$409 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Market Pavilion Hotel

4 stars
View map of 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EasyD
North Carolina
Jun 14, 2012

35th Anniversary

We wanted to do something special,Market Pavilion Hotel seemed right and it was perfect.Friendly and knowledgeable staff,spacious rooms,very clean facility.Enjoyed the roof top pool,with wonderful views of the city and port.Excellent location across the street from great restaurants and shopping.If you go to Charleston you should consider this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

S.N.O.B.S and Hanks restaurant are great,be sure to make reservations early.Also,there is a restaurant on the waterfront where all the locals eat.Perfect place for lunch,eat outside on the deck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 19, 2011

The Good Life

This was a place of luxury and a place where you get waited on hand and foot...for a price. We did enjoy it very much but we're a little independent and don't need someone getting our car, ice, etc. Otherwise we really enjoyed it. We were not impressed with the quality of the food, drinks or service of the rooftop restaurant for the price. We had to get up and ask for a menu and we had to ask for our order to be filled after she passed us like 4 times. The drinks were terrible for the astronomical price. The lobster/shrimp seviche was not marinated long enough to cook properly. Again for the price, you expect much better. Stay there, but eat elsewhere. You'll get better food for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Magnolia Plantation to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A truly amazing and tranquil place. Kids will even like it too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
May 16, 2011

Great location. Wonderful hotel.

We stayed at the Market Pavilion during our daughter's wedding weekend. Location great if you want to be in the historic area. Rooms well appointed and comfortable. Service great. Food outstanding. Very nice bar on rooftop-great while at bar but noisy in some of the rooms until early am hours. Please note-unless on Club level,they don't serve breakfast except by room service. Overall, outstanding hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grill 225 in hotel is outstanding. Peninsula Grill is also within walking distance. Meals will be memorable- and so will the tab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tustin, CA
Apr 3, 2011

Historic & Romantic Charm

The Hotel experience was top drawer. We will stay there on our next trip to Charleston. The only down side was noise coming from a Club on the opposite side of the City Market during the weekend. We greatly enjoyed the Hotel's Grill 225 restaurant, the 225 Bar and the Rooftop bar (all were memorable). The vouchers provided with each night's stay were put to good use for food and beverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid of the horse drawn carriage experience. Sure it is a bit touristy, but it gives you a good overview of the City whether you are a couple celebrating birthdays (our experience) or traveling with the kids. Once oriented, you can't beat long walks around the beautiful neighborhoods. Good tips for dining would be the restaurant Toast for breakfast or Lunch. Tommy Condon's Irish Pub is great for dinner. Both are a short walk from the City Market area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
She Lives on a Rock
Business
Maine
Mar 19, 2011

Excellent location

The hotel was centrally located, but our second-floor room was extremely quiet. The staff was helpful, courteous, and friendly. The bed was very comfy, and the bathroom offered a great shower with separate tub and a lighted makeup mirror. The TV service offered was minimal, so that was a slight disappointment to the kids, but they watched CNN. The rooftop bar and pool were fun at night. The service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Charleston and wished it didn't have to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the markets, and bring comfortable shoes, because Charleston is a great city to walk around in. We spent a day walking around and admiring the architecture. The aquarium is the best we've visited. The ghost tour of the old jail was helmed by an extremely knowledgeable and enjoyable guide, [...], and was also pretty spooky. There is great food everywhere, and the nearby beaches are fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 11, 2010

Excellent Stay in Chas

We had an excellent stay at the Market Pavillion Hotel off East Bay street. Newly remodeled from an old warehouse this stately hotel was in the heart of the classy downtown of colonial Charleston. Upon arrival one does have some parking confusion as there is not a visible sign to explain their valet service but we figured this out by the second time around the block. The room view was of the garage but the room itself was clean and in a Federalist design reflecting the history of the city. There was a modern shower and bath as well as free Internet wifi. Free pastries served on the floor in the morning were excellent and a free New York Times, which I didn't read like the rest of America. The beds were hard but the linens were clean and soft. Ice machine and vending near elevators hidden by wooden doors. Fitness center was free but with obvious old equipment. Pool was adequate and on the roof. Hotel restaurant called Grill 22 was excellent as well as having superb service. Checkout was easy just be aware they hold a $410.00 deposit even when paying in advance on [...]. Parking was twenty dollars a day by valet. Maids were excellent and had a nice turndown service with sesame cookies and free bottled water. Would stay there again in a heartbeat, by far one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take both a night and day walking tour of the city, recommend Bulldog Tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 9, 2010

Nice

First class service, comfortable room, and great location. Television picture not clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
May 23, 2010

Great Experience

Great Location. Fantastic service and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bronto19
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2010

REAL Southern Hospitality

Was within walking distance of historic, as well as scenic locations, and only a block from the water's edge. The food was a real treat with many restaurants within view of the hotel. The rooftop bar is a special treat allowing you to get a better view of Charleston without resorting to maps or other references. There are options for all families or even the single traveler to this great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bartender at Slightly North of Broad was both insightful and charming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Family Jewel
Business
Richmond, VA
Feb 27, 2010

Great location, wonderful restaurant

Enjoyed lunch and dinner in the hotel's Grill 225. Walked to nearby restaurants recommended by the hotel staff - excellent. Took a tour of the city on the mule driven carriage. Visited historic Ft Sumter. Toured many areas of the "South of Broad" historic district. The homes, gardens and history lessons were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant excellent for lunch and dinner. Many restaurants within short walking distance. Market Street shopping next door. City walking tours close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Feb 3, 2010

Great, relaxing retreat

We were there for an event in the area, and were so glad to arrive at Market Pavillion to tuck in on a rainy, cold day. The staff were great, and the in-hotel dining was superb. It would have been nice to have an inroom mini-bar for small items. Market Pavillion was a treat as compared to other places we have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Grill 225 was wonderful, and on a cold rainy day, the perfect solution for dining.. Staff were great with reservations, and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top