$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

4 stars
View map of 68 Wentworth Street, 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RogerM
Boston
Sep 6, 2011

Awesome Labor Day in Charleston

We travel extensively overseas but had never made it to South Carolina. Had a great trip. Excellent walking around city with all of the amenities. Wonderful bars. Stayed at Renaissance. Impecably maintained. Very helpful staff. The only downer was that we had booked a king room and they gave us a double. Told us that there was no King avaialble even though the reservation asked for a King. My wife and I have not slept in a double since college days. Also for whatever reason, the pool is surrounded by gravel, thus to walk to your chair you have to step over these painful pebbles. Dumb idea. In this day and and age I am sure they can come up with better surface. But overall I would highly recommend this hotel and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Absolutely make sure that you go for a walk at dusk by the ocean near Patriots point. They have hurrican wall with excellent path on top of it.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e6chromes
Business
Warwick, Rhode Island
Jun 29, 2009

Renaissance Charleston Historic Diistric

The hotel as well as the location around it was great. The central location of the hotel in the French Quarter means that most everything you could want to do or see is within walking distance. You can drive around if you wish but the streets of Charleston are very narrow and on street parking is limited. I also found the local prices for things to be quite fair and not what one would expect in a resort destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Matthews, NC
Jun 8, 2009

Beautiful!!!

The trip was great. Beautiful city and the staff was amazing. The pool was small with little area to layout. But that was my only complaint. Great Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Charleston is within a short walk!

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jun 8, 2009

Great Hotel---Easy Booking

Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants surround the hotel--perfect location

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 25, 2009

Nice, hidden hotel

Toured Charleston--Great hotel for walking around the town--most any place downtown is within walking distance Hotel could have been a little cleaner--looks as if houskeeping's hours have been cut back--restrooms in lobby were unkempt A paper delivered in the morning would have been nice as would have free coffee in the lobby Great coffee in the room, tho

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta. GA
May 21, 2009

Comfortable and Convenient

Great location, luxurious bedding, curtious staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel concierege was very helpful for quick hints on dining, sites, and shopping.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TRAVELMAM
Business
CHICAGO SUBURBS
Apr 30, 2009

CHARLESTON IN THE SPRING

we did the garden tour, many historic homes, favorite was Patriot's POINT and the dungeon. The hotel recommended an excellent transportation company ([...]); ANOTHER COMPANY CHARGED TWICE THE USUAL AMOUNT. Your site did not list a pool as an amenity, but there was a pool. This was our first Orbitz trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

KING ST.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davie
Dec 28, 2008

Great location

Location was the reason one would stay at this hotel and pay the price of a room at this hotel. Restaurant service was poor, food was not very good, and the price was outrageously expensive. Rooms were clean, but the view outside the windows was of a run down building next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is within 2 blocks of King Street where all of the well known shops exist. It is about a quarter of a mile to City Market, and about a mile to the port.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Smith
Jun 30, 2008

We enjoyed the difference.

We have always stayed in hotels on Market Street or further south. We enjoyed being in a different location and within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. I missed having a concierge available, but the front desk was accommodating. I wished the business center would put a sign up so people would utilize the free computer/internet no more than 30 minutes at a time. Still, I appreciate their having it there for us. Two with access to the internet would have been even better. Our room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Both shopping and good dining were within a block. Also, a beautiful church within a block and only two blocks to the market area.

Back to menu Return to top