$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Great get away

Great stay staff was nice rooms were clean good location See full review

  • Mr jimmy
  • Sep 2, 2014
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.779 -79.9257
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport
Area description
12 miles away from the charleston international airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Jul 13, 2008

Great Experience

This hotel was great. First off this hotel is in a great location for everything downtown charleston. Within a couple of blocks to the market, resteraunts, shopping, and right across the street from the downtown park and fountains. The staff was great and extremely helpful. example: We pulled in a little early and the bellman/valet said it was no problem to park there until the room was ready so we could enjoy downtown without having to fight for a parking space. Furthermore he called the front desk and found out our room was indeed ready so we went up to check in. After checking in we go to see our room and about 5 min's later the bellman has unloaded our luggage from the car and brought it to us. The breakfast in the mornings were great and I recommend eating it up on the roof. The room size was very large for the price and extremely comfortable. This Hotel was outstanding in every way. We will definately be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High Cotton = incredible fine dining. Crew Cafe = great little hidden resteraunt near where the carrige tours are. There are tons of things to do around this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EastCoastGirl
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2013

Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever encountered! My 3 night stay could not have been better. The hotel is convenient to wonderful dining and beautiful river views only enhance the location. Lovely!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask and they have wonderful suggestions, our just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 16, 2007

Very attractive and most certainly clean and comfortable accommodation.

The only drawback for a fitness conscious traveller that I am, is that, this hotel did not have a fitness center. Inspite of the fact that there are no resturants on site, the hospitality of the staff, cleanliness and overall attractiveness of the facility more than compensated for the lack thereof. Oh, the definitive comfortableness of the bed and pillows further enhanced my positive experience. Also, one of the front desk staff is the perfect compliment to the front desk experience. Hope he's duty when you visit! He was always very friendly and helpful answering my numerous questions and need for assistance finding the best places to eat and see. Harbour View you are fortunate to have such a super personality at the front desk! Yes, I highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Charleston! Oh, its location to both points of interests and the water are added pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 9, 2007

Exceptional Hotel!

We were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found the hotel to be in the most ideal location, and to be exceptional in every area. I would STRONGLY recommend it to anyone visiting Charleston....We are already planning our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Virtually everything you can do in Chrarleston is within 1-3 blocks of the Harbour Inn Hotel....it may every aspect of our vacation a breeze. It was a great starting point for sightseeing as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 6, 2009

Great location and service

My wife and I took a special anniversary trip and had a great time. The location is great, the room was lovely, and the hotel has some great extra touches - breakfast served in room on on their rooftop deck, wine and cheese receptions every afternoon, and milk and cookies in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of top flight restaurants nearby, but one you might overlook is Pearlz Oyster Bar, which has a bit of a divey look but has a great raw bar and seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland
Dec 4, 2008

My review of The Harbour View Inn

It is a great hotel, right in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is about 3 blocks from a outdoor market, that is wonderful. Great resturants, that match the amazing city. A lot if local shopping. The hotel is just off the harbor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Franklin Lakes NJ
Aug 26, 2010

Charleston trip

Great location, very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of veriety and close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr jimmy
Conway sc
Sep 2, 2014

Great get away

Great stay staff was nice rooms were clean good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wonkachick
New York, NY
Sep 26, 2009

Fabulous Charleston

The HarbourView Inn is fantastic. I booked on the recommendation of online reviews and they were spot on. Room was in the historic part of the hotel, (adjacent to the new building, facing the street), which had a charming 19th century exposed brick wall and plantation shutters. Service fantastic too, from the complimentary breakfast (have it on the rooftop terrace, it's a great way to start the day) to the daily wine and cheese reception at 5pm to cookies and milk at 9pm and nightly turndown service--HarbourView Inn has it all. Only downside: travelers I met had rooms facing the electrical grid. Try to avoid those rooms if you care about the view, or will be spending a lot of time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston is a walking city, and all of the places mentioned are within steps of the HarbourView Inn. Dinner: SNOB's; High Cotton (great jazz too) and fabulous fabulous McCrady's--for the ultimate farm-to-table experience with breathtaking cuisine and expert service in a spectacular, historic space. You have to go there. Lunch: Fleet's Landing--fresh seafood right on the harbor steps from the hotel (bonus, they serve after 3, which is not true of some of the most popular lunch spots), Tommy Condon's for a burger and a Guinness and Cru Cafe, inventive Southern cuisine in a quaint farmhouse near the carriage stables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top