$409 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Market Pavilion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bronto19
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2010

REAL Southern Hospitality

Was within walking distance of historic, as well as scenic locations, and only a block from the water's edge. The food was a real treat with many restaurants within view of the hotel. The rooftop bar is a special treat allowing you to get a better view of Charleston without resorting to maps or other references. There are options for all families or even the single traveler to this great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartender at Slightly North of Broad was both insightful and charming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blond E
Business
Blakely PA
Jan 8, 2010

Best Hotel in Charleston!

Sightseeing, dining, jazz clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You are right in the center of activity with shops, historic sites, great restaurants, walking trails, etc. We only had to park our car at the hotel and just walk to everything available!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Dec 2, 2009

Very welcoming!

Very friendly staff, we had a problem with our door and they offered to change our room or have someone take a look at it in the morning. The pastries and coffee in the morning are a nice touch, on every floor. Just wish coffee was available be 7:00 AM. Great hotel would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
from normal people
Business
n.y.
Aug 24, 2009

great hotel

the best hotel in charleston and we have stayed in a few. the nightlife on the pool deck was amazing and the staff were excellent. pricey but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to henrys pub, upstairs garden for drinks and food. great pricing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cincinnati Parents
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 7, 2009

25th Wedding Anniversary

The hotel and staff were very curteous, nice and helpful. Always greeted you coming through the hallways. Concierge was very helpful and gave us great ideas on what to see in Charleston. The rooms were very neat and clean and very very elegant. We felt like royalty the whole time we stayed at the Market Pavilion. The Food at the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225 was incredible. The steaks were outstanding and cooked to our liking and the Pastry Chef did an outstanding job on the carmel flan with chantilly cream and fresh berries. Wrote in chocolate on the dessert plate "Happy 25th Anniversary". The staff at Grill 225 made our dinner very special. They took our pictures and gave us complimentary champaign. We will definitely go back to the Market Pavilion. Very classy place to visit. It sits next to the Flee Market and on a strip of fine dining and shopping. We bought a few items from the Flee Mkt and then we went on Museum tours and also toured Fort Sumter. Charleston is so full of history and charm. Everything is in walking distance. There's also carriage ride tours. We loved it and plan to go back to visit and stay at the Market Pavilion. This is southern hospitality at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk from Market Street to the port and take a ferry to see Fort Sumter. It's rich with history and is great for couples or the whole family. Take a bus or carriage tour as soon as you get into Charleston then go back and see the museums that you saw during the tour. The food is great in Charleston, but the Kobe burgers at the Pavilion Bar is like eating steak. They are wonderful. The Pavilion Bar has got the best view of the channel, port and city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuzieB
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Awesome place

I've stayed in so many of the hotels in Charleston and always visited the roof top bar after dinner in this one. Finally, I got the opportunity to stay here! I was worth the wait! The pool is great during the day too . . . not just for after dinner drinks at night! The service was impeccable. The location is top notch - you can eat fantastic food in the hotel or walk within the block for some of the best and most famous food in the city (SNOBS, Blossom, Cypress, High Cotton, Magnolia, and so many more!) Don't miss your opportunity to fall in love with this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Copper Penny - on King street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 3, 2007

Great location, comfortable surroundings

Luxurious room that could have been a bit bigger but nonetheless was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful, but could have provided a wider selection of meal options. All in all however, location overwhelmed all else. The gym was small biut at least they had one, Rooftop for lunch was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try SNOBs (Slightly North of Broad St.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 24, 2011

Perfect for a romantic getaway

The rooms, the rooftop pool and bar, and the restaurant are all beautiful and create a relaxing atmosphere. The location is great for walking downtown and even across the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton Head, SC
Jun 16, 2007

Romantic get-a-way

The Market Pavillion was a wonderful respite. Everything from the staff to the room and amenities were outstanding. Though the rates are not a bargain, it is worth a special occasion. The rooms are outstanding and the roof top pool overlooking the harbour was pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location. Can walk to many points of interest,shopping and dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Very classy, next to the old Market, in the middle of Charleston

Lots of shopping nearby, just walk, short walk to the Battery, perfect location. My wife loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top