$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

3 stars
1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
40 reviews
Perfect

The location was great. Not to far from the airport and not to far from the heart of the city.... See full review

  • Abunai Panda
  • Aug 20, 2014
Charleston & Area Plantation retreat

Had a great time visiting Charleston and some of the areas plantations. The Holiday Inn Express at... See full review

  • '71Rebel
  • Feb 10, 2014
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.

Hotel Map

32.7886 -80.0277
Nearby airports
Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport, (SAV), 100.00, MI, S; Charleston International Airport, (CHS), 6.00, MI, W;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 5.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 5.7 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 5.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 5.8 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 5.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 5.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 5.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 5.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 6.4 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 7.2 mi
  • Middleton Place: 10 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 10.4 mi

Dining

Ruby Tuesdays
Menu featuring American food including ribs, burgers, and a full salad bar. Full bar available with televisions to watch the game. Ask about special's.
Bessinger's BBQ
Great "fallin' off the bones" Carolina BBQ. Eat in or Take out. Thursday through Sunday they do a Southern Buffett.
Gilligan's
Menu features fresh local seafood specializing in seafood platters, oysters and crab cakes. See Front Desk for coupons.
Al Di La
Al Di La is a neighborhood trattoria serving simple, authentic Northern Italian cuisine. Al Di La strives to create an elegant, seasonally inspired menu while usuing the freshest, LOCAL ingredients available. Rustic dining room, adjoining wine bar and ou
Charleston Crab House
Waterfront dining, indoor and outdoor. Menu items made wth the freshest ingredients avaialable, from greens to local seafood. Cocktail lounge available. Fun filled atmosphere great for families and groups. Happy Hour food and drink Monday through Friday.
Zen Asian Fusion
Modern and relaxing atmosphere serving fresh Sushi with amazing presentation. Japanese and Chinese Menu selections available.
The Glass Onion
Moderately priced lunch dinner menu that changes regularly. This midscale comfort food draws heavily from the rural South, New Orleans and the Lowcountry. We all grew up with food as a focal point in our lives and want to remind customers of the simple j
The Early Bird Diner
As seen on the Food Network's Diners, DriveIns and Dives, Guy Fieri visited this mom and pop place doing southern cooking right. Locals can't get enough of the fried pork chops with sweet pepper jelly and the world famous Chicken and Waffles. Vegetarian f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 40
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abunai Panda
Honolulu, Hi
Aug 20, 2014

Perfect

The location was great. Not to far from the airport and not to far from the heart of the city. There were a lot of things with in driving distances such as eateries, mall, and attractions. The room was extremely clean and three morning breakfast selection were just enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry David
Belmont NH
Apr 16, 2014

Charleston bucket list!

My husband and I decided to visit Charleston and wanted to find a place close to the downtown area while not paying the big downtown prices. We found it with Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526. Downtown was about 8 or 9 minutes away, depending on traffic, it was a straight shot down Rte 17. The hotel was also close to all the other points of interest. As for the hotel staff they were great! Very helpful all around. They gave us great suggestions for place to visit, eat at, etc. Everything was always clean, and well presented. The breakfasts served where fine; depending on the time it could be a little crowded, but overall it was good. The only drawback, and it is very minor, was a “stale,” perhaps cigarette smoke smell that lingered in the hallways. This hotel accommodates both non-smokers and smokers. Maybe a better filtration systems is needed, it would not stop me from going again and enjoying myself. TM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The horse drawn carriage rides are well worth the money spent. It provides a great overview of Charleston, along with an informative history lesson on the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John's Woman
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 20, 2014

weekend stay

Overall it was a nice stay. Although first thing I saw was a spider! But that is hard to prevent 100%. Other than that everything was great! Great breakfast, nice staff clean sheets, nice tv, and not a bad location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
'71Rebel
Clayton, NC
Feb 10, 2014

Charleston & Area Plantation retreat

Had a great time visiting Charleston and some of the areas plantations. The Holiday Inn Express at 17 & I526 was perfect for our stay. Staff was very courteous and the room was clean and comfortable. They have a good breakfast in the morning and cookies & lemonade late afternoon. Coffee is available 24 hrs. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeLangella
Estero, FL
Oct 31, 2013

5miles from Magnolia Plantation

Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good place to stay on the south side of Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moving to SC
Virginia
Jul 2, 2013

Good location

The staff was very friendly from the moment we checked in until we left. Location was great for us. Close enough to downtown if you want to visit or to many of the other local historical site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Bessinger's Barbeque! Only a mile away. Awesome BBQ and onion rings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bud Jr
Irvington, New Jersey
Jul 9, 2012

Choice Family Reunion 2012

We have no complaints about anything. The staff was very helpful in assisting us when we wanted an additonal night to our stay. We have stayed at other hotels in the area, but we would definitely use Holiday Inn Express again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farrah
Fort Mill, SC
Feb 5, 2012

Loved it!!

Of course, it has the Holiday Inn reputation behind it, but the staff took the reputation to the next level. They were super helpful and nice. The room was very clean and the bed linens were so soft. We also loved the free breakfast and the location to Charleston city was perfect. Would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Tuesday's was right next door. We had a fantastic meal and didn't have to drive around to find a place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie 407
Chesterfield, Virginia
Jan 31, 2012

Great Vacation

This hotel was very clean and up to date on everything. The only thing we had a problem with was finding a cart when we checked out, however two young employees, Kevin and Ben, took care of getting out luggage and items inour vehicle. I think this happens everywhere, people acutally put them in their rooms at night and hide them so they will have them the next morning. This hotel was great and centrally located for our sightseeing tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C.J.
Nebraska
Mar 21, 2011

Great customer service

Our stay in Charleston was wonderful. The hotel staff continually did their best to make sure that our room was satisfactory and that we enjoyed our time touring the town. We had quiet, uninterrupted sleep in a comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search