$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Society House

3 stars
292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
8 reviews
Perfect in so many ways!

I am extremely satisfied with my recent stay at Society House. I stayed for 3 nights, and it was... See full review

  • Will return to Charleston
  • Nov 17, 2013
Great quick getaway

This apartment style hotel was a great place to stay. Good location - easy to walk everywhere.... See full review

  • Thirty something's
  • Aug 11, 2014
The Society House offers visitors to Charlestons historic district accommodations comprised exclusively of historic luxury suites with a level of comfort that rivals the finest luxury hotels of Charleston. Located where Charlestons main shopping thoroughfare, King Street meets Society, The Society House is more than a hotel. The structure, built in 1801, was fully renovated in 2008 into luxury residential condominiums, and all accommodations have since been modified to meet the high standards of Charleston visitors. The Society House is ideal for sophisticated travelers that prefer the feel of a private town home rather than a hotel or inn.
****Important Information Regarding Your Reservation****Once you have received your confirmation from Orbitz you must contact the hotel at Toll free: 855-887-5671 or Local: 843-972-1459 or email them at reservations@thesocietyhouse.com to receive the Check in Procedures. Failure to do this could result in not being able to check in. ****Please note The Society House does not have an elevator

Hotel Map

32.7831 -79.9343
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport (CHS)
Area description
Located at Society and King Streets in the very center of the heart of historic Charleston, one, two or even three nights may not be enough with all of the innovative restaurants to dine in, the unique shops to visit, and the historic sites, landmark homes, and ancient gardens to tour. Located in downtown historic Charleston.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Society House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Society House Rooms

Residential apartment Condominium
Residential Apartment Condominium offers one queen bed and a sofa bed. The luxury one bedroom suite features a queen-sized bedroom and one full and one half bath. Each room has fully equipped kitchens and living spaces showcasing large, city view windows with queen size sofa bed pullouts.The luxury one bedroom suite features a queen-sized bedroom and one full and one half bath. Each room has fully equipped kitchens and living spaces showcasing large, city view windows with queen size sofa bed pullouts.
Residential Apartment Condominium
Residential Apartment Condominium offers two queen beds and a sofa bed. The luxury two bedroom suite features one queen-sized bed in each bedroom and one full and one half bath. Fully equipped kitchen and living spaces showcasing large, city view windows with a queen size sofa bed pullout.
Residential Apartment Condominium
Residential Apartment Condominium offers one queen beds, two single beds and a sofa bed. The luxury two bedroom suite with one queen bedroom and two twin bedroom provides two full bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens and living spaces showcasing large, city view windows with queen size sofa bed pullout or air mattress.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.5 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.5 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.6 mi
  • Theater99: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.5 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.5 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.6 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.7 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.6 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.4 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.4 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.2 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
None

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Society House

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRE422
New York
Feb 16, 2012

Perfect for exactly what it is, not what it is not.

The Society House is a great place to stay for an independent traveler. I've stayed here twice and plan to stay again when in Charleston. It is what it is. It's not what it's not. Here's what to expect: What Society House is: A very spacious, well kept apartment with nice furniture/finishes and basic products (Shampoo, towels, glasses etc). A full kitchen and living room area, dining area, large bedrooms with closets, large bathrooms and a TON of space for not a ton of money. The location is great (right on King - walking distance to shops, restaurants, hotels, fitness centers - EVERYTHING!). Apartment dwellers will feel very comfortable here. You have everything you need right outside of your very own apartment. What Society House is not: A full service hotel. There is no front desk. No bar. No restaurant. No room service. Keys are kept in a lock box outside and you come and go as you please. There is an emergency number to call and help is available if you need it (I've never actually needed help while here). I recommend staying here if you are going to Charleston with plans in place or if you are comfortable exploring/asking around (everyone in Charleston is super nice). If you are looking for hospitality within the walls of your hotel, this is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thirty something's
Philadelphia
Aug 11, 2014

Great quick getaway

This apartment style hotel was a great place to stay. Good location - easy to walk everywhere. About 20minute drive to the beach. Great restaurants nearby. Keep in mind this is an apt hotel so no front desk staff and no early check in or late check out, however they do have a sister property where you can leave your baggage while you explore the city. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATXTriTraveler
Austin, TX
Jul 2, 2014

Bumpy start but very good overall

I think these are private condos that are rented out to visitors, but that wasn't clear on this travel website. When we arrived, we couldn't find the place, so I had to jump out of the car and walk around the block to find that the entrance is a single locked door leading up a narrow stairwell. We had no directions, but there were three phone numbers on the door. The first two went to voicemail and the last one got me a live person. The place has no on-site management and supposedly, we were supposed to get an email with instructions on how to get in and where to park. (Parking was two blocks away.) Fortunately, the cleaning lady was just passing by as I was talking to another visitor who was equally confused about the process and the lady let me into our unit. The whole process took us about an hour to figure out in the heat since we didn't have instructions from the start. It was very off-putting, but once we got into our unit, everything got better. The apartment was very large and nicely appointed. Nice hardwood floors and all of the amenities you could want: wi-fi, cable TV in the living room and master, toiletries, full kitchen, etc. You can't beat the location either. According to my cousin who lives there, we got a really good value for the area. I'm giving them four stars only because the start was such a bad experience. If they're going to offering booking on this travel website, then they should have a system to communicate to those guests beforehand instead of letting us arrive with no instructions on where to park, where the front door is, how to get in, etc. If we had arrived in the evening, we would have been screwed because their "office" closes at 4:30pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Wentworth parking garage. They charge $12 per 24 hour period, and they're the closest garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will return to Charleston
Boston, MA
Nov 17, 2013

Perfect in so many ways!

