$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
115 Meeting Street, PO BOX 1013, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
95 reviews
Relaxing getaway in the heart of Charleston's historic district

This hotel was in the perfect location for all or most of the best destinations in Charleston -... See full review

  • Exploring History
  • Mar 31, 2014
Location, Location, Location

The hotel is quite nice but it was the location in the center of this walking town that was great... See full review

  • Red Devon
  • Jun 4, 2014
Charleston hotel with pool combines modern luxuries with historic charm
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel combines opulent accommodations, historic ambiance and modern conveniences in the heart of the city's historic district. It is the only hotel on the city's Museum Mile. Boasting Victorian decor, it was originally built as a hotel in 1853. One of Charleston's top restaurants is on the premises and kids eat free. Guests of the Mills House Wyndham Grand enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, sun deck, fitness center and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Courtyard with fountain, sun deck, outdoor pool
  • On-site dining
  • Extensive in-house art collection
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms

 

Rooms
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel provides standard rooms and three types of suites. The suites include wet bars and refrigerators. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel offers three accessible and some connecting rooms. All rooms feature free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel features a courtyard with a 19th-century fountain, sun deck, outdoor swimming pool and a fitness center. Self-parking and valet parking are available (fees apply).
Dining
The on-site Barbadoes Room features regional cuisine in a formal dining room overlooking a fountain. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunches. Kids eat free, when accompanied by an adult hotel guest. Many other restaurants are within a few blocks. Room service is available. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also includes the First Shot and Best Friend lounges.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic City Market and Confederate Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Children's Museum 25 Ann Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

 

Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Two ballrooms and three meeting rooms
  • Rental privileges at adjacent Hibernian Hall, with 6,000 square feet of space and a small stage
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy, print, computer and Internet services

 

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $25 per day plus tax.
  • No pets other than service animals. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7778 -79.9317
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.1 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.2 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.8 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.6 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greer, SC
Aug 13, 2010

I wouldn't recommend....

The hotel lobby area/bar/resturant was very nice. We are not ones who complain but our stay was unpleasant to to put it nicely. Our concerns were voiced to hotel staff and we were advised that we needed to contact [...] seeing that we booked via a 3rd party. I would like to be contacted regarding this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must check out The Kickin Chicken for lunch.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the guest
wilmington nc
Sep 19, 2011

lobby nice, rooms not so much

Lobby was nice, very welcoming. Rooms were terrible bathrooms even worse. Pool however looked awesome. Weather didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new York, nY
Mar 31, 2010

DON'T STAY AT THE MILLS HOUSE!!

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! they have the worst service! [...] Avoid this hotel at all costs! They collect their money from you and if something happens with your travel plans, they absolutely won't work with you or be at all accomodating. With so many nice hotels in Charleston, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Feb 15, 2011

Don't Stay Here!

The location of the hotel is all that it has going for it. The rooms are small especially the bathrooms. The front desk agents were rude and totally uninformed about the area attractions, restaurants, etc. For the price that we paid we were expecting and hoping for a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolia's restaurant is absolutely one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Highly recommend.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new York, nY
Mar 31, 2010

DON'T STAY AT THE MILLS HOUSE!!

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! they have the worst service! [...] Avoid this hotel at all costs! They collect their money from you and if something happens with your travel plans, they absolutely won't work with you or be at all accomodating. With so many nice hotels in Charleston, don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Feb 15, 2011

Don't Stay Here!

The location of the hotel is all that it has going for it. The rooms are small especially the bathrooms. The front desk agents were rude and totally uninformed about the area attractions, restaurants, etc. For the price that we paid we were expecting and hoping for a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolia's restaurant is absolutely one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. Highly recommend.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greer, SC
Aug 13, 2010

I wouldn't recommend....

The hotel lobby area/bar/resturant was very nice. We are not ones who complain but our stay was unpleasant to to put it nicely. Our concerns were voiced to hotel staff and we were advised that we needed to contact [...] seeing that we booked via a 3rd party. I would like to be contacted regarding this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must check out The Kickin Chicken for lunch.

Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the guest
wilmington nc
Sep 19, 2011

lobby nice, rooms not so much

Lobby was nice, very welcoming. Rooms were terrible bathrooms even worse. Pool however looked awesome. Weather didn't work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Lovers
Virginia
Sep 21, 2010

Never again

Never again will I stay at this hotel. I didnt realize that this hotel was so old. The bathrooms are so small only 1 person can fit in it at a time. My husband and I had to take turns. We stayed in a suite which was in the back of the hotel on the 4th floor and a garbge truck came twice about 5am making terrible noises picking up the huge metal garbage containers. Then, next door to the hotel they have construction going on and there are guys out there talking and using equipment as early as 5:30am. I complained to the managers and I ALL I got was "it's not our fault" and the manager named [...]was so rude about it that I vowed never to return. The restaurant in the hotel was empty every nite and we ate there 1 nite and the food was awful!I was talking to some of the employees and they say there is a lot of problems going on and the employees are disgruntled about the way things are being handled. The employee gave my husband and I a delicious bottle of wine and a fruit and cheese tray when she heard about the terrible customer service we recieved which was so nice of her. The location was excellent but the parking was just too expensive. It's not a flat rate fee of 20.00 each day so each time you leave the lot you have to pay. We spent 100.00 for 4 nites at the hotel for parking. I know I can find a better looking, better quality and better parking in Charleston and I will never ever go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super mom bethmary
San Francisco
Jul 23, 2013

Family vacation

The desk staff was not very helpful. there was an emergency and the call was never put through to our room. The hotel menu was very limited especially for kids. The room was quite small and could have been updated, high price for no view. If I had know it had been recently a Holiday Inn I would not of booked it. Coming from the West Coast I expected better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Fort Sumpter.

Back to menu Return to top