$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Motel 6 Charleston South

1 star
2058 Savannah Hwy, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
31 reviews
Good for your money

We only stayed one night so our son could have surgery the next day at MUSC. We went home after... See full review

  • Jonsie9
  • Jun 17, 2010
good value

cheap and easy, worth the price convenient location no complaints pet friendly See full review

  • drummerboy
  • Jul 18, 2012
Motel 6 Charleston South is within 10 miles of Charleston Airport, The Citadel, Charleston Airforce Base, so much more. WiFi available in all guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open May - September and a coin laundry also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Charleston South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Motel 6 Charleston South Rooms

Standard
Standard 2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • American Military Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.7 mi
  • Theater99: 5.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.7 mi
  • Theater99: 5.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.9 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 6 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 6 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 6.1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 6.1 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 6.1 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 6.2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 6.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 9.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 10.6 mi

Dining

Checkers
Nearby walking distance.
China Gourmet
Nearby walking distance.
McDonalds
Nearby walking distance.
Ocean Garden
Nearby walking distance.
Red Lobster
Nearby walking distance.
Ruby Tuesdays
Nearby walking distance.
Taco Bell
Nearby walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Charleston South

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey1979
Business
Charleston
Jul 19, 2012

Wow!!!

Front desk clerk really nice. Got in the room, my baby girl found a dirty sock on the side of the bed. We took our shoes off to discover the carpet was wet. The bathroom floors were not clean. Short and curly hairs were in the shower. Red spots were all over the towels. Beds were made with no care at all. Soaps were thrown on sink. I called for the GM twice. I never got a return call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brittney1212
Business
Charleston, sc
Apr 29, 2013

...

I wasnt expecting anything special, and it was what I expected. The room was dirty when we arrived. I was woken up during the night and morning by loud guests yelling and running and loud cars going by. Not a good area to stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ME Bailey
Business
Southern Pines, NC
Nov 5, 2013

Listen to the reviews

Even nonsmoking rooms have ashtrays. No coffee in am. Staff rude. Good thing there was a police car on duty IN the parking lot! Other guests yelled at each other every night. Walls very thin! Even though cheap, still not worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chez Fish, about 20 minutes. Well worth the drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glotia
Business
Illinois
Dec 30, 2013

OMG, Me Bailey wrote my review for me!

Rude staff, no WIFI, roaches everywhere. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Each time I tried to phone the lobby to complain about anything they hung up the phone. The manager of the hotel (Darlene) is as rude as the rest of the staff. Keep away from this otel 6. There are other hotels for the same price, I was not lucky to find another room availability during the first 2 days of my 12 days stay and I paid in advance for all dayd at this hotel. Too bad, I regreat each minute that bad decision, the number of roaches were waking us up at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PugLuver
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 27, 2014

Some kind of bugs

This hotel is great in regards to location- 10 minutes from Downtown Charleston and 20 from Folly Beach. When we checked in, we were given a room for 2 adults with double bed even though I requested a king. Since we booked online, we weren't able to request a bigger bed. We woke up the next morning to lots of bites all over us, very itchy and red. We didn't end up staying our second night. I didn't inspect to see if there were bed bugs, but it seems there is at least some kind of bug issue there. The hotel is also next to a freeway, and you will hear that noise all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Sunflower Cafe for a great cheap and tasty breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bewildered
Business
Charleston, SC
May 16, 2011

Overpriced!!!!

OK, I know that in the hotel biz you really do "get what you pay for", but at $61, this motel is overpriced! Even at $61 I expect to get a room with a working phone and a dry floor in the bathroom. And it would be nice to at least have the clerk at the front desk smile, and at least pretend that they were glad you were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anderson, SC
Jul 28, 2010

Horrible Place to Stay

The beds where like sleeping on a concrete floor and the rooms stunk to high heaven. When we arrived there was alot of people just hanging out in the parking lot that was just walking around. our second night there the ac went out and it was 115 degrees outside. It was a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dust
Business
Low Country, SC
Sep 19, 2011

for fleas sake

fleas in the first room. second room doors would not unlock so they finally got us into a useable 3rd room. Nothing good on tv channels available. No dryer or iron or coffee pot in room. No microwave. Pretty old school. People at front desk were friendly through it all and we received a full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charleston was beautiful. The Old Towne restaurant on King Street was delightful. Good service, great food, good portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The happy traveler
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Very Basic

The room was too tiny to accommodate two full-sized beds. Found peanut shells on blankets, plus holes. Had to ask for another non-smoking room, because the first one stank horribly. Not enough towels--management claimed they had to go buy some more. No extras such as shampoo, tissues, and toilet paper. Thin walls; very noisy place; not enough parking spaces. Front desk help rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poppa
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Aug 14, 2011

last weekend before new job

Reserving the room online did not save any time or trouble. Still had to wait and fill out everything again. The staff was standing around talking upon our arrival and were not interested in being disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's is next door so if you choose this motel for the price then you have plenty of money to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top