$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
View map of 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Date night

Great location and staff! Breakfest served in the room and the valet parking was worth the $20 to... See full review

  • Brandy Z
  • Mar 3, 2015
Perfect Anniversary Weekend

E chose to go to this hotel as we have stayed here several times before. The service is great and... See full review

  • Randy R.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 16, 2007

Very attractive and most certainly clean and comfortable accommodation.

The only drawback for a fitness conscious traveller that I am, is that, this hotel did not have a fitness center. Inspite of the fact that there are no resturants on site, the hospitality of the staff, cleanliness and overall attractiveness of the facility more than compensated for the lack thereof. Oh, the definitive comfortableness of the bed and pillows further enhanced my positive experience. Also, one of the front desk staff is the perfect compliment to the front desk experience. Hope he's duty when you visit! He was always very friendly and helpful answering my numerous questions and need for assistance finding the best places to eat and see. Harbour View you are fortunate to have such a super personality at the front desk! Yes, I highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Charleston! Oh, its location to both points of interests and the water are added pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laekha
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 29, 2007

Great location for shopping and dinning.

I love the option for breakfast to be served in location of choice. The milk and cookies at night and tea in afternoon are awsomes. I plan to stay at this hotel again for next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Apr 20, 2007

Pampered

Small friendly, comfortable & safe atmosphere, the room was very nice & the bed was awesome , location was excellent & the food treats were very nice, especially in the morning on the rooftop for breakfast. No complaints here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Love this Hotel!

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Harbour View Inn. From the moment we checked in the hotel staff was amazing. The staff is very service oriented. Every need was met quickly and courteously. Everything was exactly as the hotel advertised. The room was large with fine furnishings (we even had a gas fireplace in our room!) and a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The bed was a tempur-pedic mattress with fine linens. The towels and amenities were first-class. Breakfast was great and served in our room at the time we requested. Downtown Charleston, the Marketplace, dining, shopping and tours were within a two-block walk. The harbor and a beautiful park with water fountain were right outside our door! Hotel is in a very safe area. This hotel is well worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Charleston Crab House has the absolutely BEST She-Crab soup and seafood!

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chery
Business
Willington CT
Jun 15, 2009

Fantastic stay!!

amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool whip
Business
Youngstown, Ohio
Jul 14, 2013

incredible 2-day trip

The location, staff, and amenities were fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great seafood within a 20 minute walk

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two history buffs
Business
Central Illinois
Nov 8, 2010

Location, Location, Location!

Location was perfect! Right in the heart of historic Charleston, yet overlooking the bay as well. We walked most everywhere. Room was spacious with comfortable queens. Loved the extra touches, wine & cheese & grapes; even cookies at bedtime. Staff extra friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dining options within easy walking. High Cotton and Just South of Broad were two of our favorites.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy, Super Traveler
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC
Jun 10, 2010

Best Location for the Price

We were in Charleston to enjoy the Spoleto Festival. The restaurants were within walking distance that we chose for our one day stay. The valet parking was easy and attentive and was worth the parking fee. The front desk agent did not know that Cypress Restaurant did not serve lunch. We wasted a little time and dined at Magnolia's instead for lunch, which was great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at Slightly North of Broad, a fantastic restaurant. They even give recipes.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Perfect Place

This is hotel is in a perfect location. The rooms are large including the bathroom and very comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helps you with all of your questions. Breakfast in bed is a nice touch as well as the wine and cheese hour every night. We have been to Charleston many times and have never stayed here until this trip. However, going forward we will likely always stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining is all within walking distance. In fact, we did not even rent a car.

Back to menu Return to top