$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

3 stars
11 Ashley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
337 reviews
family get away

The hotel was great. When we booked the hotel we did not know it was pet friendly. Had we known we... See full review

  • pugger 35
  • Apr 30, 2014
family get away

I did not that the hotel allowed pet in the rooms. My wife is afraid of dogs and the people in the... See full review

  • pugger 35
  • Apr 21, 2014
Budget hotel in Charleston with free Internet and swimming pool
The La Quinta Inn and Suites Charleston Riverview, overlooking the Ashley River, is just a mile from historic downtown Charleston. The newly-renovated hotel has a shuttle to downtown for a small fee. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Charleston Riverview serves a free breakfast every morning. The 175 rooms and five suites have free wireless Internet. Parking is free. The La Quinta Inn and Suites Charleston Riverview has a fitness center and outdoor pool.
Highlights
  • Free breakfast
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet access
  • Outdoor swimming pool

 

Rooms
All rooms have free wireless Internet. Some rooms at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Charleston Riverview have a view of the marina.
Dining
There are several popular restaurants next door to the La Quinta Inn and Suites Charleston Riverview including California Dreaming, Hyman's Seafood, Ruby Tuesday, T-Bonz Steakhouse and Ye Old Fashion Ice Cream.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (12.1 mi/19.5 km)
  • Shuttle to downtown Charleston (fees apply)

Attractions
  • Charleston Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Harbor Tours (including Fort Sumter) (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Downtown Charleston (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Patriots Point Park/USS Yorktown (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Magnolia Plantation and Gardens (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
Policies and fees
Pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7767 -79.9619
Nearby airports
Charleston AFB/Intl Airport, (CHS), 12.00, MI, SE; Charlotte/Douglas Intl Airport, (CLT), 210.00, MI, S; Hartsfield-Jackson Intl Airport, (ATL), 238.00, MI, SE; Savannah Intl Airport, (SAV), 115.00, MI, NE
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview Rooms

Deluxe
Two Queen-Bedded Room w/Sofa Bed, Features two Queen-size beds, one full-size sofa, microwave, refrigerator, cofee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, and voice mail.
Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, sofa sleeper, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Exec king pillowtop marina view micro fridge 32 inch hdtv free wifi free breakfast coffeemaker iron hairdryer
Standard
One Full Bed, Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.
Standard
Two Full Non-Smoking Relaxing and comforable room with two full beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two double pillowtop beds street view 32 inch hdtv free wifi free breakfast coffeemaker iron hairdryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Video checkout
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.6 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Theater99: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 1.6 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 1.6 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 1.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 1.8 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 1.8 mi
  • Theater99: 1.8 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 1.8 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 1.9 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 1.9 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 1.9 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 1.9 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 2 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 2 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 2.1 mi
  • Port Charleston: 2.1 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 2.2 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 2.3 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 3.1 mi
  • American Military Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.9 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 9.5 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 10.3 mi
  • Middleton Place: 13.3 mi

Dining

California Dreaming Restaurant
Sit beside the Ashley River and enjoy an unmatched view of the Charleston Harbor in the only restaurant in Charleston where every table has an excellent waterfront view. Serving Prime Rib, Broiled Steaks and Seafood, Signature Salads, Baby Back Ribs, Sand
Hyman s Seafood
Life Magazine ... January 1994 Full Page Pictorial. NY Times: "Great Southern cuisine with impeccable service." Travel and Leisure: "One of the more fascinating eating establishments in our trip through the Southeast." Atlanta Journal Constitution: "De

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wedding crasher
Business
Chicago
Oct 27, 2012

Mid-week getaway

Great location right outside of the bustle of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Great Gaffer
Cumming, Georgia
Oct 23, 2012

Good Value

Very good value as compared to the hotels downtown. The staff was great. The bathroom needs updating. The shuttle service downtown was great and a good deal for $8 per day per person for all the trips you want. I would recommend the LaQuinta if you are looking for a good value, a good breakfast, and a comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Some restaurants require business casual or nicer. A few restaurants are rather proud of themselves. If you know what I mean. They also had lots of empty seats.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy business viajes
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 20, 2012

