$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Market Pavilion Hotel

4 stars
225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Market Pavillion

Perfect location and beautiful hotel. Will stay again... See full review

  • T and P
  • Aug 9, 2014
Beautiful!

Elegant hotel. Walking distance to numerous resturants, shops and bars. Roof top pool and... See full review

  • Deb Ottodog
  • Apr 22, 2014
Luxury hotel in Charleston with free breakfast and Internet access
The Market Pavilion Hotel in Charleston is located in the downtown historic district, just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. The Market Pavilion Hotel is the only property in Charleston with a cascading pool on its roof. The pool also has a mosaic bottom, elegant fountains, lush vegetation and the rooftop offers views of the city. The Market Pavilion Hotel showcases old world southern hospitality, with fantastic amenities that include Hermès toiletries. The concierge level offers the utmost in hospitality.
Highlights
  • Rooftop cascading pool
  • AAA 4 Diamonds
  • Free Internet service
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Smoke-free rooms, although smoking is permitted in the rooftop lounge
Rooms
Rooms at the Market Pavilion Hotel have Italian marble baths, Hermès toiletries, 600-thread count Italian linens and mahogany four-poster beds and furniture. Concierge level guests enjoy a hot breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres and complimentary shoe shine service. The presidential suite is available with one, two or three bedrooms.

Features
Luxury is the word at the Market Pavilion Hotel. The rooftop lounge offers sweeping views of the city and the waterfront. The concierge level, a restricted access floor, features an elegant private parlor, hot breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres and complimentary shoe shine service. Valet parking is offered (fees apply).
Dining
The Market Pavilion Hotel's Grill 225 features quintessential steakhouse cuisine. The Grill 225 bar is perhaps the ultimate spot to see and be seen in Charleston. The Pavilion Bar, located on the outdoor rooftop terrace, is a favorite lunch spot for Charlestonians. It offers a full lunch and dinner menu of USDA prime beef and the freshest seafood, as well as an eclectic assortment of inspired salads and sandwiches.


Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • Amtrak station (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
Attractions
  • Fort Sumter and Dinner Cruises (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation (13.8 mi/22.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Market Pavilion Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Market Pavilion Hotel Rooms

Luxury Hotel
Luxury Level King..Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer located in the vanity drawer. Plush robes and towels and exclusive Hermes European toiletries are added for your comfort.

Included with your King guestroom is our Evening turndown service, complimentary High-speed Internet service, Evian bottled water and continental breakfast consisting of fresh baked pastries,
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Two Queen..Escape to our Luxury Two Queen accommodation. Decorated in grand historic Charleston style, each Luxury Two Queen room offers two queen beds, an extravagant Italian marble bath with standing shower, all in a setting unlike any other you'll find in Charleston.
Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer located in the vanity drawer. Plush robes and towels and exclusive Hermes European toiletries are added for your comfort.

Included with your King guestroom is
CLUB - HOTEL
Concierge Level king...The Concierge Level is our private floor which is protected by an access key, this restricted floor features select touches such as a deluxe hot breakfast with fresh baked pastries by our pastry chef Gerry Elliot from 7am-10am, afternoon tea service from 2pm-4pm and a hors d'oeuvre reception from 6pm-8pm.

Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, original paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattresses.

The bath is Italian marble with a separate shower and tub, gilded gold mirror flanked by Lennox wall sconces, lighted make-up mirror, scale and a hairdryer lo
CLUB - HOTEL
Corner king Jr. Suite...Each of these rooms reflects our signature old-world style décor, but they also boast a large marble bath, complete with a large whirlpool tub and separate multi-head spa shower.

Corner King Suites enjoy Concierge Level service and amenities, including the private concierge parlor serving a deluxe hot breakfast with fresh baked pastries by our pastry chef Gerry Elliot from 7am-10am, afternoon tea service from 2pm-4pm and an hors d'oeuvre reception from 6pm-8pm.

Experience a brightly polished mahogany foyer that introduces an opulent guestroom in old Charleston-style. Heavy plaster crown molding, originalc paintings, old-world decor and fine, rich fabrics await your stay. Exquisite mahogany furniture in each room features poster beds, marble topped bedside tables, a desk area and a sitting area. A CD Player Alarm Clock is located at the bedside table. 600 thread count Italian linen sheeting and cashmere blankets cover the bed's deluxe mattres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.1 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.3 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.3 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.5 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • The Citadel: 2.1 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • American Military Museum: 6.1 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.9 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.6 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.7 mi

Dining

Grill 225
Under the direction of Executive Chef Demetre Castanas, the Grill 225 menu is headlined by 100% USDA Prime Beef and fresh seafood from both local and international waters. We promise classic Prime steak house cuisine, exceptional and innovative desserts, a glamorous ambience and a robust wine selection. Operated by industry veteran Nick Palassis, Grill 225 proudly features the city's most professional and attentive wait staff. Since opening in 2002, Grill 225 has become known to be the place where Charlestonians and visitors come for the best overall dining experience in Charleston. We look forward to serving you soon. Serving lunch and dinner daily.
Pavilion Bar
The Pavilion Bar is a rooftop oasis, complete with views of historic Charleston, a cascading pool, signature cocktails, eclectic cuisine offerings and the city's most spectacular sunsets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Dec 2, 2009

Very welcoming!

