$409 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Market Pavilion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blond E
Business
Blakely PA
Jan 8, 2010

Best Hotel in Charleston!

Sightseeing, dining, jazz clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You are right in the center of activity with shops, historic sites, great restaurants, walking trails, etc. We only had to park our car at the hotel and just walk to everything available!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Dec 2, 2009

Very welcoming!

Very friendly staff, we had a problem with our door and they offered to change our room or have someone take a look at it in the morning. The pastries and coffee in the morning are a nice touch, on every floor. Just wish coffee was available be 7:00 AM. Great hotel would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Still a Yankee
Business
Greensboro North Carolina
Nov 29, 2009

Great place

Market pavilion Hotel one of the best locations in Charleston. Staff is young and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolias should never be missed !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cincinnati Parents
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 7, 2009

25th Wedding Anniversary

The hotel and staff were very curteous, nice and helpful. Always greeted you coming through the hallways. Concierge was very helpful and gave us great ideas on what to see in Charleston. The rooms were very neat and clean and very very elegant. We felt like royalty the whole time we stayed at the Market Pavilion. The Food at the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225 was incredible. The steaks were outstanding and cooked to our liking and the Pastry Chef did an outstanding job on the carmel flan with chantilly cream and fresh berries. Wrote in chocolate on the dessert plate "Happy 25th Anniversary". The staff at Grill 225 made our dinner very special. They took our pictures and gave us complimentary champaign. We will definitely go back to the Market Pavilion. Very classy place to visit. It sits next to the Flee Market and on a strip of fine dining and shopping. We bought a few items from the Flee Mkt and then we went on Museum tours and also toured Fort Sumter. Charleston is so full of history and charm. Everything is in walking distance. There's also carriage ride tours. We loved it and plan to go back to visit and stay at the Market Pavilion. This is southern hospitality at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk from Market Street to the port and take a ferry to see Fort Sumter. It's rich with history and is great for couples or the whole family. Take a bus or carriage tour as soon as you get into Charleston then go back and see the museums that you saw during the tour. The food is great in Charleston, but the Kobe burgers at the Pavilion Bar is like eating steak. They are wonderful. The Pavilion Bar has got the best view of the channel, port and city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
Oct 6, 2009

WISH WE COULD HAVE STAYED LONGER!

We stayed at this hotel for just one night while coming home from the beach. it's great. The rooftop bar is AMAZING, staff was super friendly, rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Florida
Sep 8, 2009

First Class location and accomodations

Extremely plush for the amount we paid per night on a holiday weekend, the staff were excellent. Also they have Hermes products in the bathrooms and beautiful robes and slippers. I needed a fridge for medicine and they brought one right up...They also had coffee and pasties on the lobby on each floor which was an unexpected treat. Through Orbitz we had $25 per day vouchers which we used at the Pavilion Bar, order the Firefly Tea Martini, made from vodka infused tea. Great holiday weekend, would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pearl, on Bay street is a great place for fresh oysters. The best restaurant is McCready's also a short walk on Bay. We found some great gifts at the Market which is next door to the hotel, lots of local crafts and artisens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
from normal people
Business
n.y.
Aug 24, 2009

great hotel

the best hotel in charleston and we have stayed in a few. the nightlife on the pool deck was amazing and the staff were excellent. pricey but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to henrys pub, upstairs garden for drinks and food. great pricing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 13, 2009

Beautiful hotel, charming service,

When we got to the hotel we were taen to a room that was not what I ased for and was promised by Orbitz so we requested an upgrade to the marble bathroom with jacuzzi. They didn't want to give us that so we got a ey to the concierge floor but that was in no way good compensation for the mix-up on the room. So then they did upgrade us and then we were thrilled with the room. Sadly, we got food poisoining at a restaurant recommended by the concierge and I've been sick since therefore haven't been able to do anything I came to do except see my daughter which is great. Had real trouble changing flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rooftop bar fabulous! Employees were very helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bowling green, Va
Apr 22, 2009

Luxury, elegance and convenience

This hotel exuded old world charm and paid great attention to small details. We loved the morning coffee and pastries. And the staff was cheery and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 225 grille is superb!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point
Jun 14, 2008

Upscale, great location

Check in was efficient, the room was great with a large bathroom. AM coffee & pastries were included. Location is great right at the market in Charleston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the rooftop bar has great views of Chatleston and the harbor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top