$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

4 stars
View map of 68 Wentworth Street, 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BALLROOM BELL JULIE
Business
CHARLOTTE, NC
Jul 6, 2009

COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER

MY INITIAL INTERACTION WITH HOTEL STAFF WAS THE FRONT DESK TRYING TO DOWN GRADE MY RESERVATION. HAD RESERVED A KING/2DBL ROOM. THEY INFORMED ME ON MY ARRIVAL THAT THEY ONLY HAD A LESS THEN DBL SINGLE BED. NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR 2 ADULT WOMEN. WHEN INFORMED THAT I HAD MADE MY RESERVATION WEEKS IN ADVANCE AND THIS WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE, THE QUESTION/COMMENT WAS MADE "YOU WENT THRU A 3RD PARTY DIDN'T YOU"? AFTER ABOUT 10MIN OF SEARCHING THEY WERE ABLE TO COME UP WITH A KING ROOM. I HAD CHECKED THE NIGHT BEFORE AND KNEW THEY HAD BEEN AVAILABLE THE NIGHT BEFORE FOR $100.00 MORE THEN WHAT I WAS PAYING. SO.... THE REST OF THE STAFF WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFUL. THE ONLY OTHER DISAPPOINTMENT WAS THE INFO IN THE ROOM SAID BUNCH ON SUNDAY TILL 12:00 BUT WHEN WE ARRIVED AT 11:00 WE WERE INFORMED IT ENDED AT 10:30. WE LEFT AND HAD A WONDERFUL BRUNCH SOMEWHERE ELSE. SO, I GUESS I SHOULD SAY THANK YOU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

HAD A WONDERFUL BRUNCH @ 82 QUEEN. BEAUTIFUL COVERED GARDENS. WONDERFUL SERVICE(CEDRIC). THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e6chromes
Business
Warwick, Rhode Island
Jun 29, 2009

Renaissance Charleston Historic Diistric

The hotel as well as the location around it was great. The central location of the hotel in the French Quarter means that most everything you could want to do or see is within walking distance. You can drive around if you wish but the streets of Charleston are very narrow and on street parking is limited. I also found the local prices for things to be quite fair and not what one would expect in a resort destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Matthews, NC
Jun 8, 2009

Beautiful!!!

The trip was great. Beautiful city and the staff was amazing. The pool was small with little area to layout. But that was my only complaint. Great Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Charleston is within a short walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jun 8, 2009

Great Hotel---Easy Booking

Great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants surround the hotel--perfect location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 25, 2009

Nice, hidden hotel

Toured Charleston--Great hotel for walking around the town--most any place downtown is within walking distance Hotel could have been a little cleaner--looks as if houskeeping's hours have been cut back--restrooms in lobby were unkempt A paper delivered in the morning would have been nice as would have free coffee in the lobby Great coffee in the room, tho

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta. GA
May 21, 2009

Comfortable and Convenient

Great location, luxurious bedding, curtious staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel concierege was very helpful for quick hints on dining, sites, and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mlh
Business
charlotte,nc
May 4, 2009

Great location and hotel!

I was in town for a weekend conference. The hotel location was perfect for the conference, shopping and dining. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TRAVELMAM
Business
CHICAGO SUBURBS
Apr 30, 2009

CHARLESTON IN THE SPRING

we did the garden tour, many historic homes, favorite was Patriot's POINT and the dungeon. The hotel recommended an excellent transportation company ([...]); ANOTHER COMPANY CHARGED TWICE THE USUAL AMOUNT. Your site did not list a pool as an amenity, but there was a pool. This was our first Orbitz trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

KING ST.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davie
Dec 28, 2008

Great location

Location was the reason one would stay at this hotel and pay the price of a room at this hotel. Restaurant service was poor, food was not very good, and the price was outrageously expensive. Rooms were clean, but the view outside the windows was of a run down building next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is within 2 blocks of King Street where all of the well known shops exist. It is about a quarter of a mile to City Market, and about a mile to the port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Smith
Jun 30, 2008

We enjoyed the difference.

We have always stayed in hotels on Market Street or further south. We enjoyed being in a different location and within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. I missed having a concierge available, but the front desk was accommodating. I wished the business center would put a sign up so people would utilize the free computer/internet no more than 30 minutes at a time. Still, I appreciate their having it there for us. Two with access to the internet would have been even better. Our room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Both shopping and good dining were within a block. Also, a beautiful church within a block and only two blocks to the market area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top