$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
115 Meeting Street, PO BOX 1013, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
66 reviews
Great one night stay

We booked this hotel last minute and though a little on the pricey side we thought the lobby and... See full review

  • Tp726
  • Oct 4, 2014
Beautiful in downtown Charleston

This was my second time in Charleston and during my first trip I fell in love with this hotel just... See full review

  • Elle B
  • Sep 8, 2014
Charleston hotel with pool combines modern luxuries with historic charm
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel combines opulent accommodations, historic ambiance and modern conveniences in the heart of the city's historic district. It is the only hotel on the city's Museum Mile. Boasting Victorian decor, it was originally built as a hotel in 1853. One of Charleston's top restaurants is on the premises and kids eat free. Guests of the Mills House Wyndham Grand enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, sun deck, fitness center and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Courtyard with fountain, sun deck, outdoor pool
  • On-site dining
  • Extensive in-house art collection
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms

 

Rooms
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel provides standard rooms and three types of suites. The suites include wet bars and refrigerators. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel offers three accessible and some connecting rooms. All rooms feature free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel features a courtyard with a 19th-century fountain, sun deck, outdoor swimming pool and a fitness center. Self-parking and valet parking are available (fees apply).
Dining
The on-site Barbadoes Room features regional cuisine in a formal dining room overlooking a fountain. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunches. Kids eat free, when accompanied by an adult hotel guest. Many other restaurants are within a few blocks. Room service is available. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also includes the First Shot and Best Friend lounges.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic City Market and Confederate Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Children's Museum 25 Ann Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

 

Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Two ballrooms and three meeting rooms
  • Rental privileges at adjacent Hibernian Hall, with 6,000 square feet of space and a small stage
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy, print, computer and Internet services

 

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $25 per day plus tax.
  • No pets other than service animals. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.8 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.6 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Lovers
Business
Virginia
Sep 21, 2010

Never again

Never again will I stay at this hotel. I didnt realize that this hotel was so old. The bathrooms are so small only 1 person can fit in it at a time. My husband and I had to take turns. We stayed in a suite which was in the back of the hotel on the 4th floor and a garbge truck came twice about 5am making terrible noises picking up the huge metal garbage containers. Then, next door to the hotel they have construction going on and there are guys out there talking and using equipment as early as 5:30am. I complained to the managers and I ALL I got was "it's not our fault" and the manager named [...]was so rude about it that I vowed never to return. The restaurant in the hotel was empty every nite and we ate there 1 nite and the food was awful!I was talking to some of the employees and they say there is a lot of problems going on and the employees are disgruntled about the way things are being handled. The employee gave my husband and I a delicious bottle of wine and a fruit and cheese tray when she heard about the terrible customer service we recieved which was so nice of her. The location was excellent but the parking was just too expensive. It's not a flat rate fee of 20.00 each day so each time you leave the lot you have to pay. We spent 100.00 for 4 nites at the hotel for parking. I know I can find a better looking, better quality and better parking in Charleston and I will never ever go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the guest
Business
wilmington nc
Sep 19, 2011

lobby nice, rooms not so much

Lobby was nice, very welcoming. Rooms were terrible bathrooms even worse. Pool however looked awesome. Weather didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greer, SC
Aug 13, 2010

I wouldn't recommend....

The hotel lobby area/bar/resturant was very nice. We are not ones who complain but our stay was unpleasant to to put it nicely. Our concerns were voiced to hotel staff and we were advised that we needed to contact [...] seeing that we booked via a 3rd party. I would like to be contacted regarding this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must check out The Kickin Chicken for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Feb 15, 2011

Don't Stay Here!

The location of the hotel is all that it has going for it. The rooms are small especially the bathrooms. The front desk agents were rude and totally uninformed about the area attractions, restaurants, etc. For the price that we paid we were expecting and hoping for a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolia's restaurant is absolutely one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new York, nY
Mar 31, 2010

DON'T STAY AT THE MILLS HOUSE!!

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! they have the worst service! [...] Avoid this hotel at all costs! They collect their money from you and if something happens with your travel plans, they absolutely won't work with you or be at all accomodating. With so many nice hotels in Charleston, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super mom bethmary
Business
San Francisco
Jul 23, 2013

Family vacation

The desk staff was not very helpful. there was an emergency and the call was never put through to our room. The hotel menu was very limited especially for kids. The room was quite small and could have been updated, high price for no view. If I had know it had been recently a Holiday Inn I would not of booked it. Coming from the West Coast I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Fort Sumpter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KDenneau
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 10, 2009

Mills House

The hotel was in a great location for walking to multiple locations. Hotel staff could have been more helpful at times. If you're looking for a place that offers some type of breakfast or continental breakfast items this isn't the place. Coffee was offered outside of the bar during our last day. Rooms were small in comparison to the Francis Marion Hotel where we stayed the first time in Charleston. Thought the Mills House would be a better experience; however, we both felt that FM would have been much nicer even though we would have had to walk a little further to places we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to stay away from valet parking. If you can find parking on the street it's worth it. We ended up taking our car out of the valet and parking on the street for our last day there. If you plan on doing valet or a parking garage then plan on spending at least $25 more a day a day onto your vacation budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, TN
Jul 26, 2010

Hotel was ok

Hotel staff was very unfriendly at the front desk. Hotel website stated they had a recent renovation....was very disappointed by that. Looked like any other room and then to find out it was Holiday Inn. Price was a bit high for a Holiday Inn hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgeway, VA
Jun 9, 2011

"Not Impressed"

Beautiful lobby, patio, restaurant, BUT the room was disappointing. Not the 4 star quality we had expected. Hotel is right in heart of historic district for easy walking/touring, but this hotel was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 24, 2010

Nice Hotel in the Heart of Downtown

Parking was not convenient. The first night I couldn't figure out where to park. Finally found the public garage behind the hotel but I had to navigate through the maze of one-way streets. Valet parking was available but there is no signage to indicate where to drop off your car and I never saw the attendants at their podium outside the lobby. When I used the valet parking on the next 3 nights it was difficult to retrieve my car in the mornings. No one answers the valet extension until 7:00am and one morning it took almost 45 minutes to get my car. The Barbadoes Room has a great bar and friendly staff but the food was mediocre. And the biggest disappointment was the coffee -- it was neither available in the morning or it was bad (the in-room stuff was awful). Luckily I knew of a Starbucks near the office so I just allowed myself extra time each morning to stop for my cup of morning java on my way to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at this hotel you're better off eating at one of the many fabulous restaurants close by, such as 82 Queen for lunch, Anson's for dinner, McCrady's for tapas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top