the decorating was very nice a loft contemporary type of feel. The location is in the heart of all of the action with many restaurants ,stores and all of the attractions within walking distance. If you were to stay here you don't really need a rental car . We had agreat experience . Will return to the hotel the next time we visit Charleston !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with a rental car . This hotel is in the middle of all the restaurants ,stores and walking distance to most of the sights .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa needs a vacation
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 22, 2014

Perfect!

We absolutely loved our stay here. We had a 1 bedroom suite. It had a fashionable kitchen (stainless steel etc), a large living room, huge bathroom and master bed. The stay included a free breakfast every day as well as a newspaper delivered to our door. We had access to an apple tv and an ipad. They serve wine and cheese everyday at 5pm and freshly baked cookies at 8pm. The location is perfect for being in the historic district. Shopping and restaurants everywhere and no need for a car (in fact, I wouldn't recommend it here-you'll pay more in parking fees than it's worth). Honestly, I don't even know if I'd consider staying anywhere else if we go back to Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amcv
Business
middle village, ny
Sep 26, 2013

Great Place

The hotel is beautiful, small and personalized. A place where everyone knows your name. The rooms are huge and beautiful set up as individual apartments with complete kitchens. The breakfast is left at your door in a basket (basic continental faire). It is a nice touch. There is wine and cheese in the early evening and then cookies in the late evening. Everyone is willing to help you pick out restaurants, sites to see etc. All in all a superior place to stay well worth the pricetag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hominy grill for the best shrimp with grits I had during my stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen L.
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 4, 2013

Even better than the website

This hotel was AMAZING - beautiful large clean room, full kitchen, nice decent size bathroom and lots of little extras like (free) water and sodas in the fridge, coffee (and full size coffee maker), breakfast (of your choice) delivered each morning in a picnic basket, wine and cheese hour, cookies and milk in the evening. It was everything the website promised and even better in reality! I always try to stay in nice hotels, but I can honestly say this is the first hotel that I had a hard time dragging myself away from - normally it's all about the place I'm visiting - this time I wanted to just lounge and enjoy! On top of all that, the entire staff was friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. I definitely plan to return - next year if not sooner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The waterfront park is just a few blocks past the end of the Market and is a great place to walk or sit and just enjoy the view AND I saw dolphins swimming by numerous times of day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mokeefe
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Very comfortable stay

I wouldn't mind living there. The suite has everything you need. My only minor issue was that I could hear people walking in the suite above. Try to get a room on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to make reservations at Husk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Jul 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel but... paper-thin walls

Fantastic lofts... really more like condos than a hotel. Service is excellent, as is the location. The picnic basket breakfasts delivered to your door are included and a great way to start the day. The only problem - and it's a big one - is that the walls do little to nothing to stop sound from passing from one unit to the next. You can literally hear people setting down their silverware on the granite counter tops in the unit beside you. The noise from King Street below can be loud, as well... although that was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Nov 1, 2010

Loved the Restoration on King!

We loved staying here, it felt like home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great, walking distance for all of the best shopping & dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Restoration on King

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Oct 19, 2010

Amazing experience - highly recommend!

This hotel was an amazing find for me and my husband. We visited Charleston for the first time earlier this month (10/3 - 10/7) and had no idea where to stay - and not a lot of time to research in advance. While many of the more "classic" inns looked nice, they just did not feel like the right "vibe" for us. We live in the NYC area and wanted something with a young, fun vibe - but offering all the luxuries of a deluxe hotel. The Restoration on King fit the bill 100%. The staff were amazing - so friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The "room" was spectacular - we felt like we had borrowed a friend's luxury apartment! Tons of space - full kitchen with all the ammenities, living room with huge flat screen TV and same in the bedroom, amazingly comfortable bed with "like home" linens, washer / dryer, etc etc. The list goes on. Continental breakfast every morning (basically whatever you want) delivered to the room and set up in the kitchen - with real plates and silverware. Milk and homemade cookies delivered to the room each night. Wine and cheese in the lobby or on the rooftop lounge area every night. Generous bags of chocolate covered almods or pecans on the bed each night as part of the turn down service. Everything was amazingly clean and the housekeeping service was second to none - they would even come back to empty the dishwasher after it was done running! And from a location perspective - PERFECT. Right in the heart of King Street - our view from the huge picture windows in the living room was right on to King Street. If you are familiar with Boston, this would be like staying in a luxury apartment on Newbury Street. And an easy and enjoyable walk to pretty much anywhere you would ever want to go in Charleston. Fantastic, fantastic experience - definitely one of the best, most comfortable places we have ever stayed - and we have stayed in several luxury restorts in a wide variety of locations. We cannot recommend The Restoration on King highly enough - a fantastic place to stay when visiting Charleston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top