$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

4 stars
View map of 68 Wentworth Street, 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ionlevel42
Single
Cranston ri
Sep 15, 2012

No hot shower

There were no hot showers even after I complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFNI
Couples
OH
Dec 19, 2011

Great location for shopping!

We loved everything about this hotel. We were so happy that it was right in the heart of the King Street shopping district. Could walk everywhere we needed to go. There is even a great salon across the street. We enjoyed the outdoor pool, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Really enjoyed the Oak Steakhouse on Broad Street. So delicious!

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RogerM
Couples
Boston
Sep 6, 2011

Awesome Labor Day in Charleston

We travel extensively overseas but had never made it to South Carolina. Had a great trip. Excellent walking around city with all of the amenities. Wonderful bars. Stayed at Renaissance. Impecably maintained. Very helpful staff. The only downer was that we had booked a king room and they gave us a double. Told us that there was no King avaialble even though the reservation asked for a King. My wife and I have not slept in a double since college days. Also for whatever reason, the pool is surrounded by gravel, thus to walk to your chair you have to step over these painful pebbles. Dumb idea. In this day and and age I am sure they can come up with better surface. But overall I would highly recommend this hotel and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Absolutely make sure that you go for a walk at dusk by the ocean near Patriots point. They have hurrican wall with excellent path on top of it.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mg03
Couples
Lake Wylie, SC, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Birthday Surprise

Hotel stay was very pleasant- room was clean and comfortable--would definitely stay at hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are in abundance within short waling distance- no need to drive anywhere.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charlotte NC
Jul 26, 2011

Excellent Hotel

Room accomodations were excellent. Very clean and room was made up on time. Room service was also good, breakfast menu was very diverse and not overly expensive. Gym accomadations were well balanced and provided both cardio and strength conditioning. Service dask and concierge were all helpful throughout the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, GA
Nov 14, 2010

Huge Disappointment

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check with the concierge. He was helpful on the second night.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Oct 28, 2010

Perfect

The hotel was great in all means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seafood restaurant of the South

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Starr, SC
Nov 17, 2009

RUDE!

The staff at the front was very rude. I had called to get 2 double beds since there were four of us traveling together. She told me 3 would have to sleep together in a King and they would have to bring in a rollaway. She also mentioned that we could go find somewhere else to stay if we did not like this. Very Rude! Will never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
los ositos
Couples
los angeles, ca
Sep 7, 2009

lovely hotel in great location

it was a wonderful stay of one night. when we arrived the room was not ready yet (not a big deal, we wanted to go out anyway), so later in the evening the manager sent us a complimentary dish of local cheese to apologize for the glitch. everybody was very friendly. the hotel is walking distance from several restaurants, right in the middle of major shopping. parking is conveniently located across the street. rooms have real cable internet access, no wireless, that costs $12.95 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

it is not such a long walk, and it is worth it, to the poogan porch restaurant at 72 queen street. lovely small and elegant restaurant in the first floor of a residence.

Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BALLROOM BELL JULIE
Family
CHARLOTTE, NC
Jul 6, 2009

COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER

MY INITIAL INTERACTION WITH HOTEL STAFF WAS THE FRONT DESK TRYING TO DOWN GRADE MY RESERVATION. HAD RESERVED A KING/2DBL ROOM. THEY INFORMED ME ON MY ARRIVAL THAT THEY ONLY HAD A LESS THEN DBL SINGLE BED. NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR 2 ADULT WOMEN. WHEN INFORMED THAT I HAD MADE MY RESERVATION WEEKS IN ADVANCE AND THIS WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE, THE QUESTION/COMMENT WAS MADE "YOU WENT THRU A 3RD PARTY DIDN'T YOU"? AFTER ABOUT 10MIN OF SEARCHING THEY WERE ABLE TO COME UP WITH A KING ROOM. I HAD CHECKED THE NIGHT BEFORE AND KNEW THEY HAD BEEN AVAILABLE THE NIGHT BEFORE FOR $100.00 MORE THEN WHAT I WAS PAYING. SO.... THE REST OF THE STAFF WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFUL. THE ONLY OTHER DISAPPOINTMENT WAS THE INFO IN THE ROOM SAID BUNCH ON SUNDAY TILL 12:00 BUT WHEN WE ARRIVED AT 11:00 WE WERE INFORMED IT ENDED AT 10:30. WE LEFT AND HAD A WONDERFUL BRUNCH SOMEWHERE ELSE. SO, I GUESS I SHOULD SAY THANK YOU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

HAD A WONDERFUL BRUNCH @ 82 QUEEN. BEAUTIFUL COVERED GARDENS. WONDERFUL SERVICE(CEDRIC). THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS.

Back to menu Return to top