$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Market Pavilion Hotel

4 stars
225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
43 reviews
Market Pavillion

Perfect location and beautiful hotel. Will stay again... See full review

  • T and P
  • Aug 9, 2014
Beautiful!

Elegant hotel. Walking distance to numerous resturants, shops and bars. Roof top pool and... See full review

  • Deb Ottodog
  • Apr 22, 2014
Luxury hotel in Charleston with free breakfast and Internet access
The Market Pavilion Hotel in Charleston is located in the downtown historic district, just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. The Market Pavilion Hotel is the only property in Charleston with a cascading pool on its roof. The pool also has a mosaic bottom, elegant fountains, lush vegetation and the rooftop offers views of the city. The Market Pavilion Hotel showcases old world southern hospitality, with fantastic amenities that include Hermès toiletries. The concierge level offers the utmost in hospitality.
Highlights
  • Rooftop cascading pool
  • AAA 4 Diamonds
  • Free Internet service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Smoke-free rooms, although smoking is permitted in the rooftop lounge
Rooms
Rooms at the Market Pavilion Hotel have Italian marble baths, Hermès toiletries, 600-thread count Italian linens and mahogany four-poster beds and furniture. Concierge level guests enjoy a hot breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres and complimentary shoe shine service. The presidential suite is available with one, two or three bedrooms.

Features
Luxury is the word at the Market Pavilion Hotel. The rooftop lounge offers sweeping views of the city and the waterfront. The concierge level, a restricted access floor, features an elegant private parlor, hot breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres and complimentary shoe shine service. Valet parking is offered (fees apply).
Dining
The Market Pavilion Hotel's Grill 225 features quintessential steakhouse cuisine. The Grill 225 bar is perhaps the ultimate spot to see and be seen in Charleston. The Pavilion Bar, located on the outdoor rooftop terrace, is a favorite lunch spot for Charlestonians. It offers a full lunch and dinner menu of USDA prime beef and the freshest seafood, as well as an eclectic assortment of inspired salads and sandwiches.


Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (13.8 mi/22.2 km)

Hotel Map

32.7808 -79.9276
Area served
Charleston
Nearby airports
CHARLESTON INTL AIRPORT, (CHS), 11.80, MI, NW;
Area description
Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Market Pavilion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Market Pavilion Hotel Rooms

Luxury Hotel
Luxury Level King..Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer located in the vanity drawer. Plush robes and towels and exclusive Hermes European toiletries are added for your comfort.

Included with your King guestroom is our Evening turndown service, complimentary High-speed Internet service, Evian bottled water and continental breakfast consisting of fresh baked pastries,
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Two Queen..Escape to our Luxury Two Queen accommodation. Decorated in grand historic Charleston style, each Luxury Two Queen room offers two queen beds, an extravagant Italian marble bath with standing shower, all in a setting unlike any other you'll find in Charleston.
Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer located in the vanity drawer. Plush robes and towels and exclusive Hermes European toiletries are added for your comfort.

Included with your King guestroom is
CLUB - HOTEL
Concierge Level king...The Concierge Level is our private floor which is protected by an access key, this restricted floor features select touches such as a deluxe hot breakfast with fresh baked pastries by our pastry chef Gerry Elliot from 7am-10am, afternoon tea service from 2pm-4pm and a hors d'oeuvre reception from 6pm-8pm.

Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer lo
CLUB - HOTEL
Corner king Jr. Suite...Each of these rooms reflects our signature old-world style décor, but they also boast a large marble bath, complete with a large whirlpool tub and separate multi-head spa shower.

Corner King Suites enjoy Concierge Level service and amenities, including the private concierge parlor serving a deluxe hot breakfast with fresh baked pastries by our pastry chef Gerry Elliot from 7am-10am, afternoon tea service from 2pm-4pm and an hors d'oeuvre reception from 6pm-8pm.

Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, originalc paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.9 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.6 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.7 mi

Dining

Grill 225
Under the direction of Executive Chef Demetre Castanas, the Grill 225 menu is headlined by 100% USDA Prime Beef and fresh seafood from both local and international waters. We promise classic Prime steak house cuisine, exceptional and innovative desserts, a glamorous ambience and a robust wine selection. Operated by industry veteran Nick Palassis, Grill 225 proudly features the city's most professional and attentive wait staff. Since opening in 2002, Grill 225 has become known to be the place where Charlestonians and visitors come for the best overall dining experience in Charleston. We look forward to serving you soon. Serving lunch and dinner daily.
Pavilion Bar
The Pavilion Bar is a rooftop oasis, complete with views of historic Charleston, a cascading pool, signature cocktails, eclectic cuisine offerings and the city's most spectacular sunsets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 43
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debdvs
Business
Wethersfield, CT
Jun 25, 2013

Anniversary weekend in Charleston.

