$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
121 reviews
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
incredible 2-day trip

The location, staff, and amenities were fantastic! See full review

  • cool whip
  • Jul 14, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.779 -79.9257
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
12 miles away from the charleston international airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 121
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moek
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Great girlfriend weekend.

Awesome! Had a great time. Great location. Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo CA
Oct 18, 2009

Centrally located on the battery pier!

Terrific location, very close to everything with polite and very helpful people. While we didn't get the harbor view, the breakfast was included and fortunately we had great weather for October and ate on the 4th floor rooftoop area. There was a wine and cheese service in the late afternoon and very good cookies and milk in the evening. Oh, don't get too many m&ms they will make you FAT! Only downside was no room service (small refer in the rooms), but this is Charleston and lots of resturants nearby, including the world famous Hyman's (ate there twice in five days) Walk out of the hotel and you are right on the battery walk. From the rooftop you can see the boats/ships going by and a nice view of the city. There is a great grocery nearby, Harris, with chilled wine, sandwiches and sushi, just like home (we're from San Mateo CA) My wife and sister said that they would like to return and would go back to the HarborVeiw, no doubt. Rooms were pretty clean, but they were nicely appointed with high beds and good matresses. Need some larger pillows, though. Vendue street is the street that continues from Queen street and this hotel is only a couple of blocks from the old Market. Plenty of shopping a few blocks away on King or Meeting Street. We had a great vacation and no, I am not a travel agent, just an old retired fart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans, get there early, but usually short wait during the week. We had about a 20 min wait on Friday night but that's to be expected. Staff there is great, Hi, Mr. V and Rusty. Rusty, you need to come to CA and go fishing with me.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 13, 2007

beautiful hotel

this is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location; right on the water and a half block from great restuarants and shops. never used our car. staff was great from front desk to bell staff. don't miss the evening wine and chesse @ 6PM. elegant furnishings, quiet rooms, large bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to visit the outdoor market

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gals
New Jersey
Sep 30, 2011

sisters getaway

First time in Charleston and could not be more pleased with our hotel choice. We stayed in the older section which our room had great character with a brick wall and a very large bathroom and the most comfortable beds ever... Breakfast buffet was in the lobby or brought to you on the rooftop..and the wine and cheese hour allowed us to meet wonderful people...Charleston was a great city to visit with great restaurants and tours that will take you back in time and appreciate the history of this fabulous city. We especially loved the Charleston Tea Party private tour with Laura....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We did a photo tour of the city with an experienced photographer and then the Tea Party private tour with Laura, but there is still so so much to see. Give yourself time to see the old homes and churches as well.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jonesborough, Tn
Jan 7, 2011

Enjoyable retreat

The hotel was wonderful! Staff was very helpful and courteous. Beds were great, enjoyed breakfast delivered to my door, wine & cheese.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jonesborough, Tn
Jan 7, 2011

Enjoyable retreat

The hotel was wonderful! Staff was very helpful and courteous. Beds were great, enjoyed breakfast delivered to my door, wine & cheese.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gals
New Jersey
Sep 30, 2011

sisters getaway

First time in Charleston and could not be more pleased with our hotel choice. We stayed in the older section which our room had great character with a brick wall and a very large bathroom and the most comfortable beds ever... Breakfast buffet was in the lobby or brought to you on the rooftop..and the wine and cheese hour allowed us to meet wonderful people...Charleston was a great city to visit with great restaurants and tours that will take you back in time and appreciate the history of this fabulous city. We especially loved the Charleston Tea Party private tour with Laura....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We did a photo tour of the city with an experienced photographer and then the Tea Party private tour with Laura, but there is still so so much to see. Give yourself time to see the old homes and churches as well.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greensboro, NC
Jul 16, 2007

Excellent locaton

We were within walking distance of great resturants and shops. WE Loved S.N.O.B.(Slightly North of Broad).The Harbour Park was across the street filled with paths for walking and biking along the water. The trolley stop was just outside the front door. Two main trolleys used this stop and could take you to all other main attractions in the city such as The Market, the Aquarium , and the Battery. The beds were comfortable and rooms spacious.The refreshments during the day were nice-wine and cheese, cookies and coffee... An expanded continental breakfast was available and could be delivered to your room- including expresso.The only draw back was no on site resturant-yet many were nearby AND no fitness facility,yet there was a park across the street. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I really enjoyed the nightime walking Ghost Tour.The Prison /Dungeon is suppose to be the mostactive. The Calhoun Mansion was exquisite. the current owner is a collector of all things-fine art, religious relics,sculptures.... He displays them in his mansion which has been restored to it its original granduer.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 13, 2007

beautiful hotel

this is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location; right on the water and a half block from great restuarants and shops. never used our car. staff was great from front desk to bell staff. don't miss the evening wine and chesse @ 6PM. elegant furnishings, quiet rooms, large bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to visit the outdoor market

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 9, 2007

Exceptional Hotel!

We were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found the hotel to be in the most ideal location, and to be exceptional in every area. I would STRONGLY recommend it to anyone visiting Charleston....We are already planning our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Virtually everything you can do in Chrarleston is within 1-3 blocks of the Harbour Inn Hotel....it may every aspect of our vacation a breeze. It was a great starting point for sightseeing as well.

Back to menu Return to top