$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Motel 6 Charleston South

1 star
View map of 2058 Savannah Hwy, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
31 reviews
Good for your money

We only stayed one night so our son could have surgery the next day at MUSC. We went home after... See full review

  • Jonsie9
  • Jun 17, 2010
good value

cheap and easy, worth the price convenient location no complaints pet friendly See full review

  • drummerboy
  • Jul 18, 2012
Motel 6 Charleston South is within 10 miles of Charleston Airport, The Citadel, Charleston Airforce Base, so much more. WiFi available in all guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open May - September and a coin laundry also available.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Charleston South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Motel 6 Charleston South Rooms

Standard
Standard 2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • American Military Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.7 mi
  • Theater99: 5.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 0.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.2 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.4 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.5 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.7 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.7 mi
  • Theater99: 5.8 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.9 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 6 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 6 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 6 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 6 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 6 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 6.1 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 6.1 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 6.1 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 6.2 mi
  • Port Charleston: 6.2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 6.2 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Middleton Place: 9.7 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 10.6 mi

Dining

Checkers
Nearby walking distance.
China Gourmet
Nearby walking distance.
McDonalds
Nearby walking distance.
Ocean Garden
Nearby walking distance.
Red Lobster
Nearby walking distance.
Ruby Tuesdays
Nearby walking distance.
Taco Bell
Nearby walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Charleston South

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonsie9
Business
Greer,S.C.
Jun 17, 2010

Good for your money

We only stayed one night so our son could have surgery the next day at MUSC. We went home after wards so we didn't need the room anymore, but if he had to stay in the hospital overnight, we would have stayed here another night. The room was actually cheaper than I was quoted on the phone earlier. The staff was great,room was comfy and clean and the air conditioning was a blessing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of shops and grocery stores nearby. The main reason we picked this motel (besides the price) is it was only 10 minutes from the hospital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drummerboy
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Jul 18, 2012

good value

cheap and easy, worth the price convenient location no complaints pet friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy OCR, UDC Lady
Business
Hamer, SC
Apr 10, 2011

5:30 A.M Wake up call wasn't great

I was there to attend the SCV Conference in Charleston. The room was nice and clean. The lady in registration was very nice and friendly; the hotel is in a great location. However at 5:30 A.M. a very loud mouthed woman started yelling at someone until the police showed up. By that time I was up much earlier then I wanted to be. Can't blame the hotel for stupid people, that don't care about anyone around them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved the closeness to the Rifle Club where I was attending the SCV and OCR function.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 22, 2007

Not Bad

For a cheap place to stay this is ideal, about 10 mins. from downtown charleston, and 15 mins from Folly Beach, not too bad. Although it is close to the highway, traffic noise was barely heard. If you accidently oversleep on your last day though, watch out, housekeeping is adament about getting you out at exactly 12:00pm. They proceeded to knock on our door at 11:30 am, 11:45 am, and 12:oo on the nose, and when each time it was obvious that 3 girls were trying to get their stuff together to get out, they then called the manager! We were out of there by 12:15, just remember to keep an eye on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to an outback, and other local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

all good

as with most motels, this is a no-frills type of stay, but everything was nice and clean. staff was always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Is close enough that downtown is no more than 15 min, and the beach is no more than 20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KMSpires
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Apr 14, 2014

Worth the price.

I was looking for a cheap hotel, because I wanted to spend money else where while I was down in Charleston. Its a good room for the price. Every thing was clean, had all the basic amenities a 1-star hotel should have. I thought however the room could use some minor updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Shem Creek, very nice seafood restaurants all with dining on the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frugal John
Business
Charleston SC
Apr 12, 2014

good value

I did not encounter any problems during my stay at this hotel. Bed quality was substandard. Overall experience was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Crasher Girl
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
May 30, 2012

Not Bad for the Cost

We were in town for a wedding and needed an inexpensive place to lay our heads. We have stayed in many hotels and this is what we would consider an average stay. We did not expect or care that there were any bells or whistles because the price was so low and we just needed a bed and a roof. We do not have any complaints. It is an older hotel but was clean and quiet. We left satisfied. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimbooJim
Business
Courtice
Mar 30, 2013

Vacation

booked a non smoking room, but after checking in to our room we found that it was a smoking room. Called the front desk and they apologized but said that was all that was available. It was pouring rain outside so we decided to stay, but never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DD Super Mama
Business
Rockingham, NC
Jun 7, 2013

Comfort PLus

Excellent location, close to interstate. Comfortable rooms and friendly staff.. Overall A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top