$290 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Planters Inn

4 stars
View map of 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
41 reviews
Great Boutique Hotel

I would love to stay here again. Andrea at the front desk is amazing. This hotel is wonderful. They... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Expensive, but worth it

The staff and service at this hotel was impeccable. We also loved the little parlor room with free... See full review

  • Hillary G.
  • Mar 16, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Planters Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Planters Inn Rooms

Double Queen
2 Four-poster Queen beds 33sqm/350sqft Sitting area High ceilings Custom crown molding
Piazza King
1 King 4-poster bed 28-30sqm/300-325sqft 2nd Or 3rd floor Sitting area Shared terrace
Grand King
1 Four-poster King bed 26sqm/275sqft Small sitting area High ceilings and crown molding
Governor's Suite
2-Room suite 1 Four-poster King bed 56sqm/600sqft Living room with sofa bed Fireplace
Plantation King
1 Four-poster King bed 37sqm/400sqft Spacious room Sitting area High ceilings
Double Queen Governor's Suite
2 Four-poster Queen beds 56sqm/600sqft Living room with convertible sofa Fireplace
King Governor's Suite
1 Four-poster King bed 56sqm/600sqft Separate living room with sofa-bed Fireplace
Premier Plantation King
1 Four-poster King bed 37sqm/400sqft Spacious Sitting area Fireplace High ceilings
Penthouse King
1 Four-poster King bed 35sqm/375sqft Top floor corner room Terrace Sitting area
Deluxe Double Queen
2 Four-poster Queen beds 39sqm/425sqft Large sitting area High ceiling Crown molding

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.2 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.3 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.3 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.7 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.8 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.9 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.8 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.2 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.4 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Dining

Peninsula Grill
Type- Full Service Restaurant Cuisine- Regional Hours of operation -Breakfast 0700-1000 -Dinner 1730-2130 Dress Code- Business Casual Voted best restaurant in the city every year since 1999.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Planters Inn

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah B.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Great Boutique Hotel

I would love to stay here again. Andrea at the front desk is amazing. This hotel is wonderful. They provide everything you need before you need it and the location is wonderful. This was my first trip to Charleston and I could not have picked a better hotel. The Peninsula at the Inn is the best meal in Charleston. I am so glad I got to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary G.
Business
West caldwell
Mar 16, 2015

Expensive, but worth it

The staff and service at this hotel was impeccable. We also loved the little parlor room with free tea and crackers and water. Be sure to eat at the hotel and have the coconut cake... it more than lives up to the hype.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rentalryan
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Dec 3, 2014

Probably the most relaxing long weekend in quite along time...

I couldn't have asked for a better planned long Thanksgiving weekend. I called the hotel prior to making my final plans and spoke with Jack at the front desk, which really was the decision maker. I arrived on Thanksgiving afternoon, we were warmly greeted and found every detail was handled perfectly. The location was perfect, the hotel staff warm and friendly. Two thumbs up for a cleaning crew you never saw, but when you came back to your room whether it be during the day or for turn down service, your room spotless. I recommend for its location, its small boutique feel and excellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel recommendations are spot on. Top ranked restuarant at the hotel, but just down the block was Gigi's which was great. No reservations needed, but I would recommend.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tybeelite
Business
Tybee Island, GA
Aug 4, 2014

Tybeelite Charleston

From the time that we arrived until the time we left, the staff was exceptional. Bellmen William was most helpful, getting us moved in and parking our car. The registration and check out could not have been easier. Our room was taken care of and was immaculate. We highly recommend this Charleston gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

225 rooftop bar

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
foppy
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Sep 29, 2013

Wonderful Inn

Our room was very large and the bed was very comfortable. We were in room 404 and had a nice view down Meeting Street and was very quiet. The staff were very pleasant to talk with. They gave us good directions to take a Harbor Boat Tour and a carriage ride. From this Inn you can walk all through the historic district. It was nice to come back to the Planter's Inn in the afternoon for Lemonaide. Maid servie was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roberto.
Business
Dublin,Ireland.
Sep 8, 2013

Hotel with a Sparkle.

Not as good as they think they are,however a beautiful hotel,good location,hotel staff had a bit of an air about them,no inroom movies aithought at least 100 tv stations,no swimming pool and one of the phones in the room did not work.lacked the warmth,smile,and the personal touch in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fantanstic restaurants in charleston,and good shopping. highly reccomend grill 225 restaurant.all food and there nitrotini cocktail served at -320 deg.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DOUGLAS FOSTER MOODY
Business
AIKEN SC
Aug 19, 2013

breakfast and parking charges

Hotel was above average in all areas except charges for parking and breakfast. These charges should be included at your current rate.This was a great experience and this was our second or third trip to your beautiful hotel.We'll be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

YOU CAN WALK TO EVERYTHING, VERY GOOD GETAWAY.

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donpatch
Business
Maryland
Jul 24, 2013

Great place

Wonderful location, walking distance form all the fun downtown stuff and restaurants. Very nice continental breakfast for only $10!! Peninnusla grill in the hotel is fabulous restaurant. Staff was more than helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
married with grown kids
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Apr 20, 2013

beautiful inn in a great location

one of the nicest places we have stayed....everyone was very cheerful and helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Planters Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reichert
Business
Virginia
Mar 10, 2013

Nice place to stay for exploring the historic district and King Street.

Would have been perfect had the restaurant not been closed for breakfast due to remodeling. The second morning the room they were using was full and we were told there would be a 20 minute wait. I requested a lamp be put in the room by the chair for reading and was assured it would be there when we returned. It was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top