$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
View map of 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Date night

Great location and staff! Breakfest served in the room and the valet parking was worth the $20 to... See full review

  • Brandy Z
  • Mar 3, 2015
Perfect Anniversary Weekend

E chose to go to this hotel as we have stayed here several times before. The service is great and... See full review

  • Randy R.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EastCoastGirl
Business
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2013

Don't stay anywhere else in Charleston!

From check-in to check-out an exquisite stay! The most helpful and gracious staff I have ever encountered! My 3 night stay could not have been better. The hotel is convenient to wonderful dining and beautiful river views only enhance the location. Lovely!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask and they have wonderful suggestions, our just around the corner!

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelingtogether
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Jul 2, 2013

OH WOW! PERFECT VACATION SPOT!

This will go down as my best vacation spot ever. The hotel and staff was absolutely wonderful. I could not have asked for a more perfect time. Charleston is a beautiful city, the people are very friendly and don't treat you like tourists! The hotel met every need and provided us with a wonderful experience. Our tour guides were great, food was awesome, and the atmosphere was magnificent. Thank you for a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
May 8, 2011

Charleston with the Girls

The Harbor View Inn was beautiful. Within walking distance to everything and they also had a trolley service that picks you up right in front of the Inn for those who did not want to walk. Rooms were very spacious. The Continental breakfast that could be served on the rooftop was a great plus as was the afternoon wine and cheese hour. Wish the Inn had an outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of geat shopping at the City Market. Lots of unique stuff.

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 5, 2010

Had some issues, but were accommodated

We planned a girls trip to the Harbour View Inn and booked 2 rooms through [...]. We arrived around noon and were told our rooms weren't ready so we left our luggage at the front desk and explored around Charleston until the rooms were ready. Upon checking into the rooms, we noticed we had been given a room with a king bed vs. 2 beds in each room like we had requested. I had called the hotel to confirm we would have 2 beds per room earlier that week, but they said they had no record of the request (which was very frustrating). The hotel was eventually able to provide us with another room after a fair amount of arguing and provided a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience. We thought our troubles were done, but the next day our car keys were given to another hotel guest and we were unable to use our car all night (and almost missed a cruise we had booked). The hotel provided a cab for us to return from the cruise, and again, apologized and provided another bottle of champagne. Definitely had some hiccups, but overall I was very impressed with the way the hotel compensated us for the inconveniences we encountered (they even refunded the hotel portion of our trip). I would recommend this hotel to others traveling and think we just got unlucky with our visit (the rest of the reviews are great!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked Magnolias and Slightly North of Broad- we liked Magnolias but preferred SNOB- definitely the best meal we had in Charleston!

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, florida
Feb 2, 2010

Wonderful Venue

Excellent service and the room was beautiful. Close to everything and staff made

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R&X
Business
northeast
Apr 22, 2009

Great place

This is a fine location [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cru Cafe and Mercato

Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamestown
Dec 6, 2008

Good freebies

Not only was the Harbor View a great hotel but continental breakfast delivered to your door, wine and cheese every afternoon and cookies and milk at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing you could ever want to see or do in Charleston was right outside the doors.

Back to menu Return to top