Great value

For the value of the room you get a clean room, nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, great restaurant next door, $8 shuttle that takes you and picks you up from the historic district, fitness room, pool, and a great view. The hotel staff recommended taking the $1.75 bus to the airport (which I did) instead of paying $30 for the cab. It's an hour long ride and you catch it at the visitor center. Kudos for the recommendation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudyBFL
Boynton Beach, FL
Oct 13, 2012

Friendly & helpful staff

Your staff was friendly and very willing to assist us to find recreation and dining facilities that met our needs. Kudos to Val for her help!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try a bus tour of the historic district

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lorien
Business
Charlotte
Oct 11, 2012

Quick biz trip

needed basic affordable lodging with easy access. i've stayed there before and new it was what i needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blue sky ocean traveler
Columbia, SC
Sep 24, 2012

One night family beach stay

First, I will explain why I did not give this hotel a very good rating: I felt that for the money, it was honestly not worth it. The hotel was dirty, (especially the bathroom) and it smelled like animal urine (however I was not aware that it was a pet friendly hotel when I first booked it). Dogs barked next door in the middle of the night, and woke myself and my family up. In addition, I had an allergy attack due to perhaps pet dander or something in the middle of the night. (Which is rare for me)...The towels were scratchy and the bathroom tub was dirty. In addition, the continental breakfast was bare minimum and for instance, when the milk or something ran out, I could not locate a staff member to restock any breakfast items. On a positive note, I will say that the front desk staff was friendly, and the bed was comfortable. The location was right on the bay, where you could view yachts, so that was neat! It's also a close drive to Folly Beach too. Therefore, that is my experience. Perhaps if we were pet lovers or did not have allergies it might have gone better. And because of the cheaper rate, you just kind of got what you paid for. I would just say that I've stayed in Masters Inns that were better than this. From now on, I do believe I will just save up more money and stay in a nicer and newer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach and downtown is not far away.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alihashim
charlotte, nc
Sep 19, 2012

a place of silence

friendly receiptionists , suffeceint parking lots,ordinary breakfast and humple but clean building. I think room services need to improve...it is good place for families to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maddie M
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2012

Finally got to Charleston

Well our hallway on the third floor (West Wing) smelled like human urine; not pet urine mind you. The smell did not go away the whole time we were there which was for 3 nights. Of course the ice machine on our floor was broken so we had to go to other floors for ice. The staff was okay; not overly friendly but not rude either. The breakfast was also just okay although they did have 3 waffle makers and batter and that part was great! Our room was so extremely humid; more so than the hallways or lobby area. We knew it'd be humid in Charleston but our room seemed to capture humidity and store it. The AC unit was extremely loud but that is pretty normal for this level hotel. I'd rate this hotel 2 stars and not 3. It probably has 3 stars due to the breakfast but in all honesty, the room type, wear and tear level and cleanliness was on par with a Motel 6 or Days Inn; however, Motel 6 and Days Inn cost less so it makes sense. With this hotel, you get less than you pay for. A plus is the fact you can bring your pet. We didn't have our pet but pet owners were responsible and the pets didn't make any messes! Location-wise it's close to downtown Charleston and to Folly Beach so if you want to check both locations out, it's right in the middle. It's right off the main road and bridge to Charleston so it was well located; however nothing nearby to walk to except a California Dreaming restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sullivan Island beach was very nice; nicer than Folly!

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith from Douglasville
Douglasville, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Nice hotel in Charleston

Everything went very well - check/out in was easy, plenty of parking, the rooms were clean, the view of the marina was really great, the breakfast food/selection was really good, very short/easy drive into town, and I especially liked the check-in and check-out hours. This is a pet friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Turner
Knoxville, Tn.
Aug 20, 2012

Need to work on the details

I realize they have a high volume of guests but there are little things that need improvement at this hotel like the cleanliness of the vending areas and the outdated bathrooms. The room itself was pretty good and the staff was pretty helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top