$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
73 reviews
Great get away

Great stay staff was nice rooms were clean good location See full review

  • Mr jimmy
  • Sep 2, 2014
Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever... See full review

  • EastCoastGirl
  • Jul 27, 2013
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel
Sep 29, 2008

My review of The Harbour View Inn

The Harbour view Inn is very well situated for visiting Charleston downtown attractions and dining establishments. Staff was very helpful in recommending tours and interesting sites to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun micro brewery around corner from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo CA
Oct 18, 2009

Centrally located on the battery pier!

Terrific location, very close to everything with polite and very helpful people. While we didn't get the harbor view, the breakfast was included and fortunately we had great weather for October and ate on the 4th floor rooftoop area. There was a wine and cheese service in the late afternoon and very good cookies and milk in the evening. Oh, don't get too many m&ms they will make you FAT! Only downside was no room service (small refer in the rooms), but this is Charleston and lots of resturants nearby, including the world famous Hyman's (ate there twice in five days) Walk out of the hotel and you are right on the battery walk. From the rooftop you can see the boats/ships going by and a nice view of the city. There is a great grocery nearby, Harris, with chilled wine, sandwiches and sushi, just like home (we're from San Mateo CA) My wife and sister said that they would like to return and would go back to the HarborVeiw, no doubt. Rooms were pretty clean, but they were nicely appointed with high beds and good matresses. Need some larger pillows, though. Vendue street is the street that continues from Queen street and this hotel is only a couple of blocks from the old Market. Plenty of shopping a few blocks away on King or Meeting Street. We had a great vacation and no, I am not a travel agent, just an old retired fart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans, get there early, but usually short wait during the week. We had about a 20 min wait on Friday night but that's to be expected. Staff there is great, Hi, Mr. V and Rusty. Rusty, you need to come to CA and go fishing with me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, florida
Feb 2, 2010

Wonderful Venue

Excellent service and the room was beautiful. Close to everything and staff made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two history buffs
Business
Central Illinois
Nov 8, 2010

Location, Location, Location!

Location was perfect! Right in the heart of historic Charleston, yet overlooking the bay as well. We walked most everywhere. Room was spacious with comfortable queens. Loved the extra touches, wine & cheese & grapes; even cookies at bedtime. Staff extra friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dining options within easy walking. High Cotton and Just South of Broad were two of our favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wonkachick
Business
New York, NY
Sep 26, 2009

Fabulous Charleston

The HarbourView Inn is fantastic. I booked on the recommendation of online reviews and they were spot on. Room was in the historic part of the hotel, (adjacent to the new building, facing the street), which had a charming 19th century exposed brick wall and plantation shutters. Service fantastic too, from the complimentary breakfast (have it on the rooftop terrace, it's a great way to start the day) to the daily wine and cheese reception at 5pm to cookies and milk at 9pm and nightly turndown service--HarbourView Inn has it all. Only downside: travelers I met had rooms facing the electrical grid. Try to avoid those rooms if you care about the view, or will be spending a lot of time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston is a walking city, and all of the places mentioned are within steps of the HarbourView Inn. Dinner: SNOB's; High Cotton (great jazz too) and fabulous fabulous McCrady's--for the ultimate farm-to-table experience with breathtaking cuisine and expert service in a spectacular, historic space. You have to go there. Lunch: Fleet's Landing--fresh seafood right on the harbor steps from the hotel (bonus, they serve after 3, which is not true of some of the most popular lunch spots), Tommy Condon's for a burger and a Guinness and Cru Cafe, inventive Southern cuisine in a quaint farmhouse near the carriage stables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Total luxury and warm hospitality

We stayed 4 nights at the Harbour View during our Charleston vacation. From the moment we arrived, the staff was super-accomodating, polite and professional. No need was left unmet. The warm cookies in the evening and the 24-hour availability of M&Ms in the lobby was great too! The beds here were incredibly comfortable--so much so that we didn't get as much sightseeing done as we'd have liked, because we slept in every morning! The in-room breakfast was also a nice treat. We walked everywhere due to the hotel's great location in the historic district. We took the car out only once in 4 days. I would definitely recommend the Harbour View to all my friends, and I know we'd stay there again during our next visit to Charleston. Thanks to the excellent staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe--we ate a meal there every day during our stay. The food is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy, Super Traveler
Business
Hilton Head Island, SC
Jun 10, 2010

Best Location for the Price

We were in Charleston to enjoy the Spoleto Festival. The restaurants were within walking distance that we chose for our one day stay. The valet parking was easy and attentive and was worth the parking fee. The front desk agent did not know that Cypress Restaurant did not serve lunch. We wasted a little time and dined at Magnolia's instead for lunch, which was great fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations at Slightly North of Broad, a fantastic restaurant. They even give recipes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R&X
Business
northeast
Apr 22, 2009

Great place

This is a fine location [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe and Mercato

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Perfect Place

This is hotel is in a perfect location. The rooms are large including the bathroom and very comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helps you with all of your questions. Breakfast in bed is a nice touch as well as the wine and cheese hour every night. We have been to Charleston many times and have never stayed here until this trip. However, going forward we will likely always stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining is all within walking distance. In fact, we did not even rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamestown
Dec 6, 2008

Good freebies

Not only was the Harbor View a great hotel but continental breakfast delivered to your door, wine and cheese every afternoon and cookies and milk at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing you could ever want to see or do in Charleston was right outside the doors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top