The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
115 Meeting Street, PO BOX 1013, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Beautiful in downtown Charleston

This was my second time in Charleston and during my first trip I fell in love with this hotel just... See full review

  • Elle B
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great long weekend

Stayed here for a long weekend in Charleston. Great downtown location allowed us to walk nearly... See full review

  • Katie in DC
  • Jul 29, 2014
Charleston hotel with pool combines modern luxuries with historic charm
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel combines opulent accommodations, historic ambiance and modern conveniences in the heart of the city's historic district. It is the only hotel on the city's Museum Mile. Boasting Victorian decor, it was originally built as a hotel in 1853. One of Charleston's top restaurants is on the premises and kids eat free. Guests of the Mills House Wyndham Grand enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, sun deck, fitness center and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Courtyard with fountain, sun deck, outdoor pool
  • On-site dining
  • Extensive in-house art collection
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms

 

Rooms
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel provides standard rooms and three types of suites. The suites include wet bars and refrigerators. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel offers three accessible and some connecting rooms. All rooms feature free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Features
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel features a courtyard with a 19th-century fountain, sun deck, outdoor swimming pool and a fitness center. Self-parking and valet parking are available (fees apply).
Dining
The on-site Barbadoes Room features regional cuisine in a formal dining room overlooking a fountain. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunches. Kids eat free, when accompanied by an adult hotel guest. Many other restaurants are within a few blocks. Room service is available. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also includes the First Shot and Best Friend lounges.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Gibbes Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Historic City Market and Confederate Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Charleston Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Children's Museum 25 Ann Street (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (13.3 mi/21.4 km)

 

Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting/event space
  • Two ballrooms and three meeting rooms
  • Rental privileges at adjacent Hibernian Hall, with 6,000 square feet of space and a small stage
  • Audio/visual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Fax, copy, print, computer and Internet services

 

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking costs $25 per day plus tax.
  • No pets other than service animals. No smoking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7778 -79.9317
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva
Jul 1, 2008

Relaxing and friendly environment

The outside patios and indoor lobby sitting areas were very enjoyable for our family to relax and socialize outside of our room. The staff was very pleasant, and the location downtown was wonderful to walk to all the historic houses and market place shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibb's Art Museum was one block away. Hymans Seafood Restaurant was approx. 5 blocks, and Rainbow Row Houses only were 5-6 blocks away. Lots to do within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allison33333
Greenville, SC
Dec 24, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Vacation

The location of this hotel is great. It's very close to all the downtown tourist attractions as well as fine dining restaurants. The pool is a great ammenity to this hotel especially during the humid Charleston summers. Noone likes paying $20 a night, but if you are staying in historic downtown Charleston, that should be expected at any hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some great BBQ during your stay, try Jim N Nicks, it is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle B
Wilmington, nc
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful in downtown Charleston

This was my second time in Charleston and during my first trip I fell in love with this hotel just by walking through it. I was pleasantly surprised to find such a decent rate my second time through. Great staff. Beautiful/clean rooms and atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Husk right across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Exploring History
New York
Mar 31, 2014

Relaxing getaway in the heart of Charleston's historic district

This hotel was in the perfect location for all or most of the best destinations in Charleston - historic houses, tours, resturants, shopping, etc. Beautifully kept in appearance and comfort. The staff are well informed and friendly. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can easily walk to all the homes open for tour, get to other tour start sites (like ghost tours and Carriage rides), get to shopping at the City Market and King Street and walk to the Battery to relax by the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
Jun 7, 2007

Classic Charleston

The Milford House was incredible. And if you wish to see Historic Charleston, this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic Buildings right next door, across the street. Shopping 1 block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eden Prairie
Nov 16, 2008

Nice rooms and great service

The Charleston Mills House was a great hotel that had very nice rooms that had a plush colorful decor. The bed was firm and very comfortable, with many pillows. The hotel had a really nice early American lobby that had a historic feel to it, that fit right in with the entire Charleston experience. The restaurant had rotating ceiling fans that gave it a Casablanca feel. The breakfast buffet was delicious, and the wait persons were very halpful. The concierge was very personable, and set us up with tours and recommendations that save us a lot of time, during our short stay. The location was fantastic for walking to the central market, the historic district, and many wonderful restaurants. The outdoor pool was closed in November, but we were able to use the fitness center. We found this hotel to be a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corina & Trevor
London
Aug 26, 2010

A truly amazing place

The finest hotel we have ever stayed in! Our time spent at 'The Mills House Hotel' in Charleston was a truly unforgettable and phenomenal experience. From the moment we entered this fine establishment through to the time we left, we had an amazing time. The interior of this historic hotel was atmospheric and a vision to behold. The rooms are decorated with taste, passion, imagination and flair. Our room was the epitome of comfort and luxury. The breakfast was delicious and the Sunday brunch was great. The sheer individuality and character of this hotel make it 'a must' for anyone to stay! We are in no doubt that we will return to this hotel sometime in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2007

It's still good after all these years.

We have stayed at this hotel many times and it's always good and in the best location possible in old Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

on Meeting Street in the heart of the old section

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SherryNYC
NYC!
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful & lovely 'Southern Charm'

The staff is outstanding! Went out of their way to help, assist and guide us. We arrived late-ish in the day, and just wanted a pizza. The front desk provided their fave local pizza place's menu (with coupon!) and we got a bottle of wine from the bar - a great first night! Another night, they 'gently advised' away from a restaurant, but we went anyway upon a friend's recommendation and really really should have listened to them!! We had 1 lunch and 1 dinner at the hotel, both lovely and with nice service - the bar-tendress was great and fun, with locals actually at the bar - which is a rare treat. The real gem is the courtyard, playing SINATRA and DEAN MARTIN - sipping wine alfressco to Dino & Frank next to a fountain...well...that's about what I call the definition of relaxing at the end of very very busy days. Our room was lovely, well appointed, with lovely linens and extras. And quiet... Personally my only 'problem' was that we went early in April and the pool wasn't yet open for the season, and as it was in the high 70's and we were coming from gray and cold NYC, this was disappointing. But...other than this, I'd stay again with pleasure the next time we're visiting. The hotel was recommended by a friend, and thought I'd pass that along to other travelers - it's beautiful, with great service and smack in the middle of beautiful Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from a certain tourist trap, heavily advertised fish place...don't think I can say the name here, but just ask a local...you'll thank me. It's not in this hotel, though near enough to walk...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pawleys Island, SC & Baltimore Md
Jun 15, 2009

Mills House Charleston, SC

I have never stayed in Charleston before - this was a pleasant surprise. The staff was helpful especially the bus/valet people and front desk. The waiter I had was also very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search