The Market Pavilion is an extemely well managed hotel with amazing staff. The location is great and the rooftop poo/bar/restaurant is a great place to relax and watch the river traffic. The concierge level is wonderful with hot breakfast, afternoon tea and snacks and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. Amanda Ann, the concierge, is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grumpy in Marin
Business
Larkspur, CA
May 9, 2013

Lovely Hotel

Very nice experience. Clean, upscale, well taken care of rooms. It was difficult to get my car parked due to the busy street and valet, but that could just have been the time of day. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JAKTEX
Business
Texas
Mar 6, 2013

Pretty but Big Problems

The Market Pavilion is an attractive hotel. The lobby, guest rooms, and especially the bathrooms are beautifully outfitted. However, no beauty or charm can make up for the many problems my wife and I experienced during our five-night stay. Problems relating to late maid service (on most days not until 3 PM), broken items in the room, incomplete repairs and missed turn down service. Initially I called guest services to address these problems. They apologized but things didn’t get better. On the third day of our stay I called the hotel general manager Peter Wright and left a message. He called back a few hours later and spoke to my wife. He apologized and promised to make corrections. After his call, things actually got worse. On our last day at the hotel, our room was not serviced until 5:30 PM. I again called and left a message for Peter Wright about the late maid service and incomplete repairs. He never called back. Instead, the hotel sent a bottle of champagne – to our dirty room!! When I checked out at the front desk, I requested a credit for the previous night stay as the room had not been cleaned until 5:30 PM. The front desk clerk went to Peter Wright’s office to get approval. She came back and told me that Mr. Wright would only agree to a $50 credit. He never came out of his office to discuss the credit with me or apologize for the problems we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grill 225 is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greenvillegetaway
Business
Greenville SC
Jul 30, 2012

Unorganized and over priced for the experience

It took forever to check in at the front desk. It took about 30 min and I was the only one at the desk. Then it took the valet 20 min to get my car (while I was standing out side in the heat). I finally am able to get in my room and the air was set on 78 but it felt more like 85 in the room. So now there is no way to just sit and relax so we go walking around for awhile and get dinner. We come back and the temp had not dropped much in the room but it was now semi bearable. So I'm gonna take a shower and the only water temp you can get is scalding hot and the brass shower rod is extremely rusted. So now after one night it time o check out that goes well UNTIL valet loses my car!!!!! Took me 45 min to get it after they drove around 2 that were not mine. Even after I gave them the valet tag that they put with my key when they took my car! So there are a lot nicer for less money very close that I have stayed at before. I will go to one of them next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hymans Seafood is a must. It is one block behind hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EasyD
Business
North Carolina
Jun 14, 2012

35th Anniversary

We wanted to do something special,Market Pavilion Hotel seemed right and it was perfect.Friendly and knowledgeable staff,spacious rooms,very clean facility.Enjoyed the roof top pool,with wonderful views of the city and port.Excellent location across the street from great restaurants and shopping.If you go to Charleston you should consider this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

S.N.O.B.S and Hanks restaurant are great,be sure to make reservations early.Also,there is a restaurant on the waterfront where all the locals eat.Perfect place for lunch,eat outside on the deck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Douglasl
Business
South Carolina
Jan 8, 2012

Winter break

Rooftop bar with plexiglass walls and heaters made a great setting for an evening drink and the location made walking an easy way to see Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilmington nc
Jul 28, 2011

okay

The noise was load super early in the morning. With serivce workers out in the streeets. Very load. The bed was uncomfortable. Just was I remembered it before. However you can't beat the rooftop bar and nice hallways and bathrooms and cleanness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington DE
Jul 5, 2011

Service, service, service.

We were welcomed at the curb our car and luggage whisked away and then brought to our room, the luggage that is. Every request was met with enthusiasm! Restaurants were a bit pricey so we did not use the $25 coupons but tons of restaurants in the area. Charleston and it's inhabitants we found to welcoming and charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a guided tour of the city. If we'd tried to see things on our own we would not have gotten such a sense of the history of Charleston. Of course, 1 call to the concierge and all was taken care of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 24, 2011

Perfect for a romantic getaway

The rooms, the rooftop pool and bar, and the restaurant are all beautiful and create a relaxing atmosphere. The location is great for walking downtown and even across the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 19, 2011

The Good Life

This was a place of luxury and a place where you get waited on hand and foot...for a price. We did enjoy it very much but we're a little independent and don't need someone getting our car, ice, etc. Otherwise we really enjoyed it. We were not impressed with the quality of the food, drinks or service of the rooftop restaurant for the price. We had to get up and ask for a menu and we had to ask for our order to be filled after she passed us like 4 times. The drinks were terrible for the astronomical price. The lobster/shrimp seviche was not marinated long enough to cook properly. Again for the price, you expect much better. Stay there, but eat elsewhere. You'll get better food for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Magnolia Plantation to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A truly amazing and tranquil place. Kids will even like it too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top