I am extremely satisfied with my recent stay at Society House. I stayed for 3 nights, and it was easy access to everything I did. You can walk anywhere from this hotel, the room was clean, and while the staff was not on site, they were helpful via phone and email.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BJMBlaze
Lake Tahoe, Nv
Jan 24, 2013

Take ear plugs

The room has a nice kitchen, comfortable bed, and is in a great location for touring the historic district. Problems include difficulty in finding the entry to the facility, a steep stairs to get to the unit with a top step that invites a stumble, and no defined place to park while loading/unloading the car. The sofa was a nice leather but was so filthy we had to cover the cushions with towels. The bedroom should have blackout drapes to keep out the city lights. We were unfortunate enough to arrive in the middle of a three day weekend. The noise outside and from the other tenants kept waking us up till 3:30 in the morning. The second night was much better. The final straw was the noise outside on our last night. The city worked on the street below our 2nd floor unit from 9:30pm till 7:30 the next morning – jack hammers, trucks, tractor, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oldlrubies
San Jose, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Convenient location but the service is terrible

We stayed at the Society House in Charleston and found it a convenient and roomy place to stay, once we managed to actually get into the condo. The problem is that they send an email 3 days prior to one's arrival providing a lock box code and recommending places to park. Unfortunately, we started our trip before the email arrived and it went into my junk mail, so I was never able to access it by smart phone. I phoned twice prior to arrival and left messages. Nobody returned my first call - hence the need for a second call. Unfortunately, I am not a mind reader,, so I knew nothing about lock boxes or lock box codes. I asked where to check in and received a voice mail message telling me to check in at the King Street location. Except there is no staff there and no way to get into the condo without opening the lock box (for which I did not have the code). Fortunately, although nobody seems to answer the phone during office hours, on the weekend, somebody is on call and actually answers the phone. He was able to give me the lock box code, but was not able to direct me to a place to park. So, since traffic was gridlocked and we did not know the city, we decided to return our rental car and drove to the airport, returning to the city by taxi. I sent a very upset email to the Society House detailing our stressful experience and received an apology offering me a $100 credit, which never did materialize on my credit card statement. So the bottom line is, if you know where to park in Charleston and manage to get a lock box code before arriving at the property, you may like staying here. Just don't expect any service if anything goes wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hall's Chophouse was a fantastic place to dine. About a half mile walk up King Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BekiTiffany
Goodlettsville, TN
Dec 13, 2012

Fantastic location, great room!

The Society House is a great place to stay, once you find it! It took our taxi driver 3 tries.. It's a hidden door, no big sign.. Just a door. Then if you enjoy a good work-out the stairs will do that for you. The room was awesome. This was a girls trip, just a friend and I. My friend slept upstairs and said the bed was super comfy. I slept on the pull out couch, not super comfy, but not horrible either. I loved the full kitchen and having plenty of space. The location couldnt have been any better. Very close to the Market, Battery park, Marion square, and all the shopping you could want to do! I will definitely be back next year, and will be staying at The Society House again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since the Society House includes an amazing kitchen, we brought some of our own food with us. This kept us from having to eat out for every meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat Family
Switzerland
Apr 16, 2012

Great value in downtown Charleston

Nicely furnished two bedroom, two bath appartment with a well equiped kitchen and a small living area. Only small windows, no view but quiet and a great location. Only draw back: you need to know how you get in. We stood in front of locked doors trying to figure out how to get in. After 20 minutes, a young lady happened to come by and taped a note with a phone number to the door. This was how we found out that we had to call to get the code for the lock box with the appartment key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north on King street, cross over Calhoun and try one of the lesser known restaurants in this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Society House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRE422
New York
Feb 16, 2012

Perfect for exactly what it is, not what it is not.

The Society House is a great place to stay for an independent traveler. I've stayed here twice and plan to stay again when in Charleston. It is what it is. It's not what it's not. Here's what to expect: What Society House is: A very spacious, well kept apartment with nice furniture/finishes and basic products (Shampoo, towels, glasses etc). A full kitchen and living room area, dining area, large bedrooms with closets, large bathrooms and a TON of space for not a ton of money. The location is great (right on King - walking distance to shops, restaurants, hotels, fitness centers - EVERYTHING!). Apartment dwellers will feel very comfortable here. You have everything you need right outside of your very own apartment. What Society House is not: A full service hotel. There is no front desk. No bar. No restaurant. No room service. Keys are kept in a lock box outside and you come and go as you please. There is an emergency number to call and help is available if you need it (I've never actually needed help while here). I recommend staying here if you are going to Charleston with plans in place or if you are comfortable exploring/asking around (everyone in Charleston is super nice). If you are looking for hospitality within the walls of your hotel, this is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search