$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

3 stars
View map of 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
42 reviews
Couples Christmas Vacation

First off, extremely courteous staff, extremely clean rooms/hotel, good beds, and quiet. Second,... See full review

  • Jared B.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Satisfied with this gift

My daughter and her husband and baby used this trip to see some friends. I paid for it and they... See full review

  • Macon Patient
  • Jan 28, 2015
Charleston, SC's perfect choice for value and convenience. The Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - US Hwy 17 & I-526 is one of Charleston's most conveniently situated hotels. We are located just five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston, and six miles from Charleston International Airport (CHS).For corporate travelers, our modern facilities include a business center with copy, fax and print services. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access makes it easy stay connected. Travelers visiting area companies can rest easy knowing we are located just minutes from Boeing, Charleston Naval Base and the US Department of Agriculture.Guests interested in exploring Historic Charleston can arrange a tour and be picked up at our doorstep. In just minutes, you can take a stroll along the Battery or browse the old City Market in downtown Charleston. Our hotel is also just six miles from several plantations, including Magnolia Plantation & Gardens and Middleton Place Plantation. Families love exploring Charles Towne Landing or visiting the fun-filled Patriot's Point. The Tanger Outlets provide terrific shopping for everyone! After exploring the Charleston area, our hotel's guests can relax in our outdoor pool. Thanks to a well-equipped fitness center, it's easy to get in a workout. Start your day right with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar offering our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. We look forward to your visit.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526 also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 233 reviews
★★★
$71
3.7 / 5 101 reviews
★★★
$94
3.7 / 5 129 reviews
★★
$99
3.9 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$59
2.2 / 5 31 reviews
★★
$102
3.7 / 5 24 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • American Military Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Citadel: 4.1 mi
  • Johnson Hagood Stadium: 4.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of the Lowcountry: 5.2 mi
  • Magnolia Cemetry: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Music Hall: 5.3 mi
  • Charleston Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Audbon Swamp Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Aiken-Rhett House: 5.4 mi
  • Unitarian Church in Charleston: 5.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist: 5.5 mi
  • Arthur Ravenel Jr.Bridge: 5.5 mi
  • Theater99: 5.5 mi
  • Gibbes Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church: 5.7 mi
  • Nathaniel Russell House: 5.7 mi
  • The Black Fedora: 5.7 mi
  • Dock Street Theater: 5.7 mi
  • The Calhoun Mansion: 5.7 mi
  • Heyward-Washington House: 5.8 mi
  • Edmonston-Alston House: 5.9 mi
  • Old Exchange & Provost: 5.9 mi
  • South Carolina Aquarium: 5.9 mi
  • Port Charleston: 5.9 mi
  • Charleston Waterfront Park: 6 mi
  • Drayton Hall: 6.4 mi
  • Magnolia Plantation & Gardens: 7.2 mi
  • Middleton Place: 10 mi
  • Morris Island Lighthouse: 10.4 mi

Dining

Ruby Tuesdays
Menu featuring American food including ribs, burgers, and a full salad bar. Full bar available with televisions to watch the game. Ask about special's.
Bessinger's BBQ
Great "fallin' off the bones" Carolina BBQ. Eat in or Take out. Thursday through Sunday they do a Southern Buffett.
Gilligan's
Menu features fresh local seafood specializing in seafood platters, oysters and crab cakes. See Front Desk for coupons.
Al Di La
Al Di La is a neighborhood trattoria serving simple, authentic Northern Italian cuisine. Al Di La strives to create an elegant, seasonally inspired menu while usuing the freshest, LOCAL ingredients available. Rustic dining room, adjoining wine bar and ou
Charleston Crab House
Waterfront dining, indoor and outdoor. Menu items made wth the freshest ingredients avaialable, from greens to local seafood. Cocktail lounge available. Fun filled atmosphere great for families and groups. Happy Hour food and drink Monday through Friday.
Zen Asian Fusion
Modern and relaxing atmosphere serving fresh Sushi with amazing presentation. Japanese and Chinese Menu selections available.
The Glass Onion
Moderately priced lunch dinner menu that changes regularly. This midscale comfort food draws heavily from the rural South, New Orleans and the Lowcountry. We all grew up with food as a focal point in our lives and want to remind customers of the simple j
The Early Bird Diner
As seen on the Food Network's Diners, DriveIns and Dives, Guy Fieri visited this mom and pop place doing southern cooking right. Locals can't get enough of the fried pork chops with sweet pepper jelly and the world famous Chicken and Waffles. Vegetarian f

