$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
115 Meeting Street, PO BOX 1013, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
95 reviews
Relaxing getaway in the heart of Charleston's historic district

This hotel was in the perfect location for all or most of the best destinations in Charleston -... See full review

  • Exploring History
  • Mar 31, 2014
Location, Location, Location

The hotel is quite nice but it was the location in the center of this walking town that was great... See full review

  • Red Devon
  • Jun 4, 2014
Charleston hotel with pool combines modern luxuries with historic charm
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel combines opulent accommodations, historic ambiance and modern conveniences in the heart of the city's historic district. It is the only hotel on the city's Museum Mile. Boasting Victorian decor, it was originally built as a hotel in 1853. One of Charleston's top restaurants is on the premises and kids eat free. Guests of the Mills House Wyndham Grand enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, sun deck, fitness center and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Courtyard with fountain, sun deck, outdoor pool
  • On-site dining
  • Extensive in-house art collection
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms

 

Rooms
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel provides standard rooms and three types of suites. The suites include wet bars and refrigerators. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel offers three accessible and some connecting rooms. All rooms feature free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel features a courtyard with a 19th-century fountain, sun deck, outdoor swimming pool and a fitness center. Self-parking and valet parking are available (fees apply).
Dining
The on-site Barbadoes Room features regional cuisine in a formal dining room overlooking a fountain. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunches. Kids eat free, when accompanied by an adult hotel guest. Many other restaurants are within a few blocks. Room service is available. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also includes the First Shot and Best Friend lounges.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic City Market and Confederate Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Children's Museum 25 Ann Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

 

Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Two ballrooms and three meeting rooms
  • Rental privileges at adjacent Hibernian Hall, with 6,000 square feet of space and a small stage
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy, print, computer and Internet services

 

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $25 per day plus tax.
  • No pets other than service animals. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7778 -79.9317
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.8 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.6 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alison Carey
Denver, CO
May 27, 2014

Great Location, Nice Staff

I stayed here for Memorial Weekend 2014. Very nice area, with quick access to shopping street (King Street) and quite a few nice places to eat right on Queen street, I recommend Poogans Porch and 82 Queen is okay food but great patio area. Hotel was very clean, nice soap and towels. We had 7th floor very quiet too. Beautiful fountain courtyard outside where you can eat and have drinks, and ample pool. Pool needs umbrellas for shade so you can lay out and not swelter. Valet and desk staff were very attentive. We paid $270 a night for a double room, and got charged $25 a night to valet the vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCMC26
Philadelphia
Mar 24, 2014

Great location, excellent hotel

This hotel is in a great location for people looking to just walk around and tour downtown historic Charleston. The only complaint I would have is that the rooms are a little on the small side, but everything else was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super mom bethmary
San Francisco
Jul 23, 2013

Family vacation

The desk staff was not very helpful. there was an emergency and the call was never put through to our room. The hotel menu was very limited especially for kids. The room was quite small and could have been updated, high price for no view. If I had know it had been recently a Holiday Inn I would not of booked it. Coming from the West Coast I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Fort Sumpter.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hellomarisa
Greenville, SC
Oct 13, 2012

Great location if you plan on seeing the sights.

The staff was polite, aside from rushing me off the phone when I called before my arrival. It had the ambiance of Charleston in the lobby but the room felt a tad dated. Maybe it was because it was so small. My husband, 10 year old, and myself were in each others way a good bit while getting ready but both had a good view of the tv from the bed. It was nice and clean and within walking distance from most things, including Battery Park. The breakfast was very good and our server was pleasant. You are definitely paying for the location though, because my first thought when I saw the room was "I thought it would be nicer".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann from Georgia
Gainesville, Georgia
Jul 20, 2012

Great location

We chose this hotel for the price and location in Charleston. It was within walking distance of most of the locations we wanted to visit. The hotel staff seemed courteous. Room was roomy enough, although the toilet was a bit cranky at times and the balcony overlooked a parking lot. There was also a smell of gas in the lobby, although you couldn't detect it on the upper floors. Overall, a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
royal
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 18, 2011

great location

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are small but manageble for a couple of occupants. Housecleaning overlooked us one day and we were left without clean towels etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 25, 2011

I had expected more

Had read other reviews about parking so anticipated additional charge for valet/parking convenience. Wish I had taken the opportunity to seek out the public parking garage right behind the hotel. It was a bit inconvenient factoring in the 20 minute wait for vehicle retrieval each time we went out. Upon arrival we chose to carry in our luggage. Since we didn't request the services of the bell hops they just watched us and didn't even bother to open the door as we approached. That's one of my issues, holding open the door should be a courtesy afforded to all! Where's the hospitality? Several bulbs were out in the lamps in room. Housekeeping could have been a bit more diligent. (Not very thorough in wiping down bathroom counter.)Dining room opened for breakfast at 7 AM, a bit late for those wishing to get a early start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 25, 2011

I had expected more

Had read other reviews about parking so anticipated additional charge for valet/parking convenience. Wish I had taken the opportunity to seek out the public parking garage right behind the hotel. It was a bit inconvenient factoring in the 20 minute wait for vehicle retrieval each time we went out. Upon arrival we chose to carry in our luggage. Since we didn't request the services of the bell hops they just watched us and didn't even bother to open the door as we approached. That's one of my issues, holding open the door should be a courtesy afforded to all! Where's the hospitality? Several bulbs were out in the lamps in room. Housekeeping could have been a bit more diligent. (Not very thorough in wiping down bathroom counter.)Dining room opened for breakfast at 7 AM, a bit late for those wishing to get a early start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corina & Trevor
London
Aug 26, 2010

A truly amazing place

The finest hotel we have ever stayed in! Our time spent at 'The Mills House Hotel' in Charleston was a truly unforgettable and phenomenal experience. From the moment we entered this fine establishment through to the time we left, we had an amazing time. The interior of this historic hotel was atmospheric and a vision to behold. The rooms are decorated with taste, passion, imagination and flair. Our room was the epitome of comfort and luxury. The breakfast was delicious and the Sunday brunch was great. The sheer individuality and character of this hotel make it 'a must' for anyone to stay! We are in no doubt that we will return to this hotel sometime in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noneyabiz
OH
Apr 4, 2010

Nice and clean

Excellent location 2 blocks from the open market and all the stores. Rooms and beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top