$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Motel 6 Charleston South

1 star
View map of 2058 Savannah Hwy, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Charleston South

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimbooJim
Business
Courtice
Mar 30, 2013

Vacation

booked a non smoking room, but after checking in to our room we found that it was a smoking room. Called the front desk and they apologized but said that was all that was available. It was pouring rain outside so we decided to stay, but never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JimbooJim
Business
Courtice
Mar 25, 2013

Vacation to Charleston, SC

we asked for a non smoking room, but we're put in a smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey1979
Business
Charleston
Jul 19, 2012

Wow!!!

Front desk clerk really nice. Got in the room, my baby girl found a dirty sock on the side of the bed. We took our shoes off to discover the carpet was wet. The bathroom floors were not clean. Short and curly hairs were in the shower. Red spots were all over the towels. Beds were made with no care at all. Soaps were thrown on sink. I called for the GM twice. I never got a return call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drummerboy
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Jul 18, 2012

good value

cheap and easy, worth the price convenient location no complaints pet friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Crasher Girl
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
May 30, 2012

Not Bad for the Cost

We were in town for a wedding and needed an inexpensive place to lay our heads. We have stayed in many hotels and this is what we would consider an average stay. We did not expect or care that there were any bells or whistles because the price was so low and we just needed a bed and a roof. We do not have any complaints. It is an older hotel but was clean and quiet. We left satisfied. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisabeth
Business
North carolina
Apr 9, 2012

Okay

The hotel was about what we expected for this price range- it suited our needs short term and was a quick drive to downtown. Didn't have the quietest of guests and wish quiet hours were enforced as children were running around outside the doors late at night with not much supervision. The second night was quieter though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NazV
Business
FL
Jan 8, 2012

Good staff, but the room stank

Positives about this hotel are the price and proximity to downtown Charleston. Negatives are that the room smelled, the bath towels were too small, the area is questionable, and the room lacks basic things like tissue paper. The staff were actually not bad. They accomodated a late request for late checkout when I was stuck at an interview in downtown Charleston. If cleanliness of a hotel room in not your top priority, then this hotel room may be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mall is nearby if you are intersted in shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dust
Business
Low Country, SC
Sep 19, 2011

for fleas sake

fleas in the first room. second room doors would not unlock so they finally got us into a useable 3rd room. Nothing good on tv channels available. No dryer or iron or coffee pot in room. No microwave. Pretty old school. People at front desk were friendly through it all and we received a full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charleston was beautiful. The Old Towne restaurant on King Street was delightful. Good service, great food, good portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The happy traveler
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Very Basic

The room was too tiny to accommodate two full-sized beds. Found peanut shells on blankets, plus holes. Had to ask for another non-smoking room, because the first one stank horribly. Not enough towels--management claimed they had to go buy some more. No extras such as shampoo, tissues, and toilet paper. Thin walls; very noisy place; not enough parking spaces. Front desk help rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poppa
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Aug 14, 2011

last weekend before new job

Reserving the room online did not save any time or trouble. Still had to wait and fill out everything again. The staff was standing around talking upon our arrival and were not interested in being disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's is next door so if you choose this motel for the price then you have plenty of money to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top