$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

The Harbour View Inn

4 stars
View map of 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
75 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Weekend

E chose to go to this hotel as we have stayed here several times before. The service is great and... See full review

  • Randy R.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Get Away

We had a great time.....Hotel was great, awesome location. See full review

  • Ron.282
  • Jan 15, 2015
Hotel in historic downtown Charleston offers luxury and southern charm
The Harbour View Inn features old southern hospitality and modern conveniences, with a spectacular view of the Charleston harbor. All rooms at the Harbour View Inn have flat-screen TVs, refrigerators, bathrobes and safes. Some rooms have working fireplaces. Many of the 52 rooms have four-poster beds, original artwork and custom made armoires. The Harbour View Inn's suite also has a Jacuzzi tub, complimentary snacks and beverages and two private balconies with a spectacular view of the harbor and Waterfront Park.

 

Highlights
  • AAA 4 diamonds
  • Conde Nast Gold List Award
  • Spectacular view of Charleston Harbor from many rooms and rooftop terrace
  • Adjacent to award-winning Waterfront Park
Rooms
Rooms have high ceilings, original artwork, handcrafted all-wood furniture, flat-screen TVs, refrigerators and safes. Penthouse rooms and a suite also are available at the Harbour View Inn.

Features
Free breakfast is delivered to guest rooms, rooftop terrace or served in the atrium lobby. The Harbour View Inn has free wireless Internet service in all rooms and public areas, free snacks, coffee and flavored iced tea served all day in the lobby. An afternoon wine and cheese reception is served as are cookies and milk in the evening. The hotel has West Indies decor throughout. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.4 mi/13.5 km)

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.2 mi/16.4 km)

 

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference/reception room for up to 30 people

Policies and fees
Smoke-free facility. No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Harbour View Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Harbour View Inn Rooms

Deluxe Harbor View Room
These rooms feature two queen beds or a king bed. Harbour view rooms offer views of the historic Charleston harbor and waterfront park. These rooms include original artwork and hand crafted furniture, in room safes, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's, complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.
Traditional Inn Room
Our Oversized Traditional Rooms feature a King or Two Queens and are decorated in a decidedly West Indies old world style and feature two queen beds with Tempur-pedic mattresses. Each room is stocked with 26" plasma TV's, mini-fridges, in-room safes, iHome docking station, lightweight waffle weave bathrobes, hair dryers, make-up mirrors, and an iron and ironing board. Rates include complimentary breakfast delivery, turndown service, and an evening wine and cheese reception.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Theater99: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 11 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.8 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Harbour View Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelingtogether
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Jul 2, 2013

OH WOW! PERFECT VACATION SPOT!

This will go down as my best vacation spot ever. The hotel and staff was absolutely wonderful. I could not have asked for a more perfect time. Charleston is a beautiful city, the people are very friendly and don't treat you like tourists! The hotel met every need and provided us with a wonderful experience. Our tour guides were great, food was awesome, and the atmosphere was magnificent. Thank you for a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Pittman
Business
NC
Jul 1, 2013

Great Vacation

Habor Veiw was great. Staff excellent! I would recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jimser
Business
Colorado
Dec 6, 2012

Much better places

I stayed here for at get together with my sister and her family. I am somewhat handicapped and when I got there a valet opened the cab door and put my luggage on the curb then vanished. Waited 20 minutes-- no one came. Had to carry my three bags upstairs myself. I get to my room and lay down and FIND A NEEDLE in the bed. When I go into the bathroom there is a pink mold all around the tub. I go to check out and go to another hotel and am told I will be charged for all three days NO REFUND. But they would take 10% off one room for one night (out of 2 rooms for 3 nights at $300 a night). Great location though and bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several great cafes close by. Charleston is a great city with lots of fun things to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC111
Business
ST. LOUIS
Nov 5, 2012

GREAT TIME

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT TILL THE END WE LEFT ON 11/4 AND ASKED FOR A 4 A.M. WAKE UP CALL IT WAS THE NIGHT THE TIME CHANGED AND WE GOT THE CALL AT 3 A.M. AND WE ASKED FOR A CAB AT 5 AM AND AT 5:05 AND NO CAB WE FOUND OUT THEY HAD NOT CALLED THE NIGHT BEFORE....GREAT HOTEL AND AWESOME LOCATION AND EVERYONE WAS VERY NICE AND ACCOMODATING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OF ALL THE HIGH CLASS RESTAURANTS WE HAD OUR FAVORITE MEAL AT PEARLZ A LITTLE BAR RESTAURANT A BLOCK AWAY AND THE ROOFTOP BAR ACROSS THE STREET WAS A LOT OF FUN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BurntOrange
Business
Fort Worth
Sep 4, 2012

Anniversary

Perfect place for anniversary (25th to boot). Outstanding service, great location right next to harbor and walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Mark from MI
Business
Michigan
Jun 5, 2012

Great place to stay

The Harbour View was centrally located in the historic district. Everything was a short walk or we could hop on the FREE shuttle bus which provided quick access to most parts of the town. There isn't a restruant with the hotel, but free breakfast was delivered free to your room or available in the hotel lobby. We were close to all stores/restruants/attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Southend Brewery had great food along with a good beer selection

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moek
Business
Chicago
May 12, 2012

Great girlfriend weekend.

Awesome! Had a great time. Great location. Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katjo
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 9, 2012

great hotel

The location was perfect for what we wanted. We did not pay extra for a balcony which was fine with us since the have a rooftop terrace which we used a few times. the free breakfast, wine & cheese, and refreshments were nice. There was a couple times there was no water or ice tea available, which I thought was to be available 24 hours but maybe they were changing things out. No pool, hot tub, restaurant but there is so much to do close to the hotel. Rooms were clean & comfortable. would have liked a little more information from the desk staff re: what the hotel offers rather than reading it all when we got to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check out Husk for lunch dinner. Fun bars, gin joint, Griffin, Blind Tiger

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisCB
Business
Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Nov 30, 2011

Nice location near the sea and the centre

A very friendly and helpful smaller hotel with (if you ask for it) a view over the park and the sea. Very comfortable and I liked the (complimentary) early evening drink and nibbles where you could chat to fellow guests (I didn't try the late night hot drinks and cookies). Our daughter missed having a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a harbour boat ride from near the aquarium. Great views, dolphins and pelicans and potted history well told (our commentating skipper was a pilot the rest of the week).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Harbour View Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR47
Business
Vermont, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great couples getaway

Great location overlooking waterfront park fountain & pier, view of the harbor & bridge. Easy walk to restaurants, historic houses and the Battery. Comp amenities: room delivery for continental breakfast and afternoon tea, evening wine & cheese in the Atrium, cookies in the front lobby late evening all nice touches and served by friendly staff always with a smile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top