$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Kings Courtyard Inn

3 stars
198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
46 reviews
Beautiful Historic Hotel

We visit Charleston at least 5 times a year so we have been able to stay at quite a few hotels in... See full review

  • Jenn loves Charleston
  • Jul 21, 2014
Historic hotel in the Old South

The Kings Courtyard Hotel is centrally located in downtown Charleston, South Carolina. It is in a... See full review

  • La Prof
  • Jul 8, 2014
Historic charm and individual character in atmospheric Charleston, South Carolina
The Kings Courtyard Inn breathes the historic atmosphere of old Charleston, and guests marvel at the authentic setting of the hotel on King Street, the main trail into the city in days gone by. The location of the Kings Courtyard Inn places guests at the heart of the historic district of Charleston, with ideal access to many of the main sights and entertainment venues within the city. Shops, churches, restaurants and gardens are within easy walking distance, and there are plenty of sights to see and things to do in charming Charleston.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Historic location for exploration of authentically historic King Street area of Charleston
  • Rooms of individual distinction with oversized beds and courtyard views
  • Central location for easy access to shops, sights, restaurants and entertainment
The Kings Courtyard Inn Rooms
The rooms at the Kings Courtyard Inn present a charming home away from home for guests, who benefit from the central location at the heart of historic Charleston. Antique reproduction furniture and original hardwood floors seem to transport guests back in time to experience the history of the charismatic area of King Street. Modern conveniences have their place here as well. Rooms are equipped with contemporary comforts, such as cozy bedding and an in-room refrigerator, as well as wireless Internet access. Other options include a courtyard view, working fireplaces, jetted tubs, and canopied beds, while all rooms include an oversized bed for additional comfort. The combination of contemporary technology and period furnishings and architecture provides guests with a relaxing and comfortable way to experience the historic atmosphere of both the Kings Courtyard Inn and its environment in Charleston, South Carolina.
Things To Do:
  • Charleston Place (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Charleston City Market (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marion Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (1.1 mi/1.8 km)

Hotel Map

32.7795 -79.9328
Area served
Kings Courtyard Inn is set in the heart of downtown Charleston. The inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's famous waterfront, historic homes, gardens, churches and City Market.
Nearby airports
Charleston Regional Airport(CHS)
Area description
Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district and provides instant access to the antique and shopping districts, the City Market, historic homes, and many of the city's best restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kings Courtyard Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Kings Courtyard Inn Rooms

Standard with 2 Double Beds
These charming rooms feature antique reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors, and oriental rugs. Other features include triple sheeted bedding, a clock radio, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, TV, and in-room refrigerator.
Standard One King or One Queen Bed
These charming rooms feature antique reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors, and oriental rugs. Other features include triple sheeted bedding, a clock radio, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, TV, and in-room refrigerator.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 0.2 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 0.2 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 0.2 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 0.2 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 0.2 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 0.3 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 0.4 mi
  • Theater99: 0.4 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Port Charleston: 0.4 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 0.6 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 0.8 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 0.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 1.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Citadel: 1.9 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 2.9 mi
  • American Military Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 6.1 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 10.7 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 11.4 mi
  • Middleton Place: 14.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Kings Courtyard Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn loves Charleston
Hickory, NC
Jul 21, 2014

Beautiful Historic Hotel

We visit Charleston at least 5 times a year so we have been able to stay at quite a few hotels in the area. My husband and I both agree, the Kings Courtyard Inn is one of our new favorites! The location right on King St. was perfect for everything we enjoy (dining, shopping, and just walking through the historic streets). We were traveling with our infant, so we were a little apprehensive, however, the friendly, attentive staff accommodated our every need. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The carriage tours are great! They allow you to see the city and learn about the rich history. We have taken several and learn something new every time!

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Prof
San Bruno, California
Jul 8, 2014

Historic hotel in the Old South

The Kings Courtyard Hotel is centrally located in downtown Charleston, South Carolina. It is in a historic building dating back to the 19th century, but the rooms have been upgraded to be comfortably modern. A continental breakfast, which is served at individual tables by the kitchen staff, is included in the price. The cleaning staff is just average, but the conciergerie staff is fabulous. When I received word that my husband back home had passed away suddenly, Wyatt, the concierge on duty, was invaluable in helping my sister-in-law and I in cancelling our reservations at the Savannah hotel for which we had reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Charleston has a free shuttle which does a circular route all around the downtown area.

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend anniversary trip
Raleigh, north carolina
Jul 1, 2014

Decent place to stay, great location

We greatly enjoyed the location of this inn. The rooms are decent, and breakfast was satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee From NC
North Carolina
May 8, 2014

Anniversary Trip

Not our first stay. We were first put into a double room, instead of the King we reserved. That was easily fixed. The WiFi is included, but only worked 60% of the time. The biggest problem we had was the staff, with "Please do not disturb" sign hanging on the knob,knocking on our door to see if we needed anything, or, on the last day, three seperate events when the staff wanted to know if we were through with the room yet. We checked out early on the last day! This single issue will likely prevent me from staying there again. The continental breakfast was great, and the kitchen staff was great. Also, the parking was advertised on multiple sites as included. Well, it is included at the rate of $12/day billed to your room. Also, had to pay for the room in advance when making reservations. I will not do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDB LA
Los Angeles
Mar 26, 2013

Great location

Hotel is in a great location for seeing all the sights in town, and staff is very friendly (not unique in Charleston). My room was comfortable, quiet but dated. Breakfast room is inadequate but they will deliver to the room. We were there on a very busy weekend and the price was way too high for what the hotel offers. I might stay again but only if other options are not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there at the right time, take the house and garden tour.

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadySue
New York
Mar 18, 2013

Long Weekend Visit

Perfect combination of modern conveniences and authentic historic charm. Comfy beds, large rooms with great views, and the complimentary wine and sherry made our stay delightful. The easy access to most of Charleston's attractions and restaurants made this location perfect. We were able to walk in every direction enjoying every alley and niche along the way to our destinations. We will return - again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Aiken Rett Museum - must see for all history buffs

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stravelers
CA
Dec 10, 2012

Not too clean !

Great location, but the room was not very clean we saw dust on the walls requested to be cleaned...they didn't. Pricy for what you got. The included breakfast was very weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hanks - Great food

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laurensully23
pawleys island sc
Sep 3, 2012

great small hotel amazing location! !!

The rooms are quaint and old Charleston charming and they are very clean. Location couldn't be better. Close to all shopping and any restaurant you would want to be near. We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tttsss
Greenville SC
Jul 30, 2012

Great location

The bed was hard. And the shower needs more water pressure. But overall a good experience. Locations is great. Staff extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the restaurant Leaf! It was wonderful!

Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gadog
georgia
Jul 22, 2012

great stay

we have stayed in high-end and moderate in Charleston. Kings courtyard is a good location, great staff, and antiques. the breakfast was good. we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top