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Detroit, MI
Jun 26, 2007

An unpleasant Stay

Our Holiday Inn Express stay was a surprise. Our check in took 20 min. minimum. The clerk that checked us in was not very welcoming and didn't seem very pleasant. After checking in and dropping our luggage off in the room we headed out for dinner. We asked the same person at the desk for some dinner recommendations. I think she was trying to be the least helpful as she possibly could even after we probed for more specific questions. She seemed annoyed that we'd even stopped to ask her this question. Our room was nice and very comfortable. There is only one elevator and the maintenance and house keeping use this along with all their supplies and equipment. The hallways had smell that was not appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 3, 2007

Old remodeled hotel

I have stayed at many H.I.E.'s and this one is the oldest and smallest. The breakfast area was too small for the people attending even at 7:30 in the morning. It is hard to get in and out of for parking as there is no traffic light there. The staff seemed rather indifferent to the service of it's customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Folly Beach, at evening hours,7-9 no crowds.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray63
Family
Monroe, NY
Jul 25, 2013

Stay in Charleston, SC

It was okay. Hotel did not have a bar/lounge like the on line ad said it did. That is the reason I chose this hotel and was very disappointed about that. The hallways smelled of cigarettes especially by the entrances. Breakfast was very good. I am not sure I would chose Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
evans ga
Jun 21, 2010

great price

We book the hotel due to the price and being near Charleston, Great and Quick location to malls, highways and other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Greenville, SC
Feb 22, 2011

decent

The room was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The bed was not comfortable at all(very worn) and needed to be replaced. Overall, not a bad stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Fun Dad
Single
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 28, 2014

I would stay here again.

The room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. I would stay at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John's Woman
Couples
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 20, 2014

weekend stay

Overall it was a nice stay. Although first thing I saw was a spider! But that is hard to prevent 100%. Other than that everything was great! Great breakfast, nice staff clean sheets, nice tv, and not a bad location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exploring Charleston
Family
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 21, 2014

Convenient, comfortable hotel in West Ashley

Staff was helpful and courteous, beds were comfortable, and having the free continental breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry David
Couples
Belmont NH
Apr 16, 2014

Charleston bucket list!

My husband and I decided to visit Charleston and wanted to find a place close to the downtown area while not paying the big downtown prices. We found it with Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526. Downtown was about 8 or 9 minutes away, depending on traffic, it was a straight shot down Rte 17. The hotel was also close to all the other points of interest. As for the hotel staff they were great! Very helpful all around. They gave us great suggestions for place to visit, eat at, etc. Everything was always clean, and well presented. The breakfasts served where fine; depending on the time it could be a little crowded, but overall it was good. The only drawback, and it is very minor, was a “stale,” perhaps cigarette smoke smell that lingered in the hallways. This hotel accommodates both non-smokers and smokers. Maybe a better filtration systems is needed, it would not stop me from going again and enjoying myself. TM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The horse drawn carriage rides are well worth the money spent. It provides a great overview of Charleston, along with an informative history lesson on the city.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHARLESTON US HWY 17 & I-526

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alpharetta to Charleston
Friends
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend in Charleston

This hotel is clean and neat, offers a great breakfast, and is a short drive to downtown Charleston. The hotel is close to a mall, and a Ruby Tuesday is next door. The staff greeted us at each coming and going, which is much appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top