Very friendly staff, we had a problem with our door and they offered to change our room or have someone take a look at it in the morning. The pastries and coffee in the morning are a nice touch, on every floor. Just wish coffee was available be 7:00 AM. Great hotel would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Still a Yankee
Business
Greensboro North Carolina
Nov 29, 2009

Great place

Market pavilion Hotel one of the best locations in Charleston. Staff is young and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolias should never be missed !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cincinnati Parents
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 7, 2009

25th Wedding Anniversary

The hotel and staff were very curteous, nice and helpful. Always greeted you coming through the hallways. Concierge was very helpful and gave us great ideas on what to see in Charleston. The rooms were very neat and clean and very very elegant. We felt like royalty the whole time we stayed at the Market Pavilion. The Food at the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225 was incredible. The steaks were outstanding and cooked to our liking and the Pastry Chef did an outstanding job on the carmel flan with chantilly cream and fresh berries. Wrote in chocolate on the dessert plate "Happy 25th Anniversary". The staff at Grill 225 made our dinner very special. They took our pictures and gave us complimentary champaign. We will definitely go back to the Market Pavilion. Very classy place to visit. It sits next to the Flee Market and on a strip of fine dining and shopping. We bought a few items from the Flee Mkt and then we went on Museum tours and also toured Fort Sumter. Charleston is so full of history and charm. Everything is in walking distance. There's also carriage ride tours. We loved it and plan to go back to visit and stay at the Market Pavilion. This is southern hospitality at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk from Market Street to the port and take a ferry to see Fort Sumter. It's rich with history and is great for couples or the whole family. Take a bus or carriage tour as soon as you get into Charleston then go back and see the museums that you saw during the tour. The food is great in Charleston, but the Kobe burgers at the Pavilion Bar is like eating steak. They are wonderful. The Pavilion Bar has got the best view of the channel, port and city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Oct 6, 2009

WISH WE COULD HAVE STAYED LONGER!

We stayed at this hotel for just one night while coming home from the beach. it's great. The rooftop bar is AMAZING, staff was super friendly, rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Florida
Sep 8, 2009

First Class location and accomodations

Extremely plush for the amount we paid per night on a holiday weekend, the staff were excellent. Also they have Hermes products in the bathrooms and beautiful robes and slippers. I needed a fridge for medicine and they brought one right up...They also had coffee and pasties on the lobby on each floor which was an unexpected treat. Through Orbitz we had $25 per day vouchers which we used at the Pavilion Bar, order the Firefly Tea Martini, made from vodka infused tea. Great holiday weekend, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pearl, on Bay street is a great place for fresh oysters. The best restaurant is McCready's also a short walk on Bay. We found some great gifts at the Market which is next door to the hotel, lots of local crafts and artisens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
from normal people
Business
n.y.
Aug 24, 2009

great hotel

the best hotel in charleston and we have stayed in a few. the nightlife on the pool deck was amazing and the staff were excellent. pricey but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to henrys pub, upstairs garden for drinks and food. great pricing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 13, 2009

Beautiful hotel, charming service,

When we got to the hotel we were taen to a room that was not what I ased for and was promised by Orbitz so we requested an upgrade to the marble bathroom with jacuzzi. They didn't want to give us that so we got a ey to the concierge floor but that was in no way good compensation for the mix-up on the room. So then they did upgrade us and then we were thrilled with the room. Sadly, we got food poisoining at a restaurant recommended by the concierge and I've been sick since therefore haven't been able to do anything I came to do except see my daughter which is great. Had real trouble changing flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rooftop bar fabulous! Employees were very helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bowling green, Va
Apr 22, 2009

Luxury, elegance and convenience

This hotel exuded old world charm and paid great attention to small details. We loved the morning coffee and pastries. And the staff was cheery and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 225 grille is superb!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point
Jun 14, 2008

Upscale, great location

Check in was efficient, the room was great with a large bathroom. AM coffee & pastries were included. Location is great right at the market in Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the rooftop bar has great views of Chatleston and the harbor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
roswell
May 26, 2008

unforgettable experience

This was my first trip to Charleston, SC and of course, first @ The Market Pavillion. From the moment I stepped into this hotel, I was welcomed with great attitude from the staff. they were extremely nice and helpful during our stay. We were celebrating a birthday, and they reserved a table for us @ their roof top restaurant @ last minute, and treated us to drinks!!!! The view at this restaurant is a must see, specially @ sunset. The restaurant inside the hotel had a great menu, a little pricy, but worthed the taste. We found out that they require advanced( a few days) reservation, but since we were the hotel guests, they made sure we could get a table. You could not ask for any better place to stay in charleston, right in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to restaurants, museums, shopping, and of course, night life. I will definetly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

casual and inexpensive food @ Rue de Jon cafe, within walking distance. Lunch and brunch @ Magnolia. And there is a tapas place nearby the hotel that I don't remember the name but every one knows it, and it is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top