$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
incredible 2-day trip

The location, staff, and amenities were fantastic! See full review

  • cool whip
  • Jul 14, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.779 -79.9257
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
12 miles away from the charleston international airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison
Sep 13, 2008

Great Time at the Harbour View

The Harbour View Inn in Charleston, South Carolina is probably one of the nicest places to stay in the downtowm area. Great location by the water park, easy walking to areas of interest and good restaurants, and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water park next to the hotel is a great place to enjoy the water views and watch the ships go by.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Very nice, Great location!

The staff was very nice, and friendly. Hotel and rooms very clean. Great location, next to the water, easy walk to every where in downtown Charleston. The hotel goes the extra mile, with breakfast delivered to your room, in the afternoon there is cheese and wine,fresh baked cookies at 9pm, and there is always hot coffee, tea available in the lobby. (oh, yes, the M&M's plain and nut) it does not get much better then this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many nice places to eat (except MCcrady's one block south, west side of Eastbay, portions are very small, way over priced, bland and very forgettable food, very disappointed.)

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two history buffs
Central Illinois
Nov 8, 2010

Location, Location, Location!

Location was perfect! Right in the heart of historic Charleston, yet overlooking the bay as well. We walked most everywhere. Room was spacious with comfortable queens. Loved the extra touches, wine & cheese & grapes; even cookies at bedtime. Staff extra friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dining options within easy walking. High Cotton and Just South of Broad were two of our favorites.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy, Super Traveler
Hilton Head Island, SC
Jun 10, 2010

Best Location for the Price

We were in Charleston to enjoy the Spoleto Festival. The restaurants were within walking distance that we chose for our one day stay. The valet parking was easy and attentive and was worth the parking fee. The front desk agent did not know that Cypress Restaurant did not serve lunch. We wasted a little time and dined at Magnolia's instead for lunch, which was great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at Slightly North of Broad, a fantastic restaurant. They even give recipes.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jamestown
Dec 6, 2008

Good freebies

Not only was the Harbor View a great hotel but continental breakfast delivered to your door, wine and cheese every afternoon and cookies and milk at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing you could ever want to see or do in Charleston was right outside the doors.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greensboro, NC
Jul 16, 2007

Excellent locaton

We were within walking distance of great resturants and shops. WE Loved S.N.O.B.(Slightly North of Broad).The Harbour Park was across the street filled with paths for walking and biking along the water. The trolley stop was just outside the front door. Two main trolleys used this stop and could take you to all other main attractions in the city such as The Market, the Aquarium , and the Battery. The beds were comfortable and rooms spacious.The refreshments during the day were nice-wine and cheese, cookies and coffee... An expanded continental breakfast was available and could be delivered to your room- including expresso.The only draw back was no on site resturant-yet many were nearby AND no fitness facility,yet there was a park across the street. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I really enjoyed the nightime walking Ghost Tour.The Prison /Dungeon is suppose to be the mostactive. The Calhoun Mansion was exquisite. the current owner is a collector of all things-fine art, religious relics,sculptures.... He displays them in his mansion which has been restored to it its original granduer.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EastCoastGirl
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2013

Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever encountered! My 3 night stay could not have been better. The hotel is convenient to wonderful dining and beautiful river views only enhance the location. Lovely!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask and they have wonderful suggestions, our just around the corner!

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 16, 2007

Very attractive and most certainly clean and comfortable accommodation.

The only drawback for a fitness conscious traveller that I am, is that, this hotel did not have a fitness center. Inspite of the fact that there are no resturants on site, the hospitality of the staff, cleanliness and overall attractiveness of the facility more than compensated for the lack thereof. Oh, the definitive comfortableness of the bed and pillows further enhanced my positive experience. Also, one of the front desk staff is the perfect compliment to the front desk experience. Hope he's duty when you visit! He was always very friendly and helpful answering my numerous questions and need for assistance finding the best places to eat and see. Harbour View you are fortunate to have such a super personality at the front desk! Yes, I highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Charleston! Oh, its location to both points of interests and the water are added pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Perfect Place

This is hotel is in a perfect location. The rooms are large including the bathroom and very comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helps you with all of your questions. Breakfast in bed is a nice touch as well as the wine and cheese hour every night. We have been to Charleston many times and have never stayed here until this trip. However, going forward we will likely always stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining is all within walking distance. In fact, we did not even rent a car.

Back to menu Return to top