$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
View map of 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR47
Business
Vermont, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great couples getaway

Great location overlooking waterfront park fountain & pier, view of the harbor & bridge. Easy walk to restaurants, historic houses and the Battery. Comp amenities: room delivery for continental breakfast and afternoon tea, evening wine & cheese in the Atrium, cookies in the front lobby late evening all nice touches and served by friendly staff always with a smile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gals
Business
New Jersey
Sep 30, 2011

sisters getaway

First time in Charleston and could not be more pleased with our hotel choice. We stayed in the older section which our room had great character with a brick wall and a very large bathroom and the most comfortable beds ever... Breakfast buffet was in the lobby or brought to you on the rooftop..and the wine and cheese hour allowed us to meet wonderful people...Charleston was a great city to visit with great restaurants and tours that will take you back in time and appreciate the history of this fabulous city. We especially loved the Charleston Tea Party private tour with Laura....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We did a photo tour of the city with an experienced photographer and then the Tea Party private tour with Laura, but there is still so so much to see. Give yourself time to see the old homes and churches as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
May 8, 2011

Charleston with the Girls

The Harbor View Inn was beautiful. Within walking distance to everything and they also had a trolley service that picks you up right in front of the Inn for those who did not want to walk. Rooms were very spacious. The Continental breakfast that could be served on the rooftop was a great plus as was the afternoon wine and cheese hour. Wish the Inn had an outdoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of geat shopping at the City Market. Lots of unique stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Very nice, Great location!

The staff was very nice, and friendly. Hotel and rooms very clean. Great location, next to the water, easy walk to every where in downtown Charleston. The hotel goes the extra mile, with breakfast delivered to your room, in the afternoon there is cheese and wine,fresh baked cookies at 9pm, and there is always hot coffee, tea available in the lobby. (oh, yes, the M&M's plain and nut) it does not get much better then this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many nice places to eat (except MCcrady's one block south, west side of Eastbay, portions are very small, way over priced, bland and very forgettable food, very disappointed.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charleston's best
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jan 10, 2011

Excellent hotel

I went with my girlfriend to enjoy a historical southern city. Harbour View Inn was an excellent location within walking distance of great shopping and the tastiest food around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood and an excellent wine menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jonesborough, Tn
Jan 7, 2011

Enjoyable retreat

The hotel was wonderful! Staff was very helpful and courteous. Beds were great, enjoyed breakfast delivered to my door, wine & cheese.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DLaw
Business
Long Island, NY
Dec 26, 2010

Poor Service

My husband and I were in Charleston to attend my nephew's wedding. Although the Harbour View Inn has nice rooms and amenities, I was extremely disappointed in their service to me as guest. At 8:00 am on Saturday morning, I requested that my dress for the wedding be sent to the cleaners to be pressed. I was told by the lady at the front desk that all the cleaners were too busy and my dress would not be back before 6:00 pm, which was too late since my nephew's wedding was at 5:30 pm. I walked over to the Charleston Place Hotel and asked the concierge for assistance. He picked up the phone called a cleaners and the dress was pressed by 2:30 pm. Next time we will stay at the Charleston Place Hotel. Accommodating a guest's simple request is most important. The wine and cheese in the afternoon does not suffice for poor service. Finally, when we left the hotel the bellhop forgot to give us one of our bags so we had to make a return trip to the hotel from the airport, which cost us a double fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amen Street Restaurant for lunch or dinner. Great Food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two history buffs
Business
Central Illinois
Nov 8, 2010

Location, Location, Location!

Location was perfect! Right in the heart of historic Charleston, yet overlooking the bay as well. We walked most everywhere. Room was spacious with comfortable queens. Loved the extra touches, wine & cheese & grapes; even cookies at bedtime. Staff extra friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several dining options within easy walking. High Cotton and Just South of Broad were two of our favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuse
Business
syracuse ny
Nov 7, 2010

harbour view inn

Nice rooms, but nothing special. Breakfast on the rooftop was a nice touch. Staff very friendly. You're paying for location at this hotel vs amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cypress is an excellent restaurant right down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Touring with Mom
Business
Dingmans Ferry, pa
Oct 26, 2010

Great Location & Beautiful Views

Did my research on picking this hotel based on customer reviews. The hotel was lovely, the location fantastic, and the staff friendly and helpful. The Harbourview location was in downtown Charleston, overlooking Waterfront park. We were able to cross the street and walk on the pier out to the harbour. Lots of people flock to this area for an afternoon stroll or evening walk so it's always busy. The hotel has a rooftop terrace with flowers and views to downtown. Everything within walking distance or easy access to bus transportation. Hotel was quiet and we really enjoyed the wine and cheese every evening. The room was lovely, clean and the beds were comfortable. We were in Charleston to see the historic sites and tour plantations. Doing the homework first really made this trip worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If planning on taking public transportation to get around the city, suggestion to pick up a bus schedule at the Visitors center first. Unfortunately, we had a bit of a problem as the schedule changed on Oct. 17, but the old schedule was still posted on-line. This caused us a bit of anquish on our first day of touring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top